Guest Post by T. F. Walsh, author of Cloaked

Happy Monday everyone. Today I’m thrilled to have T. F. Walsh stop by. Before I hand over the reins I want to mention that Tania is hosting a giveaway. Five custom made bookmarks are up for grabs. Click here for the link. And now, please welcome T. F. Walsh.

CLOAKED by T.F. Walsh

3D CloakedOne of the questions authors and writers get asked a lot is why they write in the genre or style they write. For me, I enjoy writing paranormal and fantasy romances with a tinge of darkness thrown in. And my heritage and experiences growing up have definitely flavoured my preference for the books and stories I enjoy.

I was born in Romania, and as a young child, my dad would often tell me dark Grimm-like stories before bed. These Romanian fairy tales were passed down from generation to generation and were very dark compared to modern stories we are familiar with. But the grim nature of the stories never occurred to me at the time, and made the moral or point of the story more serious.

Romania itself inspires my writing. The dark history common to Eastern Europe, coupled with the culture and environment make Romania a perfect setting for dark paranormal stories. A sporadic history of war and conflict give the region a sorrowful feel and the people a reserved and suspicious outlook. The folklore of the area is rich with tales of vampires and werewolves and other creatures. The country also encompasses the Carpathian Mountains and includes large forested areas—deep mountain gorges and cave systems.

Moving to Australia as a young girl also influenced my preference for horror and paranormal fantasy. When my family moved, we didn’t speak English very well. So when it came to watching TV shows and movies I enjoyed watching horror movies. This was probably because, with limited English language skills, these movies were easiest to understand. You don’t need to comprehend everything they are saying to know that the guy with knives as fingers is trying to kill them.

As I grew, I also learned to love reading and writing. My dad was a writer in Romania, so that was a big influence on me. My stories were often dark or contained fantasy as an expression of the stories I loved myself. But I also began to enjoy romantic stories as well. TV shows like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and books like Laurel Hamilton’s Anita Blake series showed me I could combine my love for the dark and fantastic with stories of romance. And also include kick-ass heroines, which is another thing I love.

All these influences and loves are combined in my novella, Cloaked and The Wulfkin Legacy Series. And I hope everyone enjoys it as much as I loved writing it.

 

Cloaked Blurb:

Daciana has lived her life shielded by an overprotective wulfkin pack so when she is given Connell Quote (1)the opportunity to venture into the human world, she jumps at the chance. But that excitement is short-lived when the endangered bear cubs she’s been assigned to protect are stolen. What was supposed to be a celebratory time – her one-year independence ritual – has now been met with turmoil. If she doesn’t locate the cubs, she’ll be forced to return home in disgrace. One man may be able to make a difference, but his smoldering good looks and sexy vibe are too big a draw for Daciana.

Inspector Connell Lonescu is still reeling from his recent divorce. Convinced that relationships are a waste of time, he buries himself in his work. That plan works until he meets gorgeous and mysterious Daciana when she reaches out to him for urgent help in finding the missing cubs.

Will Connell let go of his preconceived notions about this mysterious young woman to help her find the cubs? Will Daciana be able to resist temptation and stay true to the rules of the wulfkin pack?

Cloaked is the prequel to Cloaked in Fur, book 1 in The Wulfkin Legacy Series. Find out how Daciana and Connell fell in love and set in motion the paramount events that forever change their lives and those around them.

Cloaked is only 0.99c

Grab Your Copy: Amazon B&N | Kobo | Google Play | iTunes

Coming Soon

Cloaked in Secrecy (Book #2) – March 2016

Cloaked in Blood (Book #3) – May 2016

Sign up here for T.F. Walsh’s newsletter to keep up to date with latest releases, special offers, and exclusive content.

About The Author

TF Walsh Pic (1)T.F. Walsh emigrated from Romania to Australia at the age of eight and now lives in a regional city south of Sydney with her husband. Growing up hearing dark fairytales, she’s always had a passion for reading and writing horror, paranormal romance, urban fantasy and young adult stories. She balances all the dark with light fluffy stuff like baking and traveling.

Author Links: Website Facebook Twitter Pinterest Goodreads Amazon

 

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Guest Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Guest Post by T. F. Walsh, author of Cloaked

  1. This sounds really good and hearing dark Grimm-like stories before bed sounds wonderful :).

  2. Makes sense that horror movies would be the easiest to understand.
    Have you been back to Romania since?

  3. Pat Hatt says:

    Our influences sure come from life indeed. Never thought that about horror movies, but makes sense. You have sex, you die lol no language needed.

  4. cleemckenzie says:

    What an interesting way to learn a language–horror films!

  5. ChrysFey says:

    This is the second time I’ve seen this book featured today and I am definitely intrigued now more than ever. 🙂

  6. T.F.Walsh says:

    Thanks for having me on your blog, TB… very excited to be here:)

    Photosfromtheloonybin – Yeah, it kind of sounds scary, but I got used to it:)
    Alex – Not yet, but I really want to take my hubby there
    Pat – Everything around us as children plays a huge part in who we become.

  7. Graeme Ing says:

    I’ve read all of Walsh’s wulfkin books and she’s a natural writer for evoking the atmosphere of ancient forests full of wolves and adventure. Great stories! I can totally see how her heritage is a huge inspiration.

  8. Fascinating background and writer. Intriguing novel. 🙂

  9. T.F.Walsh says:

    C – It sure made it fun:)
    Chrys – So glad it’s got you curious.
    Graeme – You’re a rock star:)

  10. You’ve had such a marvelous mix in your history to make for great story telling. I love Cloaked! You write the setting so well.

  11. lexacain says:

    So cool that Tania’s father was a writer and that he told her Grimm-style stories at bed time. Now I understand exactly where her interests were spawned. The novella is awesome! I encourage anyone who hasn’t read it to pick it up, along with the novel, CLOAKED IN FUR. 🙂

  12. kindlemom1 says:

    I love my fantasy or paranormal to have just a touch of darkness to it. It makes it more fun for some reason and can be more believable as well.
    Great guest post!

  13. Yay! The book sounds so fabulous!

  14. T.F. and I are very much alike. 😉

  15. Olivia says:

    Sure sounds a fun way to learn languages!

  16. A great setting for a ripe imagination. Congrats, Tania! Wishing you all success! http://mpaxauthor.com

  17. Interesting post. This has me thinking about my own influences. I write in different genres, but I prefer dark and sometimes write light.

  18. T.F.Walsh says:

    LCTC – Thanks
    Christine – Big hugs.
    Lexa – Huge thanks:) You’re a star
    Kindlemom – Great to have you here. thanks.
    Crystal – Thanks
    Kelly – Yay:)
    Olivia – It sure was.
    Mary – Thanks:)

  19. Congrats to T.F. Still seeing this everywhere! Hopefully she’s gotten lots of sales from it.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  20. Robyn Engel says:

    TF has a fascinating history. Congrats on this publication, TF. Dacianna is a lucky lady – having that hottie twisted up tight. I’m envious. Smiles.

  21. How fun to learn more about TF! I had no idea about her history. I can see how all the pieces of her life came together in her writing. Sounds like she has had an interesting life! Wishing her all the best. 🙂

  22. What a setting and fascinating background for inspiration!
    I love the red cloak draped around the body… 🙂
    Congrats to Tania.

  23. Gina says:

    This sounds so great! Thanks for sharing this, I’ll definitely be checking this book out.

  24. Sounds like a great read.

  25. T.F.Walsh says:

    Stephanie – Many thanks
    Robin – Yeah, Daci is indeed a lucky girl:)
    Misha – Thanks
    Michelle – Thanks… I love her red cloak too
    Gina – Yay. Thanks.
    Suzanne – Thanks

Leave a Reply

