Guest Post: How Not To Lose Your Mind by Tara Tyler

I’m excited for today’s guest. This past summer I read Pop Travel by Tara Tyler. It was such a fun sci-fi thriller that I couldn’t put down. It had a little bit of everything: romance, action, suspense, and fun. Now she’s releasing Simulation: A Pop Travel Novel. For fans like me it’s fantastic news. Please welcome the fabulous Tara Tyler.

 

Keep your mind Fresh!
If I lose my mind, you can shoot me. But seriously, I really don’t want to be around if I don’t know what’s going on and other people have to take care of my slowly decaying form. Morbid, but I’m a realist. I see celebs I grew up with and how some of them still got it – if I can stay sharp, then I’ll deal with getting older. It means I still have more to contribute!

So how do we keep from losing our minds??
One way to keep our minds in shape is just like we’re supposed to keep our bodies in shape. EXERCISE! If you don’t use it, you lose it. And I have compiled a list of brain-exercising games to keep our minds fit and productive!

Word Games:

  • Classic word puzzles – crosswords, word searches, cryptograms, fill-ins, hangman, mad libs
  • Apps – Words w/friends, Wordbrain, Word to Word, Two Birds, Letris, Popwords, What’s the word, Pun of the day
  • Board games – Scrabble, Boggle, Taboo, Scattegories, Upwords, Apples to Apples, Mad Gab, Bananagrams, Buzz Word, Balderdash
  • TV Game Shows – Wheel of Fortune, $25,000 Pyramid, Catch Phrase, Match Game, Password (they don’t make them like they used to! Yay for GSN!)

 

I know I left some out – can you think of any good ones?

Taking classes, learning a new language, and READING! All more ways to keep those brainwaves moving and active!  What’s your favorite way to keep your noggin in shape?

Thanks for having me over, TB! Now I want to play a game!

SIMULATION
by Tara Tyler
Release Date: Sept 14, 2015

In 2082, androids are an essential part of daily life. Some are helpful, some would make better toasters, and some are so human-like they’re creepy. Back in Atlanta, Detective Cooper’s latest client has him searching for her boyfriend who she thinks was replaced by a simulation, an illegal clone android. The guy also happens to be a popular new congressman.

As if the case wasn’t frustrating enough, Cooper keeps crossing paths with his ex, FBI Agent Geri Harper who’s looking for the same guy. As Cooper closes in, Geri is kidnapped. But when she resurfaces in Washington and goes on a killing spree, he knows it isn’t her. Now under suspicion himself, Cooper must find the real Geri to prove her innocence, not to mention hunt down the powerful villain behind it all. Never a dull moment.

SIMULATION delivers more technology, more intense action, more humor, and more, distinct new characters. Come along for the ride.

Available Now!
Amazon ~~ Barnes & Noble ~~ Kindle
About the Author:

Tara Tyler writes sci fi and fantasy action-adventures from her little corner of the world in Ohio as she tries to keep up with her three boys and coach husband. Always making time to write, she sometimes puts off chores and lets laundry pile up… hence, she’s also the Lazy Housewife, offering advice and tips to other gals out there trying to do it all without going crazy. She and her housewife friends blog at The Really Real Housewives of America.

Giveaway! 
And don’t forget the Rafflecopter!
About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Guest Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Guest Post: How Not To Lose Your Mind by Tara Tyler

  1. Hey Tara, your books sound great, and I couldn’t agree with you more about keeping the brain stimulated. I am totally addicted to reading, and I truly believe that will keep my brain sharp in the coming years :). It also helps to control the stress that we are all faced with these days. I try to read every day when I get home from work, even if just for a few minutes, to help me decompress.

  2. I play a ton of word games on my iPad and still do a crossword puzzle every day. Don’t want my mind to go to mush.

  3. Keeping your brain in shape is really important! I play word games and watch Jeopardy every weekday. Plus I love all sorts of games. And we writers keep our brains hopping!

  4. Pat Hatt says:

    I do crosswords and such from time to time, puzzles I do as well sometimes.

  5. dolorah says:

    Hi TB, and Tara. Those are great tips for keeping your mind in shape. I love word games, all of them. Well, except crossword puzzles. A cruelty I avoid, lol.

  6. Reading and writing are definitely my favorites. Which is a good thing, since I do a LOT of the latter. 🙂

  7. Ooh, so many great tips! The thought of losing control of my mind always wigs me out, too. Looks like I should read and play games some more! 😛

  8. Congratulations, Tara! That’s awesome.

  9. Arlee Bird says:

    I try to keep my mind very active. Blogging is a great activity for me in that involves both writing and reading as well as interaction with others and that all involves thought. If I’m ever plugged up just to keep my body going but no real chance of awareness for my mind or any further contribution to society, then please unplug me. No point in wasting electricity and life sustaining substances merely to maintain the shell of who I once was.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

  10. Chrys Fey says:

    I don’t do word games often but I do enjoy playing a game of Scrabble with my mom. Congrats on your release, Tara!!!

    Hi, TB!!! 🙂

  11. Reading. Lots and lots of reading. That’s how I keep my mind sharp–studying new things every day and reading books. Physical exercise benefits the brain too though. And sunlight. Must get out more.

  12. I read a lot, but I’d like to do more challenging things with games and apps.

Leave a Reply

