5 Horror Books to Read After Once upon a Nightmare: A Collection

Today I’m honored to have Cherie Reich stop by. Cherie recently published Once Upon A Nightmare, a collection of stories to get your heart pumping. I started reading it and let’s just say, I kept the lights.

ouanblogtour

5 Horror Books to Read After Once upon a Nightmare: A Collection

by Cherie Reich

  1. The Mist by Stephen King. This novella is sure to freak anyone out. Just don’t watch the movie or if you do, stop the movie when they’re driving around in the mist. The story’s real ending is so much better.
  1. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake. I loved the friendships formed through the story’s horrors. The first glimpse of Anna is also terrifying.
  1. Ten by Gretchen McNeil. This book was like reading a horror movie. It was awesome.
  1. The Doll by J.C. Martin. Dolls are creepy, and you’ll definitely find quite a few of them on the Island of Dolls in this short story.
  1. Desperation by Stephen King. This is the first full-length novel I read of King’s as a teen, and it completely scared me. It’s sleep-with-the-light-on horror.

What are your favorite horror books?

Once upon a Nightmare ebook coverA monster hunts us. After hibernating for a decade, it’s ravenous. We long to stop this nightmare, but the end of the road is far. There is no waking up once a legend sets its sights on you.

Disappearances every ten or so years make little impact on the small town of New Haven, Virginia. Hikers get lost. Hunters lose the trail. Even when a body is discovered, the inhabitants’ memories last about as long as the newspaper articles.

No one connects the cases. No one notices the disappearances go back beyond Civil War times. No one believes a legendary monster roams the forests in Southwestern Virginia.

I don’t either until the truck breaks down on an old mountain trail. Cell phones won’t work in this neck of the woods. It’s amazing how much a person can see by starlight alone. So what if we can’t feel our fingers or toes as we hike toward the main road. How many more miles left to go?

Crrraaack!

Hear that noise?

Purchase Once upon a Nightmare: A Collection by Cherie Reich at Amazon. From June 22-28, the collection is only $0.99!

Cherie Reich is a speculative fiction author and library assistant living in Virginia. Visit her website and blog for more information.

 

 

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Guest Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 5 Horror Books to Read After Once upon a Nightmare: A Collection

  1. I love scary stories and always have. I grew up sinking my teeth into Stephen King books, so I will have to check this one out for sure. I wish we lived closer – I would have come over and scared the crap out of you while you were reading this one LOL. That’s what friends are for right?

    • cheriereich says:

      Scary stories can be so much fun to read. Of course, they’re sometimes better read during the daylight hours. When you’re alone at home at night and reading a scary story, it’s a bit different experience.

  2. Anything is better than the ending of the movie version of The Mist.

  3. lol @ Alex! I don’t read horror much but just these titles gave me chills haha (I’m a lightweight when it comes to horror!) since I was a little kid I never had a fear of ghosts but a fear or burglars! So to me any story about a robber would do me in lol

  4. I love spooky, scary, chilling until I start reading. I rather read horror than watch horror movies.

  5. cheriereich says:

    Thank you so much for hosting me, TB!

  6. I’m not the biggest fan of horror fiction, because, well, it scares the shit out of me. However, I love the title of Cherie’s book, which makes me REALLY CURIOUS! So thanks so much for the recommendations.

    And just so you know. This summer I’m going on two-month RV trip with my nearing-ninety Godmother and her cat Pepe le Mew. I leave for the US in a week. The RV is huge, 37-feet. My Godmother will be driving and towing an SUV the entire way. She was a Flamenco dancer during her entire professional life. I’m going to try to blog about our trip and write a book about the 64 beautiful years she and my Godfather, a Venezuelan movie star (I kid you not!), were married, until Raul died last fall one month shy of his 97th birthday.

    Hope all is well in your neck of the planet. Sorry to have been away so long!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  7. I read… and thoroughly enjoyed… Cherie’s book.

    I don’t read horror books as much as I did years ago, but I used to devour anything and everything written by King and Dean Koontz. And scared the crap out of myself. The movie adaptations were usually pretty disappointing, though. Except for maybe “The Shining.” (But I was disappointed the creepy topiary critters didn’t make it into the film version.)

    • cheriereich says:

      Thank you, Susan! I appreciate your thoughtful review (and I fixed the error you caught too…thank you!!). Movie adaptations are usually a bit disappointing. That’s one thing I did like about the new “The Shining” version. They worked more closely to the book, although no one can beat Jack Nicholson’s performance in the original one.

Leave a Reply

