Guest Post: Joe Canzano, author of Magno Girl

magnogirl banner

Today I’m honored to have two guests on my blog, the author of “Magno Girl” and Legalman, an attorney in the novel. Enjoy!

Do you have any legal questions? Legal issues have become a big part of our society. For my guest post, I thought I’d do something different and interview Legalman, an attorney and supervillain from the novel “Magno Girl.” My questions are in bold, while Legalman’s answers are in a villainous shade of regular ink.

Hello, Legalman, and thanks for coming. I’m glad to see you’re out of jail.

No bars can hold me! No holds can bar me! No sentence needs to make perfect sense!

So is that your strategy? To keep the opposition in a state of confusion?

No. My strategy is to stay focused on the little things in life and be happy.

But aren’t you usually trying to steal stuff?

Yes, because the little things are expensive, and stealing them makes me very happy.

Do you have any legal advice for the followers of this blog?

Keep your nose clean! Also, shine your shoes and wash your socks! You’ll look better that way in court.

Let’s talk about the day Magno Girl broke up your plot to steal the Elvis Rock. Was that your most crushing defeat ever?

Of course not! My most crushing defeat was the day I got stuck under an antelope. Those things are heavier than they look.

I didn’t think you were the outdoorsy type.

I wasn’t camping, you dolt. Do I look like some stupid cracker who wants to sleep in a forest and catch raw fish with my teeth? I was down at the zoo, abducting rare animals. I didn’t make a nickel, but at least I know they’ll all die incarcerated.

You talk about money quite a bit. Maybe you should have been a banker.

The evil banker school was full. All in all, things worked out for the best. Any fool can learn how to count—but it takes a smart cookie to know a tort from a tortilla.

MG_cover_blog_tour

Magno Girl

By Joe Canzano

Genre: Comic Urban Fantasy

Book Synopsis:

When a Manhattan pizza maker is found dead in his own dough, Magno Girl enlists the aid of her biker ninja boyfriend to help solve the crime – and quickly discovers there’s more to the pie than meets the eye, including a sinister plot that spans the globe.

Magno Girl leaps into action. After all, she can fly, she can fight, and she can use her fearsome superpower, the “Gaze of the Guilt,” to bring a hardened criminal to his knees. But the road ahead is hard. The city’s other superheroes despise her, and the cops don’t want her around, and her own mom won’t stop spitting out advice about marrying a “respectable guy” and trading in her crime-fighting career for a baby carriage—but is she attracted to “respectable guys”? And is she interested in emotional commitment? And will finding real love be her biggest challenge of all?

Welcome to the world of Magno Girl, a wild and absurd place filled with humor, action, and romance.

joe_canzanoJoe Canzano is a writer and musician from New Jersey, U.S.A. His short stories have appeared in a half-dozen printed literary journals, as well as in the Akashic Books online series, “Mondays are Murder.”

He recently published his debut novel, “Magno Girl.”  It’s a comic urban fantasy that tells the story of a female superhero. The book combines a noir voice with absurd humor.

 

 

Praise for Magno Girl:

“The writing is quick and the wit is sharp… This is a genuinely fun book to read”

–The Hungry Monster Book Review

“We need more big-name female superheroes, and we have a great one here.”

–I’m With Geek

For more information, please visit Joe’s web site at www.happyjoe.net.

 

 

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Guest Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Guest Post: Joe Canzano, author of Magno Girl

  1. Sounds like a fun read :).

  2. Sounds an entertaining and delightful read. 😀

  3. Thanks for having me here! If anyone’s interested, you can get the book right now for just 99 cents at these locations (pretty much everywhere):
    http://happyjoe.net/promo.html

  4. I’ll keep my socks washed, i promise! Congratulations, Joe.

  5. This sounds like a very unique read! I don’t think I have read anything like it- but it sounds really good. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  6. Character interviews are always fun. Cool cover.

  7. That was hilarious! Love that cover too.

  8. cleemckenzie says:

    More small things to focus on: shine your shoes and wash your socks. Those are the kinds of things to make you very happy indeed. Sounds like a fun read.

  9. Love the cover–it really conveys a playfulness and humor in an urban setting with a touch or supernatural. 🙂

  10. When I worked for the state, I was responsible for the multimedia in these hearing rooms…and an attorney told me that you should never wear red in court. It subconsciously incites anger and hostility. Another attorney said you should also avoid anything that looks like prison garb–black and white stripes, orange, etc!

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  11. Thanks, TBM. The interview with Legalman was hilarious! I immediately bought the book. Eleven reviews on Amazon: nine 5-star and two 4-star so I’m sure it’ll be great.

  12. Nick Wilford says:

    This sounds like fun, almost cartoonish. We need more humour in crime!

  13. Chrys Fey says:

    Fun interview! Magno Girl sounds just as fun and exciting….my type of story. 🙂

  14. Definitely a fun interview. Legalman sounds like quite the character.

  15. Magno Girl sounds like a wild read! Loved the interview 🙂

  16. cheriereich says:

    Hilarious! Such a fun interview! 🙂

  17. What a fantastic way to introduce us to this book and its cheeky author! Thanks for the laughs TB and Legalman.

  18. LOL, what a fun interview! Antelopes don’t sound like they’d be fun to be stuck under, for sure… 😄

  19. Okay, this goes on the must read shelf. After the NFL draft of course.

  20. Snapfairy says:

    Thanks for sharing this delightful interview with us! I need to go check it on Amazon : ) Great job!

Leave a Reply

