Behind the Scenes of The Miracle Girl

Hi! I can’t believe it’s been weeks since my last post. I’m feverishly working on a couple of projects and I became so focused on them, I didn’t notice the days slipping by. Many of you have stopped by to say hi. Thanks so much. It’s my goal this week to return the visits. Before I bury myself with work again, I want to share a behind the scenes look of my latest novel The Miracle Girl.

JJ Cavendish, the main character in The Miracle Girl, tells travel stories instead of sharing personal details in her life. She’s desperate to keep her past under wraps, but she’s often in the limelight, and her stories help keep up her façade of being in control.

One of the stories shared in the novel happens in Algiers, Louisiana, which is across the Mississippi River from New Orleans. I won’t tell you what JJ discusses. Instead, I want to share some photos from my own trip to Algiers many years ago. While writing this section of The Miracle Girl I studied my photos to keep my mind in the game, so to speak. One of the pictures is of William S. Burroughs’ house, the author of Junkie and many others.  This was one of the most enjoyable aspects of this novel, reliving some of my own travels. Not all of the images in the photos below are described in the book, but these were the images rolling around in my head while hammering away on my laptop. This is a trick I do for most of my books. I either look at my personal collection of photos or images I find on the Internet. Visuals are essential for me.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Book Discussions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Behind the Scenes of The Miracle Girl

  1. colonialist says:

    Those are certainly evocative images. Funny, I’ve never thought of using images as a writing prompt – perhaps I should try it. Although, come to think of it, I think the photo I decided early on to use on my latest cover did prompt my imagination a lot.

  2. I’m a very visual person as well, so I totally understand how this helps you. It’s always interesting to hear the background for a book, and how the author puts it together. That’s why I love going to author events so much because I find it fascinating to hear the different ways that authors write and how they come up with their ideas. You obviously have the process down pat because Miracle Girl was amazing!!

    • TBM says:

      I’m a sucker for author events since I love to hear how others do it. Everyone has their own system, but there are similarities and sometimes they provide wonderful tips.

  3. Some rustic old buildings there. Surprised so many survived Katrina.

  4. Colline says:

    Always interesting to read a little background on one of your stories TB.

  5. Pat Hatt says:

    Images sure can say a lot and spur a lot too.

  6. ethornberg says:

    Thanks, T.B. Great pictures. I finished The Miracle Girl. I really liked it a lot. The storyline for JJ was interesting. I’m going to put a short review on Amazon today and give it five stars. I’ve now read all of your books except for Marionette which I’ll get soon from Amazon.

    Take care!

    Ernie

  7. chrysfey says:

    Visuals help me too. Whenever I have to write about a place I’ve never been to I research it, take notes, and safe pictures to study as I write.

    Thank you for sharing this tidbit into your book and the wonderful photos. 🙂

  8. cheriereich says:

    Love the pictures! When pelicans fly, I can’t help but think of the pterodactyls from Jurassic Park III.

  9. It’s very cool to know you had these images (and memories, too, I’m sure) to serve as prompts while you were writing. I’ve been to most of the places in my novel, too, but ya know? Maybe instead of writing about places we’ve already seen, we should write about someplace we haven’t seen. Yet. Someplace more… exotic… and, ya know, visit them. Purely for research purposes, of course. Tahiti would work

  10. lexacain says:

    Isn’t it funny that such a typical little Midwestern town has the name “Algiers”? It’s great that visuals inspire you. Anything that helps gets words on the page is gold! Have a great week! 🙂

  11. Oh, those pictures are great! Visuals help me too. I love to scroll through Google image searches. Happy to hear you’ve been a busy woman. I’ve got one more week to go and then I’m a full time writer! 🙂

  12. Love the pictures. I was there about 1.5 years ago, and it is definitely an interesting town.

  13. After reading The Miracle Girl I realized how much addiction narratives tend to keep my interest. I need to add Junkie to my TBR list. In fact, I think I’ll head over to Amazon and do that now 😉

  14. mpax1 says:

    Neat that you put your travels into your book. I’ve not been there yet. In fact I haven’t been in the south much yet. Hope your summer is going well. http://mpaxauthor.com

    • TBM says:

      I haven’t seen too much of the south. Growing up on the West Coast, I’ve been to more of the states near there and then I lived in Boston, so I’ve seen a fair bit of New England as well.

  15. pattisj says:

    Enjoyed seeing your process, how the photos help write the story details.

  16. It’s such a neat idea to use photos as visuals for your book. Thank you for sharing the background on the character. My continued best wishes to you.

  17. Great photos. I’ve been to New Orleans and went on a boat ride, but didn’t go on the other side. I also look at photos for inspiration and to arouse certain emotions while I write.

  18. Sherry Ellis says:

    You’ve got some great visuals there! I try to find as many pictures of the settings for my books, too. It really helps!

  19. Loving these behind-the-scenes stories about your novel as they seem to really open up the book itself in so many different ways.

  20. The Guat says:

    Good pics chic I used to use visuals all the time to inspire writing, I should get back to that, liked taking a look at the story behind the story 🙂 glad you’re back, but also happy that your busy writing. Maybe in the next interview I should ask you to send me the pic that inspired the story 🙂

  21. gorgeous photos! I need visuals too, helps me so much!

  22. That’s a great idea!!! We just went on a trip and the memories are fresh. I think you could also look at photos online of the places and jar some memories…if you don’t happen to have a picture of something.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  23. tara tyler says:

    i do that too! love visiting places that could be in a future book, i took some on vacay last week at a backwoods museum – cool, interesting stuff!

  24. I get how important strong visuals are in helping with writing vivid scenes.

Leave a Reply

