Guest Post: Crafting Stories for Young Readers by Stephanie Faris

Hello! Today I have a treat for you. Stephanie Faris has recently unveiled her newest cover for Piper Morgan Joins the Circus. One word: adorable!

PiperMorgan bk1

I asked Stephanie to discuss what’s it like to write for a younger audience. I loved her answer and it really made me think about all the stories I enjoyed when I was a kid and how they still influence me today. Enough from me. Here’s Stephanie:

Crafting Stories for Young Readers
by Stephanie Faris

I’m not the only children’s author who has written for many different age groups. In fact, many of the authors I know have at least written a young adult book. But as fun as it is to create stories for my peers, there’s something special about writing for a young audience.

As an aspiring romance novelist, I was very active in Romance Writers of America. I watched as countless romance novelists promoted their books at RWA chapter meetings and conferences. When you publish an adult novel, writing organizations can be a huge sales tool. Writers are some of the biggest readers and they’ll not only buy your books, but they’ll become your biggest fans.

Children’s authors have to be creative to reach our readers. We go through school librarians and parents, hoping they’ll recommend the books to their kids. We do school visits and events at local libraries and just hope to sell a few books as a result. There are authors who make far more money on school visits than on book sales. But because of this, landing a school visit can now be tough, since there are so many authors offering to do visits.

The biggest difference between writing for adults and writing for children is the reader. When a child walks up to you with that look in her eye, it makes your year. You realize, in that moment, that the words you’re writing actually make an impact. Every time I remember a saying that I learned from a book, I realize that some child, somewhere, may read the words I write and remember them for life.

And that is why I have the best job in the world!

Piper Morgan Joins the Circus

By Stephanie Faris

PiperMorgan bk1

 

When Piper Morgan has to move to a new town, she is sad to leave behind her friends, but excited for a new adventure. She is determined to have fun, be brave and find new friends.

And after learning her mom’s new job will be with the Big Top Circus, Piper can’t wait to learn all about life under the big top, see all the cool animals, and meet the Little Explorers, the other kids who travel with the show. She’s even more excited to learn that she gets to be a part of the Little Explorers and help them end each show with a routine to get the audience on their feet and dancing along!

But during Piper’s grand debut, her high kicks and pointed toes don’t go quite as planned. After causing a dance disaster, she has to prove to everyone–especially queen of the Little Explorers, Lexie–that she belongs in the spotlight.

 

 

Stephanie FarisStephanie Faris knew she wanted to be an author from a very young age. In fact, her mother often told her to stop reading so much and go outside and play with the other kids. After graduating from Middle Tennessee State University with a Bachelor of Science in broadcast journalism, she somehow found herself working in information technology. But she never stopped writing.

Stephanie is the Simon & Schuster author of 30 Days of No Gossip and 25 Roses, as well as the upcoming Piper Morgan series. When she isn’t crafting fiction, she writes for a variety of online websites on the topics of business, technology, and her favorite subject of all—fashion. She lives in Nashville with her husband, a sales executive.

Links:

Website  /   Blog    /     Facebook    /    Twitter    /    Instagram

Before I go, I want to mention that another blogging buddy, Milo James Fowler, has released a new book. Beyond: Space Opera.

Beyond CoverGET READY FOR SWASHBUCKLING ACTION AMONG THE STARS

In the vein of Star Wars, Star Trek, Firefly, and Guardians of the Galaxy, this space opera collection includes humorous action and adventure alongside stories with heart. These tales won’t leave you in the pits of despair. Instead, they’ll lift your spirits, taking you to places unknown.

You’ll travel the stars to far-flung planets, meeting heroic humans and aliens alike — even a mech and a clone. There may be lions and jet packs, to boot. No pigs in this space, but otherwise, all bets are off.

Strap in, and prepare yourself for a wild ride!

INCLUDED IN THIS COLLECTION:

“Captain Quasar and the Kolarii Kidnappers” by Milo James Fowler
“The Ungreat Escape” by Siobhan Gallagher
“All Comms Down” by Anne E. Johnson
“Remembrance Day” by Simon Kewin
“The Lion’s Den” by Devin Miller
“Captain Clone” by Deborah Walker

Right now the book is free. I just grabbed my copy. Don’t miss out!

Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble  |   iBooks  |   Kobo  |   Smashwords

 

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Guest Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Guest Post: Crafting Stories for Young Readers by Stephanie Faris

  1. I can imagine that it’s an amazing feeling to write for kids and to have kids enjoy your stories. All the best with your book, Stephanie!

  2. It sounds like Piper Morgan has one of those lives that attracts adventure at every turn, which makes for an exciting read. I miss the days when my kids were little and I read stories like this one to them every night before bed. Those were special times.

  3. That cover is adorable, for sure! What a great guest post from Stephanie. I can see why writing for kids would be so rewarding!

  4. Thank you so much for having me here today, TB!

  5. Beth Ann says:

    Oh I love the cover as well! It is adorable and I bet this book is a terrific one that kids will adore.

  6. LaWannish says:

    I know what you mean Stephanie… I totally remember so many of my books from my youth… So much so that I bought them for my children who loved them too… ♡

  7. I bet there is a certain joy when a child enjoys your book. Because when they do, they really love it!
    Congratulations to Milo and company.

  8. That would definitely make it all worth while to see that look in a child’s eyes. It’s magic! Congratulations to Stephanie. And I have my copy of Beyond Space Opera!

  9. Colline says:

    The best is to read stories like this to young children and to see their expressions of interest and joy in the story.

  10. I remember fondly all the books I read as a child but there are some that I have been lugging around with me years later, because they spoke to me. Writing for kids definitely has it’s own special rewards.

  11. lexacain says:

    Congrats to Stephanie & the adorable Piper! Wishing them much success! Congrats also to Milo & the other writers in the new SF collection. Free is my favorite word! 🙂

  12. I always wanted to try writing for children, it seems so rewarding! I can’t wait to read this book. 🙂

  13. Sherri says:

    What a delightful book this sounds and the cover too is adorable. Thanks TB for featuring Stephanie. I’ve gained insight today in the different ways of marketing. Reading to my children was one of my greatest pleasures, I miss those days and all those great books. Perhaps I need to start reading them again, just for myself, beginning with Piper Morgan Joins The Circus! What a delight 🙂

  14. Pat Hatt says:

    That is very true, the words can sure make an impact on a kid.

  15. It definitely is amazing to think that a child might remember your book later on in life. I still remember the books I read as a child.

  16. Great post! Definitely the best job in the world!! 🙂

  17. Bijoux says:

    It’s amazing the fictional characters that can make an impact on your life. Congrats!

  18. betty says:

    Getting a child to enjoy reading as opposed to having to “endure” it for school, etc., is a real gift I think in how one writes a book. Seems like Stephanie has that gift 🙂

    betty

  19. kindlemom1 says:

    Loved this post! You are so fabulous Stephanie! I appreciate all your thoughts and comments!!

  20. Sherry Ellis says:

    School visits are the best. The kids ask such imaginative questions!

  21. Mason Canyon says:

    I had never thought about how a children’s book is marketed compared to adults – that could be difficult. Just want to say a special ‘Thank You’ for writing for youngsters from someone who doesn’t even have children but hopes that books will continue to inspire youth forever.

    Congratulations to Milo as well.

  22. cleemckenzie says:

    I love sharing books with kids. Reading aloud to them is as entertaining for me as I’m sure it is for them. Love the cover, Stephanie. Congrats again.

  23. Good thoughts, Stephanie! I hadn’t thought much about marketing of children’s book.

  24. Great interview. Congratulations once more to Stephanie.

  25. Sandra Cox says:

    Good job, Steph. Visiting schools would be both challenging and rewarding;)

  26. Beverly says:

    What a great article, Stephanie. Writing for children is pure joy. Congratulations on your latest.

  27. I love hearing that a reader enjoyed my book. I admired writers as a kid, and today’s youth are the same.

  28. Its super delightful when a child enjoys our books and stories and tells us that they read it again and again! Congrats Stephanie, the cover is just wonderful.

  29. I really enjoy writing for children of all ages. And it is very true… a writer DOES impact lives…

    Congrats on you new book, Stephanie..

    Thanks for hosting, TB…

  30. Comedy Plus says:

    I’m a fan of Stephanie. What a great post.

    Have a fabulous day. ☺

  31. chrysfey says:

    I’ve only written one story for children and it was about a fly. HAHA! Crafting stories for children takes skill and a lot of work. The children’s authors I know do so much more than I do (school visits, etc.) It’s amazing what they do. 🙂

  32. I love reading your perspective on this! I *may or may not* try my hand at it in the future . . . I have to feel worthy of such a project first lol. And Piper Morgan of course sounds fantastic! 😀

  33. I had once thought about writing for a younger audience, but my mind is too dangerously loose with the subconscious and I’m always afraid something dark and sinister will come out and I’d be accused of some form of subliminal evil witch craft hidden within my text. Oh well! 🙂

  34. I love Stephanie’s response! I have only written for children or MG so far- but I can imagine that marketing is a huge difference, since a lot of kids are not checking out book blogs and other social media. But- Stephanie made great points about libraries, school visits, etc. It does feel wonderful when a child loves your book. Wishing Stephanie all the best! 🙂

  35. Great response from Stephanie. . .marketing for kids is very different. And I love the part about the look in a child’s face when they adore a book/author. Congrats!

  36. Yay for Milo!

    It’s true! Kids books make so much more of an impact, plus they’re funner to read. (Out loud anyway.) 😉

  37. I let my RWA membership lapse. I’m such a failure at the bascis! 🙂

    I think writing for kids is harder than adults. I tried one and my kids laughed and laughed- sadly, it wasn’t a comedy.

Leave a Reply

