Lions mating in the wild and an announcement

JJ Cavendish, the main character in my newest novel, has traveled extensively. At one point in the novel JJ mentions she’s witnessed lions mating in the wild. Now I haven’t traveled as much as JJ, however, when I visited Botswana in 2010 I was lucky enough to observe two lions mating.  According to our guide, when the female is ready she informs the male that it’s time. Here’s the really fascinating part: they mate approximately every 15 minutes for 4 days straight, day and night. Seriously, that’s dedication and the stamina needed is astounding. I should mention that the actual deed is quick. Real quick. Here are some photos I snapped:

The Miracle Girl will be released on July 6th (fingers crossed). I love the cover Erin Dameron-Hill designed.

TheMiracleGirl (1)

Tagline: To secure a loving future, she must shed an addicting past.

Want to know more? Here’s the blurb:

Newspaper publisher and world traveler JJ Cavendish continually feels pressured to live up to her Miracle Girl nickname. Not many people know she’s living a carefully crafted lie. She may not hide ties to the LGBT community, but she does hide past struggles with addiction.

When the Colorado native is handpicked to take the helm at a dying Denver newspaper, she ends up reconnecting with her long lost love in this contemporary lesbian romance. Only there’s a catch. If JJ fires the most belligerent editor at the paper, she risks losing the love of her life.

Mid-afternoon office romps abound in this romantic comedy while also focusing on what it takes for a newspaper to remain relevant in this age of social media.

Must JJ lose everything in order to gain a life more fully her own?

As I mentioned, I’m aiming to release this on July 6th. Let me know if you’d be willing to make an announcement on your blog about the release during July, preferably between July 6th-31st. Feel free to leave me a comment saying you’d be willing to help or shoot me an email: tbmarkinson@gmail.com

TBMs giveaway 2

Don’t forget to enter my monthly e-book giveaway. Here’s the link listing all the books and here’s the link to the rafflecopter form. Really want to win? You can enter every day to boost your chances. Good luck!

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Lions mating in the wild and an announcement

  1. Colline says:

    As always I would be willing to help announce your upcoming book TB. Feel free to send me the info. By the way, I love the cover.

  2. Every 15 minutes?!?!?! I am exhausted just thinking about it. I guess the male lion never hears the words “are you done yet?” LOL. As for your book, as you know I haven’t posted on my blog for a while, but I would love to promote it on Facebook for sure and my blog as well if I get back to blogging by then. As you know, life has been crazy for me lately, and although I started reading it (and it’s great by the way), I had to put it to the side last week. I’m looking forward to diving back into it again :).

  3. Congratulations on your upcoming release.
    And I’m one of those people who can’t turn on Animal Planet without seeing animals doing it. I think it’s a curse.

  4. Southpaw says:

    Those are some great shots. I like the one with the female arching her back. Congratulations on the new release.

  5. Pat Hatt says:

    Congrats on the new release. lol every 15 minutes? Damn, even if he was only sticking it in and pulling it out, it would be exhausting haha

  6. Chrys Fey says:

    Every 15 minutes? Holy jeez! That is serious dedication. And lets not mention that they are horny during every minutes of those 4 days. Oops…I just did. haha

    Congratulations on such a beautiful and sexy cover!

  7. Geoff W says:

    I know I’ve given you crap about covers before, so I had to tell you this one looks great!

  8. The Guat says:

    Duuuuuuuude congrats on your new book. It’s great that your writing is flowing and you are able to create new and interesting work. Very cool! If you need help with the publicity stuff let me know so I can post on my site. And whoa. Dude lions are crazy. I did not know about this jungle passion.

    • TBM says:

      Not sure it’s passion since it really didn’t look passionate or fun. But I’m cheering them on. We need more lions in the world.

      Thanks for the help. I’ll get the info to you soon.

  9. cheriereich says:

    I’d be happy to post something on my Bookworm News post (July 8th). Love that cover! Erin does excellent work. Congrats!

  10. Sherry Ellis says:

    Those are some really amazing pictures!

  11. Wow, that’s kind of crazy!

    Congrats on a great cover for a great book.

  12. lexacain says:

    I’m all agog over the details of mating lions. Whodda thunk? I love the little pic you have for your giveaways now. So cute! Your new book sounds exciting, although the cover’s rather risque for an old fart like me.:O I wish you much success, and I’ll be delighted to plug any freebies you offer of your books or others. 🙂

    • TBM says:

      I had no clue about their habits until I visited. I must not pay attention when I watch Animal Planet. I love the button Tara created for me.

  13. They must make up for the whole year in those 4 days. Amazing cover. I look forward to reading. Sure, I’ll do a blog announcement (you have my email).

  14. Ah those lions- remind me of the teenage years.

    That is an awesome cover. Very beautiful. I’ll be happy to give it a shout out. Send me what you want to post to eseckman(at)ymail(dot)com.

    Best of luck!!

  15. OMG what an awesome cover!!! I’d love to help you out. Just let me know. I think you have my email, but you can reach me through http://www.stephaniefaris.com/#!contact/c24vq if not. I’ll be on vacation ’til the 8th, but any time after that.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  16. julieaflanders says:

    Wow your cover is fantastic! Erin is so talented. I’d love to help spread the word on my blog, just email me whatever you want posted. JJ sounds like a great character too, and what a cool name for a character. Excited for you!
    And I had to laugh about the lions going at it every 15 minutes for 4 days. Good Lord! Glad I’m not a lion LOL.

  17. Every fifteen minutes for FOUR days??? Good Lord. They must sleep for four days straight afterwards. Very cool that you saw them in action, instead of just the sleeping-it-off period.

    The cover of your new book is fabulous! The best one yet. If you remind me, I’d be happy to mention your release date on my blog next month.

  18. Kimberly says:

    Fabulous pictures and such an amazing experience. I would happy to do a shout out for your book! I’m waiting to see when another author wants to post something but I can definitely do something in July – I think you have my email too. 🙂

  19. tara tyler says:

    i can’t believe you visited Botswana!
    i can’t believe that cover!
    i can’t believe how intriguing that story is!

    therefore, this post was unbelieveable!
    and thanks for having me in your giveaway =)

  20. I had no idea about lions. Fascinating! Cool that you got to visit Botswana- wow!

    The cover for your upcoming release is beautiful! It sounds like a great read too. 🙂

  21. Congratulations TB! As always your prolific work is such an inspiration.

  22. Wow that is extreme endurance. Even if it’s quick 4 days of mating is a lot. Love the cover for your new release. Happy to help out in early July. If you want to do a guest post or a shout out–either works for me.

Leave a Reply

