2016 Goals and TBM’s Monthly Giveaway

Happy New Year! I have my fingers crossed that 2016 doesn’t fly by like last year. But I think it will no matter how hard I wish it won’t. Oh well, that just means I need to put my head down and get stuff done right away. No dilly-dallying.

Last year I posted my goals for 2015. Usually I don’t share my goals since I’m pretty shy, but my thinking was that by making the announcement it would help me actually accomplish the goals. Fear of letting down others can be a good motivator.

So how’d I do? I have absolutely no idea. While I had good intentions, the behind the scenes accounting was almost entirely lacking and what records I did jot down were lost when I misplaced my diary during a trip to New York in September.

So goal #1 for 2106 is keep track of my progress (or lack thereof)

#2 write 250,000 words (that’s roughly 700 words a day)

#3 grow my mailing list (currently at 1000)

#4 read and review more (my TBR is terrifying)

That should be a good start. I’m sure more goals will surface, however these are the areas I’ll be concentrating on.

************************************************************************************

TBMs giveaway 2

Welcome to the first giveaway of 2016! I’m very excited and honored to host five fabulous authors this month. One lucky winner will receive five e-books. Entering the giveaway is easy. Just click here.

And the books are:

At the Water’s Edge by Harper Bliss

AttheWatersedge_HarperBliss_cover
Sometimes you need to go back to where you came from…

After a traumatic event that has left her in deep need of healing, Ella Goodman returns to her hometown in Oregon. While staying at her family’s cabin at the West Waters lake resort, she finds an unexpected friend in level-headed owner Kay Brody. But Ella’s sole objective is to restore the broken ties with her family, and she has no time for distractions like falling in love. The healing process is confrontational and difficult though, and she is soon forced to realize that people like Kay only come along once in a lifetime.

 

Fallen Redemption by RB Austin

fallenredemption_1800x2700Killing Fallen to save mankind is Cade’s redemption for murder and only one human—mouthwatering and absolutely forbidden—stands in his way.

Cade committed himself to saving lives before he learned the full consequences of his life-altering decision. It wasn’t until he was tending his sick wife that he learned the enormity of what he’d done and he was unable to save her from the monster he had become. Consumed with guilt and praying for absolution, he threw himself into killing every Fallen he could find to save the humans he’d sworn to protect. But then Emma, deliciously mortal and completely forbidden, swept into his world, stirring an overpowering desire. Now he’s not only fighting soulless creatures, but also his inner cravings, trying to maintain his distance and continue on his path to forgiveness. He won’t lose control again and lose another love.

You’ll Find Me in Manhattan by Jill Knapp

high res You'll Find MeSearching for a new Carrie Bradshaw who’s on the hunt for her very own Mr. Darcy? You will want to curl up with What Happens To Men When They Move To Manhattan and fall in love all over again. With men, Manhattan and yourself.” – Shiri Appleby, Actress

The third and final book in Jill Knapp’s series about love and romance in New York City. Follow Amalia Hastings as she dates her way around the city that never sleeps… Amalia and Olivia have found themselves at a crossroads. Their last year in their Master’s program at NYU is proving to be a trying one, and on top of that, Olivia has to balance planning a wedding AND managing the unwanted input of her estranged mother – who doesn’t even like her fiancé! Meanwhile, Amalia finds herself feeling more lost than ever as graduation approaches and her classmates begin making plans for next year. Still torn between Michael and Hayden, she finally makes a decision – but one that that will either box her in, leaving her always wanting more out of life, or finally breaking free to find the happiness and stability she’s always needed.

Survival of the Ginnest by Aimee Horton

survival-of-the-ginnest-coverMeet Dottie Harris. She was living the self-indulgent lifestyle of every childless couple… and then she had kids. Struggling through pregnancy and motherhood, Dottie turns to social networking.

She quickly becomes reliant on it, using it as a way to reach out and come to terms with the funny side of motherhood, whilst realising she’s not the only person to consider anything after 7 a.m. a lie in.

Follow Dottie on her journey—made up entirely of Facebook-style updates—spanning four years of her sleep-deprived life. She bluntly shares her worries, insecurities, tears and tantrums, along with the things nobody ever tells you about motherhood!

Full of humor and honesty, Dottie’s modern-day diary gives a glimpse into motherhood as she trades in her social life for the sofa and a bottle of gin, watching her children grow older while she grows less enthusiastic.

That’s Paris by 20+ authors, including a foreword by Stephen Clarke

thats-paris-coverParis—the most romantic, beautiful and frustrating city in the world!

If you’ve ever traveled to Paris, lived in the City of Light or dreamed of setting foot on its cobblestoned streets, you’ll enjoy escaping into this collection of short stories about France’s famed capital. From culinary treats (and catastrophes) to swoon-worthy romantic encounters (and heartbreaking mishaps), this anthology takes you on a journey through one of the most famous cities in the world.

View this cosmopolitan metropolis through the chic eyes of Parisians, francophiles and travelers who fell in love with the city and haven’t quite gotten around to leaving yet… That’s Paris: a glimpse into living, loving and surviving in the City of Light.

Author proceeds benefit the charity Room to Read, which promotes literacy and gender equality in education. Thanks for supporting the cause!

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway.

************************************************************************************

This Wednesday is the first IWSG for 2016. Don’t miss out on the fun.

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Giveaways and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to 2016 Goals and TBM’s Monthly Giveaway

  1. First of all, I love the word “dilly-dallying”, and I understand about your TBR list because mine is terrifying too LOL. I admire you for making specific goals for the new year, and I know you will accomplish everything you want to my friend :).

  2. Colline says:

    Happy New Year to you as well TB. Hope you write many more stories.

  3. Awesome goals! Maybe to keep track, you should sign up for my monthly bloghop. Easier to keep track if you only have to keep track for a month at a time. 😉

    Have a wonderful 2016!

  4. A good list of goals. Impressive amount of newsletter subscribers. Bummer I never started one.

  5. Pat Hatt says:

    A good list to have for 2016 indeed. 250,000 words is doable. It will fly by for sure.

  6. lexacain says:

    Your list is the List-I-Should’ve-Done in 2015. I guess I dilly-dallied too. I’m not sure my 2016 will be any better, but I wish you achieve everything on your list!! Will post your giveaway on my Fri Freebies! 🙂

  7. ChrysFey says:

    Your mailing list is at 1,000? Holy cow! How did you get that many to sign up. And I thought having just over a hundred was good when I first created mine. Jeez. Share some tips, please!

    Good luck with your goals! Happy New Year!! 🙂

  8. cleemckenzie says:

    I hate my “Should-Have-Done” list. It’s just humiliating. Here’s to both of us not dilly-dallying in 2016.

  9. kindlemom1 says:

    Good luck with all of your goals! I think sometimes saying them out loud and writing them down does indeed help. 😉

  10. The Guat says:

    Duuuuuude Happy New Year! Good to hear that you were dilly-dallying. Hope you had a good break and enjoyed a little time off from writing before beginning your 700-word-a-day mission. High five for the determination buddy. And I have to agree with you I’m gonna have to read more, this slow reading mind of mine really puts a hitch in that. I’m working on it … I’m working on it. Sending good vibes buddy! And thanks for posting that ISWG link that is definitely one of my goals. Plus the new books you posted is such a great way to discover writers I normally wouldn’t run into thanks. I’m gonna have to look up Survival of the Ginnest. Buen Camino my friend.

  11. Best of luck in achieving your goals and may you have the most wondrous new year!

  12. T.F.Walsh says:

    Fantastic goals and very achievable. Well done on your huge subscription listing too:) Happy New Year:)

  13. Best of luck with all your 2016 goals! I can relate to the terrifying TBR pile, LOL.

  14. Reblogged this on and commented:
    Enter to win 5 ebooks! (Psst, Fallen Redemption is one of the ebooks.)

  15. Robyn Engel says:

    Happy New Year. May you far exceed your goals.

  16. Nicola says:

    Happy New Year TB! Wishing you lots of success, good health and happiness throughout 2016. All the best!!

  17. Wishing you the best 2016 and 2106. I’ve never set a writing goal, though perhaps I need to. I think that’s a good idea. Hope your goals pan out.
    Some great sounding books to be won. I like the last two, they sound interesting.

    • TBM says:

      Last year was the first year I set a writing goal, and even though I was horrible at keeping track of the actual numbers, I did write more so it helped.

  18. Those are great goals. Good luck with them.

  19. colonialist says:

    All the best for 2016 – here’s hoping that something in the atmosphere inspires an insatiable need to read in the breasts of the general public.

  20. I can relate to a crazy and out of control TBR list! I am vowing to make a dent in mine. First up- reading 5 books I have borrowed, so I can return them to people and clear off at least a little space. Good luck with your goals for 2016. 🙂

  21. How cute is that Survival of the Ginnest cover? So cool! I hope 2016 is a great year of blogging and hanging out in the blogosphere with all of our great blogging friends!

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  22. kimlajevardi says:

    Good luck achieving your goals this year. Happy New Year!

  23. Your productivity is amazing, as seen in your releases per year. I need to find a way to build my subscribers. Awesome giveaway.

  24. Pingback: #IWSG and TBM’s Giveaway | Making My Mark

  25. Geoff W says:

    Happy Belated New Years! Can’t wait to see what 2016 brings you. (I also nearly choked on what I was eating as I read 250,000 words a day, I was like HOLY HELL that’s beyond impressive and seems impossible. Then I re-read it and was like oh yeah much more sensible.)

    • TBM says:

      At first it sounds like an impossible goal, but then when I break it down, I think, yeah, I can do that.

      Wishing you much joy in 2016!

  26. pattisj says:

    I’m fairly confident the days will speed by once again. Happy New Year!

  27. Pingback: Shakespeare, The Reader, and The Winter Blues Giveaway | Making My Mark

  28. Pingback: Vicki Lesage, Author: #Giveaway of 5 FREE EBOOKS! – Book Lover in Florida

Leave a Reply

