Is Literature Doomed, A Clueless Woman, TBM Giveaway, 99 Cent November

Back in 2012, I attended the London Book Fair and had the pleasure to hear Howard Jacobson speak. He’s a British author and has won a Man Booker Prize for the novel The Finkler Question.

The talk was quite interesting since Jacobson is funny and opinionated. He’s the type who’s able to express his opinions in a diplomatic way, which is a major plus in my book. I love people who are passionate, but can’t stand conceited or insensitive jerks. He’s neither.

Yet, he did venture into dangerous waters by claiming, in his opinion, literature is doomed. And now that literature is doomed, he thinks everyone wants to write a novel and join in on the fun before it’s too late. To emphasize his point he compared it to wartime when people become more promiscuous since many believe they’ll die soon so why not have some fun beforehand.

As you can imagine, this idea got my attention and since then, I’ve thought about it off and on. So I’m opening the floor to you wonderful folks. Do you think literature is doomed?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

ACluelessWoman (3)In case you missed the announcement, I’m getting ready to release my next novel: A Clueless Woman

If any of you would be willing to help me promote the release of A Clueless Woman please let me know in the comments. The media kit will include excerpts, but even a shout out would be much appreciated.

A Clueless Woman is the prequel to my first novel A Woman Lost. If you sign up to my mailing list, you’ll receive a free copy of A Woman Lost (details can be found here). All you need to do is tell me where to send your free copy by clicking here.

 

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
TBMs giveaway 2

Don’t forget November’s giveaway. All of the books are fantastic and the authors are fab. Seriously you don’t want to miss out. Here’s the link to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway

Here the books:

November Covers

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

99 cent November.

99centnovember - Twitter

Click here to see all the goodies available for only 99 cents!

Have a wonderful week!

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Book Discussions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Is Literature Doomed, A Clueless Woman, TBM Giveaway, 99 Cent November

  1. as always happy to help you with promotion, I personally don’t think that the arts in any form are doomed as mankind will always find new ways to make their lives more beautiful. How literature, and other arts are consumed is changing and the world will evolve with it.

  2. Best of luck with your latest release! As for literature, I don’t think it’s doomed. It may struggle sometimes, but then again, everything does…

  3. cheryll says:

    I think everyone should be encouraged to express their creativity. Now if you choose to read something that is poorly written and not express your opinion..in a positive manner..then you are contributing to the way of thinking of people who are saying literature is doomed. I believe that literary works should be critiqued and authors encouraged to strive to do better by readers who support them. After all isn’t that the hopeful outcome of the big picture; Authors to write a stellar story and readers to have a story that touches our emotions.

  4. Literature is the one thing that will ALWAYS be around. It may change its form (i.e. real book or ebook), but books have been around for thousands of years and will continue to be a common thread in our lives. Let’s throw this idea back at Jacobson. Through the years my hobbies have changed and adapted to the times because of the advent of computers, etc. I used to play the piano every day, but now I “play” on my computer morning and night. However, the one hobby that has remained steadfast with me all through my life has been reading. That’s why literature will never die :).

  5. I’m always happy to help you out. 🙂 And no! Literature is not doomed. It is changing, yes, but there will always be those of us who will read and write.

  6. Pat Hatt says:

    Literature is only doomed if the world goes boom. It may never be what it once was, but don’t think it is doomed.

  7. ChrysFey says:

    Literature isn’t doomed. Sure, it’s changing with the times (ebooks, self-publishing) but it’ll never go away. Our language may change, the genres may be different from the classics but that’s just modern day’s influence. Even if paper books go extinct some day in the future, literature will be around in another form.

  8. I agree – it’s changing but will never be doomed.

  9. nrlymrtl says:

    Literature isn’t doomed. Look at all the ‘fine’ literature of the past that has something seriously wrong with it – racism, sexism, class-ism, etc. Everything from Don Quixote to Ernest Hemingway. Yep, there’s some worthy stuff in their works too, but there’s also all this other stuff that wouldn’t hold up to modern standards. But for so long, folks had a definite limit in what to read – only so many books were published each year and were available. So, of course every American child has been forced to read Hemingway in school and has been told how great his work is (whether or not that is true)….. and yet, now, finally, we have this huge freedom in publishing. So, I think literature is a rising, rebirthed phoenix right now. It’s no longer up to school systems and book awards and PhD literature enthusiasts to tell the populace what is good writing – it’s up to the individual, the masses.

    Of course, that sometimes scares me a little when I look at sales records for the Twilight saga or Fifty Shades of Grey……

    • TBM says:

      There is more freedom for readers. With blogs, Goodreads, and other sites, now readers are selecting books that are seen as fab and as bestsellers. Of course, we may not always agree, but that’s the beauty of it. Reading is a personal choice.

  10. No, I don’t think it’s doomed. It changes and evolves with time but this is a positive thing I feel.

  11. colonialist says:

    Interesting field of speculation. If one simply refers to literature as printed material in books, then they probably have a long way to go before, if ever, being totally eclipsed by electronic media. If, on the other hand, one means ‘good’ books – well, one does wonder how many (if any) of the established classics would make any progress at all if published for the first time today. If reviewed at all, they would probably attract comments like, ‘pretentious twaddle’.

  12. Literature isn’t doomed, but it is undergoing a paradigm shift of sorts. As someone who toiled in the school systems trying to teach young readers the merits of good literature, just let me sigh and say it isn’t easy… there’s a fine line to be walked between story and craft. One cannot exist without the other.

    • TBM says:

      I wonder if it was ever easy. I remember when I was in high school thinking I wished we were reading something else. Of course, now I love the books. Sometimes I wish I didn’t have to read any books back then because it clouded my judgment. As a teen if you told me something was good my instinct was to say it was crap.

  13. cheriereich says:

    I don’t think literature is doomed. It might change and warp into something we haven’t quite realized, but it’s not doomed. People love entertainment and good stories. I can’t see that changing anytime soon.

  14. The Guat says:

    Literature is dooooooomed. Dude I don’t know about that, I mean maybe the dynamics are shifting a bit and things in the literature world are relying more on avenues such as e-books and there maybe a few too many bad books being self-published out there, but there are still so many amazingly awesome stories that are in the mix that is exactly what keeps literature alive and fresh. You just have to find it, but it’s still out there 🙂 and of course I would love to help you promote in any way I can. Maybe we can do another Q&A if you’re not too busy or a guest post on the spark, inspiration, formation of this idea, a prequel duuuuuuuude. Nice twist. Or I can post the coming attraction and follow up with the guest post and Q&A, up to you buddy what you got time for?

  15. kimlajevardi says:

    I don’t believe that literature is doomed in the long term. A good story that is told well will always be welcome. But in the short term…quality literature does seem to be struggling to be heard.

  16. I think literature has always been a reflection of the times. I took Western Civilization classes in college and I really enjoyed learning how history and literature intertwined and changed over the centuries. As the others have said, I don’t think literature is doomed, just changing.

    • TBM says:

      Yeah for Western Civ classes. I’m a history nerd. One of my favorite aspects of my studies was reading novels from the time period as a way to understand history on a different level.

  17. I don’t think literature is doomed. Then again, I don’t know why he thinks it is. People are still reading. People will always write. Things will change, but it won’t die.

  18. As a writer, I’d hate to think literature is doomed. Writing has been (in one form or another) since the dawn of time. If anything, I’d say it is evolving. The more data-centric our society become, the more literature will become available in digitally. Will hard copy books disappear altogether? I don’t ever seeing that happen. But I do think they will decrease. It’s all part of technological evolution.

    • TBM says:

      I love my ereader, but I also enjoy sitting down and cracking the spine of a real book. Right now, we have the best of both worlds in my opinion. I can bring my kindle with me and have a library and I still have physical books for when I want to feel it in my hands.

  19. What? Nothing against Howard Jacobson, but it seems like literary snobbery to me. Maybe he didn’t see it that way. There are more opportunities than ever to write and publish and readers can get a book in just seconds on their Kindles. I think it’s a great time to be a reader. We just need to rethink the way we see a “book” and realize that the experience of reading a book may eventually change. It may be more interactive and app-based than straight reading based. I think there will always be a need for fiction. I believe there was a study recently that found that people were actually buying from bookstores more all of a sudden…

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    • TBM says:

      I sensed a little snobbery as well, but he was so easy going and funny about it, I gave him a pass. He seemed like a great guy to have a drink at the pub with and get into a lively”discussion” with no hard feelings.

      I keep waiting for ebooks to have extra features like DVDs. I don’t think it’s that far off. And yes, people should continue to buy from bookstores. I don’t want to live in a society without bookstores or libraries.

  20. Personally, no. Literature isn’t doomed!!!
    I’ll gladly host you on my blog. cathrinaconstantine@gmail.com

  21. S.P.Bowers says:

    No! Literature is not doomed. It is changing and fluctuating but there are more readers than ever, and many kids being raised as readers to I know it will keep going. Yes, there are also more writers and people wanting to be published than ever, but I think that’s evidence of the number of readers and the fact that literature/books/reading are still going strong and will not disappear.

    • TBM says:

      Technology is making it easier to reach readers on different platforms, which is a good thing since cell phones, tablets, and laptops are so prevalent in society.

  22. I hope it’s not doomed, but there are so many people self-publishing now and the market is saturated, making it more difficult than ever to get your book noticed. I don’t know what the answer is. It’s great to have so many books out there, but it does make success that much harder.

  23. Robyn Engel says:

    “Literature is doomed” is nonsensical. What does that even mean? Sure, there’s more and more crap disguised as writing. I agree that more and more people want to publish their stories. But books are still considered special and always will be.

    • TBM says:

      I agree, books are special. Stories have helped me during different times in my life. I much rather read a good book than watch television or a movie.

  24. I don’t think literature is doomed- but I do think it changes over time. This has always been the case. The more people there are, the more people who tell their stories! What people enjoy reading might not be the same as it was 100 years ago or 50 years ago. The stories people love continue to be written and read. 🙂

    I would e happy to help you promote on my Author Tracker Blog. Congrats

  25. Literature doomed? Not as long as there is freedom to express through the written word. Why exactly did he think it was? More people are writing novels and poetry and blogging and tweeting because the opportunity to do so is available to them, not because they believe an entire portion of the human experience is about to fall apart.

  26. I’m looking forward to your new book. Even though there are plenty of bad and average books out there, there are plenty of amazing ones, too, with depth and meaning and written in a great style.

    • TBM says:

      I agree with you. There have always been bad, mediocre, good, and great books. And the reader makes the determination. I may think a book is wonderful and someone else can have the opposite opinion. Reading is so personal. Different stories, characters, and such have different impacts on people.

  27. ethornberg says:

    This is confusing to me, TB. Why would anyone think that literature is doomed? I think it’s true that more people are writing books, especially electronic books. It’s easier to distribute information about the books and they are much less expensive. But there have been many books, including yours, where I cared about the characters and plot and was intrigued by new ideas about relationships and things happening in society.

    So NO, I don’t think literature is doomed!

    Ernie

    • TBM says:

      You aren’t alone, Ernie. A lot of people were confused by his statement, especially since he said it at the London Book Fair, a place celebrating books.

      Thank you for your kind words and support 🙂

  28. Nicola says:

    Oh dear, a little bit of British literary snobbery was going on when Howard said that – bless him (I can say this because I’m British :)). Of course literature is not doomed. If anything literature is more widely explored and available to a wider audience, which in my books (pardon the pun) is fantastic. Literature is no longer just for the elite or the well educated. We can all enjoy it – thanks to all the amazing authors out there. So looking forward to reading your new book TB. Have a lovely week and Happy Thanksgiving.

  29. No way is literature doomed!
    Congrats on your book!
    And, Happy Thanksgiving!

  30. T.F.Walsh says:

    Count me in the promotion:)

    I don’t think literature is doomed at all, it’s just shifting, like everything does in life.

Leave a Reply

