Getting over a cold and two free books

It’s been two weeks since I’ve posted. We spent a week in Edinburgh and had a great time. However, while there, I caught a cold. By the time we got back to London, I was officially sick. It’s been ages since a cold has knocked me on my buttocks. Last Friday, I didn’t even get out of bed. I tried reading, but ended up sleeping the day away. I think I’m finally on the mend, but the better half is now sick. I’m switching gears from being the patient to playing nurse. I’m pretty much exhausted.

During the past couple of weeks, I’ve continued to work, here and there. I’m working with my editor on The Miracle Girl, my sixth novel. Oddly enough, even though I have been under the weather, I’m enjoying editing this novel more than I normally do. Maybe it’s the cold medicine.

In addition to editing, I’m also promoting two books right now. A Woman Lost, my debut novel, and Marionette, my young adult novel, are free on Amazon. I wish I could blame my cold for listing both novels for free at the same time, but I planned the sales some time ago and I must have crossed my wires at some point. The plan was to list A Woman Lost next month. Ooops.

Here’s the information on the books.

A Woman Lost is free from March 25-29th.

womanlostElizabeth “Lizzie” Petrie has it all. She’s rich, beautiful, intelligent, and successful. None of this matters to her mom. Les-Bi-An. That’s all her mom sees.

Despite’s Lizzie’s insistence that her mom’s antagonism does not bother her, Lizzie distances herself from her mom and the entire family. When her brother, Peter, calls her out of the blue to announce he’s getting married, Lizzie’s entire life changes drastically. Peter’s fiancée wants to bring the lesbian outcast back into the family. Will this desire cause Lizzie to lose everything dear to her?

Sarah, Lizzie’s girlfriend, is ecstatic about this change in Lizzie’s personal life. Sarah, the hopeless romantic, wants it all, including settling down with the fiercely independent Lizzie.

Can Lizzie be tamed? And can she survive her family and all of their secrets?

Praise for A WOMAN LOST:

“I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys contemporary romance as this was one of the best lesbian contemporary books I’ve read.” Lipstick Lesbian Reviews

“This is really a story I truly loved … She has a fan for life!” Mismatched Bookends

“It’s a fast-paced read with a topic that is current yet timeless.” Boca Frau Blog

“Enjoyable and engaging story full of great characters. Loved it a lot! Definitely a page turner.” Tranquil Dreams Blog

Amazon US           Amazon UK      Amazon Canada

Marionette is free March 25th and 26th.

At the age of seventeen, Paige Alexander had it all planned. She wrote a letter, sat in the bath, and slit her wrists. Her plan failed.

Her best friend, Alex, is dead.

Paige can’t get over her twin sister blaming her for a tragic event in their past.

Colorado is in the midst of voting on lesbian and gay rights and Paige is terrified to come out of the closet, fearful for her life.

Many people in Paige’s life are keeping secrets from her. Will she piece everything together before it’s too late?

In this gripping first-person narrative, a young college student grapples with more than first loves or coming of age.  In a world filled with homophobia, suicidal feelings, and a dysfunctional family, Paige cuts her wrists in an attempt to free herself from the crazy life that’s all she’s ever known.

Could there be new lessons in store for Paige?  With the help of her girlfriend, friends, and a compassionate therapist, can Paige find the safe space she needs to heal, grow, and cut her strings?

Praise for MARIONETTE:

“I highly recommend this book not only to young adult readers but to mature readers as well since many difficult topics are addressed.” — Lipstick Lesbian Reviews

“The ending was definitely shocking and unexpected.” — This Girl Reads A Lot Blog

“Marionette is something I will definitely be keeping on my Kindle and reading again.” —Angie

“The book has mystery, action, suspense, and sadness woven together to make it a good, fast paced novel. An interesting book with a lot of emotions and drama woven together.” — Reviewed by Mamta Madhavan for Readers’ Favorite

“I read Marionette in one sitting. Then I went back to read it again for this review and was just as delighted the second time.” — Reviewed by Jo Bryant for Blog Critics

Amazon US       Amazon UK     Amazon Canada

Have a great week everyone!

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Getting over a cold and two free books

  1. Hmmm, editing on cold meds. This should be interesting :). I can’t wait to read it!! I’m glad you’re starting to feel better and that you enjoyed Edinburgh. It’s such a wonderful city to explore. I think I should come over and we’ll both go back and climb Arthur’s Seat. Good idea?

  2. Hope both of you are well and back to normal soon. Good luck with your doube freebies!

  3. cheriereich says:

    I’m glad to hear you’re on the mend. I hope everyone in your family gets well soon!

  4. Hope you feel better soon! Two great books for free. People need to be rushing to get these. Good luck! 🙂

  5. Geoff W says:

    Ewwww hope you’re feeling better! Most everyone in Boston has been sick over the last few weeks because of our wacky weather.

  6. Chrys Fey says:

    I’m sorry you’ve been sick! I hope you are better and continue to get better. Free books? Of yours? Count me in! 😉

  7. Sorry you’ve been sick. Hope the trip was worth it. (It’s Edinburgh though – how could it not be worth it?)

  8. I hope you’re feeling better. I’m wishing you lots of sales on both of these titles.

  9. Nothing like a cold to push you into bed. Hope you’re much better now. Wow. editing while under the influence of cold medicine and you’re enjoying the work. You’ll have to give us the brand name.
    Good luck with your dual freebies. ❤ ❤ ❤

  10. How awesome that you got to spend some time in Edinburgh. That’s one place I’ve always wanted to visit, partly because my father was born there, but mostly because of the wonderful stories my grandmother used to tell me about it. Sorry you brought a nasty cold back home with you, though.

    Good luck with your next Amazon freebie deals. I’d order ’em… but I’ve already got ’em!

    • TBM says:

      I hope you get to visit Edinburgh. It’s such a charming and delightfully odd city. I loved all the little side streets and how I was either walking up a hill, down a hill, up a staircase or down a staircase. It would be hard to be a runner in that city. And all the pubs were fab.

      Thanks so much for your reviews!

  11. Oh, yikes, sorry about the cold! Those are never fun to deal with. Glad you’ve started feeling better, at the very least!

    And wow, how exciting about the free ebooks! Hope you manage to get lots of sales and overall exposure as a result!

  12. I’m sorry you are sick, but I have to say…novel six!!! You are a writing machine! Way to go.

  13. so sorry to hear you were sick! I am too, wicked sinus infection and an upset stomach…no fun at all! I miss being productive!

  14. lexacain says:

    So sorry you’ve been sick, but glad you’re on the mend, and I hope your partner recovers soon. I think cold medicine would help me enjoy editing more too! I’m so impressed you’re working on your 6th novel. Wow!! I guess I’d have a lot more too if I hadn’t trunked 2 finished novels (after query failure) and 2 half-finished novels I just lost faith in. I have trouble pushing a novel through to completion. I think I’ll be trying novellas after I finish the serial-killer-in-a-circus novel I’m in the middle of now. Good luck on your free promotions! I hope LOTS get downloaded!!

  15. Reblogged this on The life and photography of Mr Bunny Chow and commented:
    Great offers on these two great novels, I urge you to try her stuff, they’re great reading and when they’re free you can hardly complain if they don’t float your boat (which they will)

    Please have a look and write lovely reviews for her on Amazon Good Reads etc.

    I’m off to my homeland of Zimbabwe for a couple of weeks and will endeavour to share some pictures upon my return.

    TTFN

    Mr Bunny Chow

  16. Sherry Ellis says:

    Hope you feel better soon! Long lasting colds are definitely not fun!

  17. Sherri says:

    Oh I had a cold like that just after Christmas, they really kick your butt. Hope you are both on the mend now, it took me ages to get my energy back. All the best with your freebies! 🙂

  18. Kimberly says:

    Sounds like we got sick about the same time – I got the flu on Friday (although I didn’t realize it was the flu until that night) but I’m feeling better than the weekend now. I hope you are feeling much better too! And lol on the editing + cold medicine = enjoyment. hee hee 🙂

  19. Sorry to hear your Edinburgh visit resulted in sickness. Hope your cold gets better soon!

  20. T.F.Walsh says:

    Oh, I really hope you get better soon:) And wishing you lots of success with your free books. Shall spread the news on twitter:)

  21. Yay to free books! I’ll buy you’re books when they aren’t free to make sure you get $$$ for the purchase, though. And editing on cold meds? That’s the opposite of “write drunk, edit sober!”

  22. I hope you’re both getting better and that you get plenty of sales and reviews. I’m really enjoying A Woman Ignored now.

  23. I am glad you are feeling better and that the edits are going well. Sounds like you have a lot going on- even as you recover! Both of these books sound fascinating and so different from each other. Wishing you the best of luck!

  24. The Guat says:

    Duuuuuuuuuuude been wondering where you’ve been 🙂 Haven’t heard from you in a while was thinking you were off on some amazing vacation. Being sick sucks and sorry you took a while to get better. We’ve been fighting it here in since January and finally cleared it a couple of weeks ago. Dude. I was clearing out the CVS. Anyhow I hope you’re feeling better though, and glad you are keeping busy with work. And wow your 6th? Dude I’m such a slow reader, I can’t keep up, but no worries because I’ll get there. Every time you publish something, you’ll have a buddy here in California reading and giving you mad props. Proud that you’re living the life of a writer. Congrats my friend and let me know about any promos for your books.

Leave a Reply

