Harriet Beecher Stowe, Plan Bea, Giveaway

Last week I shared about my 2011 visit to Mark Twain’s house. Just in case you missed, click here.

Right next door to Twain’s house is the Harriet Beecher Stowe House.  As a history nerd and bookworm this was a pure delight.  Actually it was almost overwhelming for me, but delightfully so.  After the tour of Mark Twain’s place we walked over to the Stowe house and signed up for the 2pm tour.

Stowe became famous after publishing Uncle Tom’s Cabin during the years 1851-1852.  It was published in a serial format in the weekly newspaper the National Era.  According to our guide, initially it wasn’t supposed to be so long, but due to the story’s popularity Stowe continued releasing more installments.   The novel had a tremendous impact on many people and changed how some Americans felt about slavery.  If you haven’t read this work I highly recommend the novel not only for its historical impact, but it’s an entertaining and emotional novel.   The book’s impact was felt worldwide and in the visitors center you can see covers of the novel from all over.

The success of the novel was also a financial success for Stowe and allowed her to write for a living.  I learned that Stowe’s first check was actually written to her husband since married woman during her time didn’t have rights to their own earnings.  Fortunately for Stowe, her husband was liberal and not jealous of her success and didn’t keep the money just for himself.  I found this interesting since Stowe’s book was critical of slavery and as a woman, she didn’t have many more rights than slaves.

The house is not as fancy as Twain’s.  However, our guide pointed out that when Twain moved into his Hartford home he was younger and just starting out while Stowe had already acquired fame and wealth.  Also she was older and had downsized to a less elaborate home.

036 026One aspect of the tour surprised me since I didn’t have any knowledge of Stowe’s other skills.  I learned that Stowe was also an artist even though she did not have any formal training.  She completed many delightful floral paintings, some of which hang in the home and can be seen on the tour.  No photographs are allowed inside the home, so I can’t share any with you.  However, if you find yourself in Hartford some day, I would suggest this tour and the Mark Twain tour.  Both are informative and well worth it.

Favorite Stowe quotes:

“The bitterest tears shed over graves are for words left unsaid and deeds left undone.”

“Common sense is seeing things as they are; and doing things as they ought to be.”

“Any mind that is capable of a real sorrow is capable of good.”

“It’s a matter of taking the side of the weak against the strong, something the best people have always done.”

“Never give up, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn.”

PLAN BEA

My good friend Hilary released her second novel. I’m so excited to read it.

Plan BeaHow well do you really know the people in your life?

Annabel O’Conner has the perfect husband, two adorable children, an amazing job, and the mother from hell! Annabel doesn’t like it but has come to terms with the fact that her relationship with her mother, Bea, deteriorated to the point of forced and strained communications. However, an unscheduled call from Bea turns her world around and makes Annabel question everything she believed about her life.

Despite the fact secrets, lies, and misplaced blame have destroyed the women’s relationship; Annabel reluctantly agrees to help Bea plan her wedding. Little does Annabel know the impact of her decision.

In this Women’s Contemporary Fiction novel, Hilary Grossman explores the complex relationship that exists between mothers and daughters in a light-hearted and relatable manner.

PLAN BEA is available on AMAZON, BARNES & NOBLE, iBooks, AND AMAZON UK

Need an announcement:

Are you releasing a book soon, having a promotion, or other book news you’d like me to share? Feel free to send me an email: tbmarkinson@gmail.com

TBMs giveaway 2

TBM’s Monthly E-Book Giveaway

Don’t forget to enter this month’s e-book giveaway. One winner will receive copies of five wonderful books by super cool authors.

Oct Covers

Here’s the Rafflecopter link and here’s the giveaway announcement post.

Free Book:

free book button

Have you signed up to my mailing list yet? Everyone who does, receives a free copy of A Woman Lost. All you need to do is tell me where to send it. Click here for details.

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Authors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Harriet Beecher Stowe, Plan Bea, Giveaway

  1. Colline says:

    I love visiting the homes of authors and imagining them writing within those walls.

  2. Hilary says:

    Thank you so much for sharing about Plan Bea! You are an amazing friend!

  3. I know you are going to be very disappointed in me :(, but I don’t think I have ever read Uncle Tom’s Cabin. I know, I know, how could that possibly be? I will add it to my TBR list right away! By the way, totally jealous of your author house tours! I would love to do that.

  4. Their houses are next door to each other? I’m definitely going to have to make that trip now!

  5. I never knew Stowe was an artist either. Very cool.

  6. That’s so neat their houses are right next to each other! Fabulous quotes. Congrats to Hilary! 🙂

  7. Pat Hatt says:

    Never knew about women not being able to get their own check, figures. Stupid back then. Cool the houses are next to each other.

  8. If that’s downsizing, I wonder what her house before that looked like?

  9. spunkonastick says:

    The check had to be made out to her husband? How far we’ve come.

  10. kindlemom1 says:

    Still a gorgeous home though and I’m so glad she had such a great husband. It would have been terrible to live in that time where nothing was truly your’s, even money you earned. 😦

  11. cheriereich says:

    That’s really neat that the houses are beside each other. I enjoyed learning more about Stowe, and I’m glad her husband didn’t keep all the money for himself. Congrats to Hilary!

  12. ChrysFey says:

    I would love to see Stowe’s floral paintings. Shucks for no pictures allowed.

    Congrats to Hilary! I suppose we don’t really know the people in our lives. Not even our loved ones.

  13. It was very considerate of Twain and Stowe to have homes in such close proximity so you could visit both of them. 🙂 Verrrrry cool. I love those quotes you shared, too, especially the first one about the most bitter tears. So true.

    “Plan Bea” sounds like my kinda book. So I just bought it. 🙂

  14. cleemckenzie says:

    Definitely something I must do. And you’ve reminded me to add this my list of things. I make one of these every year, then work on getting them checked off. I need something for 2016, so here it is! Thanks.

  15. Beth Ann says:

    You have a lot going on today on the blog! Whoo hoo! Checking out the giveaway and I already read and reviewed Plan Bea and loved it!

  16. You chose lovely quotes to share! 🙂 Thank you.

  17. Those pics could easily be images of Murcat Manor. Thanks for sharing them, although I might see them in a different light.

    Stephen Tremp
    http://www.stephentremp.com

  18. Sherry Ellis says:

    I had no idea Stowe’s house was so close to Twain’s. I would like to see her paintings. I’ll have to visit that place some day.

  19. Nicola says:

    Great post TB. Fascinating stuff about Stowe that I didn’t know. Glad you had an enjoyable day out. Have a lovely week and thank you for sharing.

  20. So infuriating to read that her husband got her first check. I’m so glad I was born in a different time!
    Love the quotes, thanks for sharing them. And congrats to Hilary!

  21. I think often writers are first artists in another form. Or at least, the majority of them I’ve met were at some point.

  22. I’ve not visited a ton of author’s homes, but have enjoyed a few. I just KICK myself for not visiting Flannery O’Connor’s house or Margaret Mitchell’s when I lived down South 😦 My favorite author home has been Jack London’s place outside of San Fran. His grand Wolf House burned down before he could move in, but there are other houses on the grounds as well as his grave. Plus, it’s in wine country 🙂

  23. Loving your tour of author homes and hoping you will be able to visit many more. Will you be heading up to Massachusetts at any point? Concord has so many of the Transcendentalists.

  24. The Guat says:

    What’s up bud?! I had no idea they lived next to each other. Dude what a great trip dude. I’m a nerd myself with things like that so I’ve recently discovered these podcasts where authors out there giving out advice, interviews, behind the scenes stuff, dude so cool. Glad you were able to do that. I LOVE the first two quotes. Completely forgot about them, thanks for bringing them back. And props to you for sharing Plan Bea with us. 🙂

  25. Congrats to Hilary. I read Uncle Tom’s Cabin long ago. I had no idea Stowe was a painter.

  26. I’d love to go on both tours. ^_^

  27. Okay- now I definitely have to visit Hartford and get to these two famous houses. Hartford is only about 40 minutes away from me and I have never been to Stowe’s house (and the visit to Twain’s was over 20 years ago). Loved hearing about your visit. 🙂

  28. I didn’t know about their houses. Wow. It sounds like you had a wonderful visit.

Leave a Reply

