There are demanding cats and then there’s Avalon

Many of you who follow this blog and my 50 Year Project blog know I’m an animal lover. Our boys Atticus (cat) and Miles (dog) are members of our family and we absolutely adore them. And truth be known, they are completely spoiled. Avalon sounds more difficult than our boys, which is hard to believe since Miles and Att are bossing me around every hour of the day. As I’m writing this Miles is throwing a fit and I haven’t quite figured out why, much to his annoyance … turned out he wanted a bone. He should be happy for the next forty-five minutes.

The grumpy cat

MilesWhen Vanessa asked me to share an excerpt from her latest release about her cat Avalon I jumped at the chance. Click here for more information about her book and to enter her rafflecopter for your chance to win a $25 Amazon Gift Card. Below you’ll find a humorous and eye-opening excerpt about the stunning Avalon.

avalon

Excerpt:

Around three o’clock that night, Avalon was fed up with the strange man in his bed. He plonked his rear down on Gilles’ pillow, complaining fretfully in his ear while tapping him on the face.

After nearly an hour of incessant wailing and poking, more drastic measures were required. The new solution: pushing Gilles out of bed.

Avalon succeeded.

Climbing back under the covers wasn’t an option. Unable to sleep, Gilles got up. “I guess I didn’t pass the test.”

“Give Avalon some time. Maybe he was just irked because you took his side of the bed.”

But Gilles had already understood that this wasn’t going to be a one-time event.

For several minutes, Gilles and Avalon sized each other up. Then Gilles said, “I’d better leave the two of you alone now. It’s clearly what the little guy wants.”

I swear I could see Avalon smirking when Gilles put on his jacket and left.

Instantly, Avalon leapt onto me, and compensated for the evening before. He entered a kiss-induced trance. This cat was all about exclusivity, and when granted that exclusivity, his love was immense.

“Are you really that happy that Gilles is gone?”

In reply, Avalon looked at me with swoony eyes and purred loudly, then swatted out his paw to urge me to continue to pet him, which I did.

A phone call interrupted our tender moment. It was Gilles.

“There won’t be any train to Brussels for hours,” he said. “Is it okay if I come back to your place for a while?”

“Of course.” His return would offend Avalon, but I couldn’t possibly leave Gilles outside in the rain for several hours.

As soon as Gilles appeared at the front door, Avalon’s pupils widened to a pitch black.

Let’s see who’s the boss here, he seemed to be thinking.

Being a cat of action, Avalon went through his usual attention-seeking routine: making a selection of irritating noises, scratching the wallpaper, and pushing objects to the ground.

When that didn’t work, Avalon opened Gilles’ overnight bag and threw out a piece of clothing. His eyes so dark and evil they could be gateways to hell, Avalon stared at his adversary and waited for a reaction. He then pulled out a box of gel wax. Again, he looked up at Gilles to make sure he understood that all this bungling was meant to get a message across. A third object followed, then a fourth, a fifth, a sixth, until there was nothing.

Hell-bent on winning the game, Avalon took Gilles’ coat in his mouth and towed it toward the front door. There, he used his right paw to tap the keys hanging from the wooden doorframe.

Avalon’s message couldn’t be any clearer: there was room for only one man in my life. A feline one.

Blurb:

Some cats need nine lives to make a difference. Avalon only needed one.

From Amazon bestselling author Vanessa Morgan, Avalon is the heartwarming and once-in-a-lifetime love story of a girl and her neurotic Turkish Van cat.

With humor, the author details how Avalon made other creatures cringe in distress whenever he was around, how he threw her dates out by means of special techniques, and how he rendered it almost impossible for her to leave the house. Avalon was so incorrigible that even her landlord ordered her to get rid of him. But beneath Avalon’s demonic boisterousness, Vanessa recognized her own flaws and insecurities, and she understood that abandoning Avalon would be the worst she could do to him. Thanks to her unswerving loyalty, Avalon transformed into a tender feline, and even landed a major role in a horror movie. In turn, Avalon made it his mission to be there for his human companion.

By turns jubilant and deeply moving, Avalon is a memoir for anyone who has ever been obsessively in love with a pet.

You can find Avalon: a Heartwarming True Cat Story on: 
About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Excerpt and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to There are demanding cats and then there’s Avalon

  1. Colline says:

    Your cat is a beauty though TB

    • TBM says:

      Thanks, Colline. I agree with you, Atticus is stunning. My little prince knows it as well. You should see him sit in the open window soaking in the rays and all the praise by passersby.

  2. Don’t you read Miles’ mind by now? You should have known immediately that he wanted a bone LOL!! Just kidding :).

  3. Your little guys are adorable! And congratulations to Vanessa. 🙂

  4. yep sounds right up my alley…I am a cat freak lol…I adore them! Avalon sounds so special 🙂

  5. Wow, I’m glad I didn’t have to deal with Avalon!

  6. Chrys Fey says:

    My kitties are spoiled rotten too. And boy do they have attitudes.

    Congratulations, Vanessa!!! 😀

  7. Your family is a.d.o.r.a.b.e. I’m a cat person so I’m drawn to Atticus.
    The book sounds fun-tab-u-lous. I had a cat like Avalon, but he peed on anything a visitor touched of left behind. Bad kitty.

  8. I can’t post a comment on Vanessa’s blog. I’ve had trouble with certain Blogger sites.

  9. lexacain says:

    When thwarted, dogs get sad, cats get mad. I had a cat who’d go to the bathroom on my (then) husband’s side of the bed when I left on business trips. And then when I go home, would deliberately put her back to me and ignore me. Message received, loud and clear. lol

    • TBM says:

      They do have a way of making their point. Att likes to pull some of my hair out to get my attention in middle of the night if his food dish is low.

  10. Kimberly says:

    You have cute pet children! Congrats to Vanessa on her book. I think animals are pretty darn smart – although sometimes they ‘pretend’ not to be. 🙂

  11. That pic of Atticus totally cracks me up. He seems so annoyed that he has to put up with you. 😀 He and Miles are both adorable.
    I am looking forward to reading Avalon! Vanessa is awesome.

  12. Atticus and Miles are adorable –and the look so innocent. Thanks for sharing the excerpt. I was wonderful. Best of luck to Vanessa.

  13. The ways animals touch are lives are so profound. My Siamese-mix cat is so vocal and so annoying, but he knows if he meows he will get his way. Now that he’s 15, a bit of senility is slipping in as well and he’s so crabby, but I cater to him hand and foot. Avalon sounds like a great memoir. I started locking my two cats out of my bedroom a few years ago, but have to put a small fan on the floor to keep the from pawing at the door 😉

    • TBM says:

      When Att’s meows don’t get him what he wants, he uses more persuasive ways: pulling hair, hunting Miles, or biting. He’s getting older, 13 now, and even more spoiled.

  14. Sounds like a great book! My dog sleeps in bed with me…when my husband is out of town, she decides in the middle of the night she wants to be where I am and she comes up and basically lays down and stretches out until I get out of her way!

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    • TBM says:

      Miles sleeps in our bed, under the covers, with his head on a pillow. And if he doesn’t have enough room in bed, he’ll push you out of the way with his paws. Or kick.

  15. Nick Wilford says:

    You have lovely pets! Avalon was definitely badass. Sounds like a very entertaining read.

  16. The Guat says:

    That’s so funny that someone had the same name for a pet, not a common one I think. In truth I’m more go a dog person and I could totally see a dog doing something like that, but I’ve got to say that this excerpt was pretty funny. I like the first line of the synopsis totally grabbed my attention. Sounds like a funny book. Thanks for posting 🙂

    • TBM says:

      Oh dogs can be just as cunning. Miles has his way of letting me know how he feels every second and how to get his way. He just uses his sweetness most of the time.

  17. My cats are very spoiled and demanding. 🙂

    I loved Vanessa’s book. People do have a special bond with their animal companions.

  18. Sherry Ellis says:

    Avalon would be a perfect book for cat lovers.

  19. Great-looking animal friends — and a very spiffy cover. Way to go, Vanessa!

Leave a Reply

