Beatrix Potter, Eastwood House, and a new release by M. Pax

Living in England has provided me many opportunities to visit places where authors have stayed, lived, dined, walked, and explored. Recently we had the amazing opportunity to stay at Eastwood House, which is situated on the banks of the River Tay and is within walking distance of Dunkeld in Perthshire. This house has hosted many guests including Sir John Everett Millais (painter), Lillie Langtry (actress), David Lloyd George (politician), and Stanley Baldwin (politician). One of its most famous guests has been Beatrix Potter.

Potter enjoyed exploring the local countryside and had a great interest in nature, which is evident in her work. While staying at the house, on September 4th 1893 she wrote a letter to Noel Moore, which later became her first book The Tale of Peter Rabbit, published in 1902. The next day she wrote another letter about a frog called ‘Jeremy Fisher’ to Eric, Noel’s brother.

Now I was at the house to celebrate a friend’s fortieth birthday party (a total of twenty guests) and I didn’t get much writing done. None actually. But it was still inspiring to stay there. Here are some photos.

 

Today is M. Pax’s book launch for Precipice, the sixth book in her science fiction series, The Backworlds.

Blurb:

Precipice WEBIn the far future, humanity settles the stars, bioengineering its descendants to survive in a harsh universe. This is the sixth book in the science fiction series, The Backworlds. A space opera adventure.

The Backworlds hang by a Quantum string, a thread about to snap. Annihilation is coming if Craze can’t stop it.

The genocidal alien he had trapped breaks free, destroying a ship belonging to the Backworlds’ oldest enemy, the Fo’wo’s. The murderous alien wants to overtake the galaxy. The Fo’wo’s want another war.

The Backworlds’ best chance to survive is to overcome a century of hate and forge an alliance with the Fo’wo’s. Because of his history with the alien, Craze is recruited to represent his people. Now he’s the most hated man in the galaxy.

The looming war will be a holocaust unless Craze can stop it, knowing salvation comes at a price.

Buy links: Amazon / B&N / iBook / Googleplay / Smashwords / Kobo / Other

Excerpt:

Until he knew for certain whether he dealt with one genocidal alien or two, Lepsi couldn’t think right. His thoughts refused to stand still, stuttering and churning.

The hatch slid fully open. He sprang off the cargo ejector, sailing two kilometers into the ether. He tumbled in the black for precisely twenty-three seconds then engaged his thrusters to journey the remaining twenty kilometers over to a spacecraft-sized mass of debris. The bits clumped together forming a weird metallic planetoid.

He traced along the char marks and the mangled pieces of hull. The answers he needed wouldn’t be found in this trash, yet he was closer to them here than anywhere else, unless he joined up with the horrid alien again. His limbs shuddered and his lungs struggled for breath. He never wanted to see the cloud-like ship again. He couldn’t. He’d crack into a billion unrecoverable pieces. Just like the rubble of the Fo’wo ship around him.

About M. Pax:

 

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Fantasy, science fiction, and the weird beckons to her, and she blames Oregon, a source of endless inspiration. She docents at Pine Mountain Observatory in the summers, and one of her cats has a crush on Mr. Spock. You can find out more by visiting her website: mpaxauthor.com

Before you go, have you entered my giveaway for your chance to win five fabulous books? Click here to find out more.

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Authors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Beatrix Potter, Eastwood House, and a new release by M. Pax

  1. Oooh, I love Peter Rabbit :). You sure have seen a lot of amazing places since you moved there haven’t you? It’s like you’re travelling full time. By the way, I like that picture of M. Pax above. She looks like a fun person, and by the sounds of her series she has an awesome imagination!

    • TBM says:

      I’ve read one of Mary’s books and yes, her imagination impressed me completely. I need to start the Backworlds’ series.

  2. Peter Rabbit is such a cute story. Congrats to M. Pax on another release!

  3. How wonderful you got to visit the Potter house! Love those pictures. And yay for Mary! I can’t wait to read her new book.

  4. Chrys Fey says:

    It would be inspiring to stay there and explore.

    Congratulations to M. Pax! I love her author photo. 😀

  5. Congratulations to Mary! That’s such a great series.
    Did some of the magic of the house rub off on you?

  6. Such delightful places to visit.
    Thanks for the heads up on P. Max and her book Precipice. ❤

  7. cleemckenzie says:

    You had a lovely place to enjoy. And those pictures are wonderful, TBM.

    Here’s to Mary on her next adventure. Congrats, Miss Pax.

  8. What a great place to stay! Next time you stay, you’ll have to write. 🙂
    Congratulations to P. Max!

  9. mpax1 says:

    P. Max is acceptable. 🙂 Thanks for the shoutout, TB. Hope you at fun at the Beatrix Potter house. Looks like a wonderful place to spend some time. http://mpaxauthor.com

  10. lexacain says:

    Just because you didn’t write anything while there doesn’t mean it won’t linger in your memory and inspire you in the future. I’m ridiculously busy these days and may not be adding words to my novel, but I *think* about it and other WIP ideas all the time — inspired by all the people I’m meeting on the net. Thanks for sharing the great pics! Congrats to Mary on her newest release! Woohoo! 🙂

  11. cheriereich says:

    Congrats to Mary! And that’s so cool you got to visit that house.

  12. Nick Wilford says:

    Looks like a great place to stay! We visited the Beatrix Potter Museum in the Lake District, very fun. Congrats to Mary.

  13. What a neat-looking place to visit. It fairly drips with history. I guess that’s just one of the perks of living in Europe… lots more history there. 🙂

    Congrats to Mary! She sure is a prolific writer. (GOOD, too!)

  14. Colline says:

    I loved reading Beatrix Potter stories as a child. What a treat to see her home.

  15. Congrats to Mary! Wishing her much success.

    I loved your photos. Looks like a great place. So pretty. I also loved Beatrix Potter when I was a girl.

  16. Visiting author’s homes is something I try to do when I can while traveling. Ernest Hemingway’s house in Key West has probably been my favorite. I regret talking myself out of seeing both Flannery O’Connor’s house and Margaret Mitchell’s when I was down South, but sometimes weekend trips are too packed to fit one more site in 🙂

    • TBM says:

      I would love to see Hemingway’s house. And I know what you mean, you can only see and do so much on trips. I’ve passed by on many opportunities that I’m now kicking myself for.

  17. We decorated our nursery with a Peter Rabbit theme and now my youngest (who got that room for keeps) loves rabbits more than any other creature. Beautiful house.

  18. We don’t have that kind of history in Nashville–at least not authorly history! Sounds fascinating. Now I want to go back to England and see all these places. I did see the Sherlock Holmes house.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  19. Sherry Ellis says:

    I would have loved to have visited that house. It looks like a place that would inspire stories.

    • TBM says:

      The house was beautiful and the scenery top notch. I imagine fantasy and children’s authors would never get bored there.

  20. Kimberly says:

    That sounds like such a fabulous weekend – so much history there and the pictures are gorgeous. Congrats to M. Pax on her newest book – I love the cover!

  21. How cool to get to stay in the same house as so many other famous authors! I went to The SHip Inn in Exeter, just so I could eat at the same inn frequented by Sir Francis Drake, to try to imagine what it must have been like in his day.

    • TBM says:

      Oooo…I need to go there!

      • It was pretty cool. When my sister and were in Rye we stayed for one night at The Mermaid Inn, which had been remodeled in anticipation of a visit from Queen Elizabeth the First. On the door of my room was a plaque proclaiming that the Queen Mum had slept in that room on such and such a date. If only for one night, I had certainly sat upon the same throne as the Queen Mum!

  22. Sherri says:

    What a beautiful house! Sounds like you had a great time 🙂 We visited the Beatrix Potter house and gardens in the Lake District some years ago. I could almost see Peter Rabbit running through the lettuces and carrotts whilst trying to dodge Mr McGregor’s sieve! Congratulations to M. Pax!

  23. The Guat says:

    That does look like a cool quaint place where someone can just crank out a masterpiece like Peter Rabbit, and high five to you for highlighting the release of another writer’s book. Thanks for introducing me to new stories 🙂

  24. Congrats to Mary!

    Great pictures. I’d love to visit authors’ houses. I haven’t visited any.

  25. Oh I would love to visit this place. For one, it looks beautiful, and two, I LOVED the Beatrix Potter books as a child. I checked those little green books out from the library over and over and over again. Thanks for sharing your photos.
    And congrats to Mary!

  26. What a cool place to stay! I am so jealous. 🙂

Leave a Reply

