# Guest Post: Chrys Fey, author of Witch of Death

We had a fabulous weekend in London. The weather was warm, but not too hot. We spent many hours in Kensington Gardens with our buddy Miles. I think it’s fair to say out of the three of us, Miles enjoyed the park the most.

Today Chrys Fey is here to chat about fog and to promote her latest story Witch of Death. Now I haven’t read this story, but I’ve read and enjoyed her novel Hurricane Crimes. And this past weekend while picnicking with Miles I started her story 30 Seconds. I can’t wait to see what happens!

20150607_114833

Don’t miss your chance to win a copy of 30 Seconds, plus four other e-books and a $5 Amazon Gift Card in this month’s giveaway. Click here for more details.

TBMs giveaway 2

Now, here’s Chrys Fey:

Thank you, TB, for letting me borrow your blog to talk about my newest release, Witch of Death. Before we get to that, I’m going to discuss fog…

Fog is eerie. It obscures your vision and hides things from sight such as trees, cars, houses…monsters. Okay, well maybe monsters aren’t in the fog that descends over land in real life, but they are in Stephen King’s world. In the movie The Mist, fog envelopes a small town and civilians take shelter in a grocery store when strange things start to happen. Creatures live in this mist that kills anyone who goes outside. Scary stuff!
 
And in the move The Fog with Tom Welling (Clark Kent from Smallville), a fog rolls over a small town near the water and spirits lurk in that fog. These spirits kill people in horrifying ways.
 
In Witch of Death, a fog swoops down…oh wait, why explain it when I can have you read it instead?
 
Foggy
Excerpt from Witch of Death:
 
At the end of the street, a tidal wave of white fog billowed over the black pavement, cut around trees, and crashed into houses. It devoured the whole neighborhood with its misty mouth.
 
Inside the deflated cloud, a woman manifested. She floated a foot off the ground and marched on the air with determination. Wisps of cold vapor swirled around her as she sliced through the rolling fog and went up the driveway of one of the houses.
 
QUESTION:
Have you seen the movie or read the book The Mist? What did you think of the ending? I felt so bad for the guy. 
 
Title: Witch of Death
Author: Chrys Fey
Genre: Supernatural/Suspense
Format: eBook OnlyPage Count: 45 (short story)

Release Date: May 20th, 2015
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press

 

Blurb:
 
Detective Reid Sanders doesn’t believe in the supernatural, but when he’s faced with a crime scene that defies the laws of nature, he has no other choice but to start believing. And solving a magical murder involves working with a witch.
 
Liberty Sawyer embodies the look of your classic evil witch, so, it’s no surprise when she uncovers the murderer is a witch that she becomes Reid’s number one suspect. If she can’t convince him otherwise, more people could lose their lives to dark magic, including her.
 
BOOK LINKS:

ALSO AVAILABLE:
Blurb:
 
Jolie Montgomery, a twenty-one-year-old woman, wakes up in an alley next to her corpse. She has no memories of her murder or the night she died. She didn’t even see the killer’s face before he or she took her life. Wanting justice, Jolie seeks answers in the only way a ghost can…by stalking the lead detective on the case.
 
Avrianna Heavenborn is determined to find the person responsible for a young woman’s death. She gets closer to the killer’s identity with every clue she uncovers, and Jolie is with her every step of the way.
 
But if they don’t solve her murder soon, Jolie will be an earth-bound spirit forever.
Book Links:
 

BIO:

Chrys Fey is the author of Hurricane Crimes and 30 Seconds. She is currently working on the sequel to Hurricane Crimes that’ll serve as book two in the Disaster Crimes series.
When Fey was six years old, she realized her dream of being a writer by watching her mother pursue publication. At the age of twelve, she started writing her first novel, which flourished into a series she later rewrote at seventeen. Fey lives in Florida where she is waiting for the next hurricane to come her way.
You can connect with her on Facebook and her blog, Write with Fey. She loves to get to know her readers! 

Author Links: 
Facebook / Blog / Website / Goodreads 

Thank you all for visiting and hopefully commenting. 😉 
 
 
About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Guest Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to # Guest Post: Chrys Fey, author of Witch of Death

  1. Oooh, my type of stories. Being a huge Stephen King fan, I did read The Mist years ago, but unfortunately because I read so many books I don’t remember how it ended. I loved the creepiness of his books back then though. His newer books, while still amazing, are of a different breed. TBM, I’m glad you guys enjoyed some good weather this weekend. Miles looks perfectly ecstatic :).

    • Chrys Fey says:

      Unfortunately, I haven’t actually read much Stephen King. I’ve started a couple of his books and stopped reading them. Thank you for commenting!

  2. Thanks for introducing us to Chrys. Well, Miles sure had a fun time!

  3. Colline says:

    Reading in the park on a beautiful day is definitely my idea of pleasure 🙂

  4. I bet your foggy story is ten times better than King’s. Sorry to say, I really disliked the ending of The Mist.

    • Chrys Fey says:

      I hated the ending too! It was terrible. I mean…after all that? I don’t know if my story qualifies as a “foggy story” because the witch is the villain, not the fog, but I’ll gladly take that compliment. 😀

  5. I’m a huge King fan. I never looked at fog the same way again after that story! Can’t wait to read yours, Chrys. 🙂

    Miles is adorable, TB!

  6. Chrys Fey says:

    Thank you so much for having my on your blog today, TB! Thanks also for mentioning 30 Seconds with the giveaway and for saying that you started reading it during your picnic. A picnic with a Kindle sounds amazing! I don’t have a Kindle, but I can dream. 😉

  7. Thanks for hosting this introduction to Chrys Fey and her books. 😀 Chills and thrills just as I like them.

  8. The Guat says:

    Reading the park is always great! Relaxing indeed, but I always worry that when reading a scary book someone will freak me out while I’m relaxing. But you got Miles there to protect you. Thanks for the author highlight.

  9. Miles is a cutie, for sure!

    Hi Chrys, great to see you here. I totally agree about fog being eerie.

  10. T.F.Walsh says:

    Congrats, Chrys.. the books sound fantastic. My type of story:)

    Miles is too adorable:)

  11. Huge congrats to Chrys!

  12. Pat Hatt says:

    The pup sure looks to be having lots of fun.

    The Mist ending I didn’t expect, it was a downer indeed. Image that actually happening, ugg.

  13. melissamaygrove says:

    Fog can hide cows, too, on old country roads. My father can attest to that. So can his truck. LOL

    Congratulations, Chrys! 🙂
    Hi, TB. *waves*

  14. cheriereich says:

    It looks like Miles, in particular, had a great time at the park.

    Congrats, Chrys! Fog is really spooky. I enjoyed Stephen King’s The Mist novella better than the movie. The movie was great until they changed the ending. I prefer King’s original ending much better.

  15. spunkonastick says:

    Don’t forget John Carpenter’s The Fog. That was an eerie movie.

  16. I have always loved the fog. When growing up in Baltimore, we had a lot of it, and I never grew tired of being out in it. (Except possibly for one all-nighter when my hubby and I helped friends move, when the fog was so thick we could hardly see to drive the truck.) Unfortunately, it’s very very rare to see fog in a landlocked area like Atlanta, but I will always love the eerie other-worldliness of it. I read “The Mist” but it was a long time ago, and at least a thousand books ago, so I don’t remember if I liked the ending or not.

    I DO remember that I like your books, though, and look forward to reading your next one.

    • Chrys Fey says:

      I love the fog too. It’s beautiful and yet eerie.

      I haven’t read the The Mist, but Cherie above mentioned that the ending for the book and the movie is different.

      Thank you, Susan! 😀

  17. Witch Of Death has a stunning cover!
    Driving in fog with limited visibility is a frightening experience… major relief at the end of the journey!

  18. lexacain says:

    TB – I’m glad you and Miles enjoyed the park! Chrys – I enjoyed the excerpt from your book! I love “The Fog” and I liked “The Mist” – until the ending. I hated the ending. Wishing you all the best on your new release!

  19. Arlee Bird says:

    I agree fog can be creepy. I hate driving in it, but it can be kind of nice if just walking or staying at home.

    I saw the film version of The Mist. I thought from a literary standpoint the ending was great–it was sad and terrible, but the twist of it gave it a lot of impact. I really liked that film a lot.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

  20. Kimberly says:

    Cute pictures of your time in the park! Wow, Chrys’ books sound so good! I watched the movie Mist but I don’t remember it. I’m bad about remembering most movies I watch. 🙂

    • Chrys Fey says:

      Thanks, Kimberly! If I watched a movie a long time ago, I tend to forget things about it too, but I couldn’t forget this ending because I was raging over it. haha

  21. I’ve seen The Fog, but I don’t think I’ve seen The Mist. I only see fog in my area sometimes. It can be either creepy or mysterious.

  22. Such cute pictures. Now I want to go to the park as well. And congratulations to Fey on her new book; it looks great.

  23. tara tyler says:

    go chrys, go chrys!
    loved that eerie fog description – now that’s talent!

  24. Looks like your dog had an amazing time at the park. So jealous! Very intriguing cover, Chris. 🙂

  25. Apologies for the typo–Chrys.

  26. Sherry Ellis says:

    This sounds like such a good book!

  27. I read Ghost of Death last month–now I have to get to Witch of Death. There’s never enough time.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

