Writing Geeky Romance by Christine Rains

Two quick announcements before my wonderful guest, Christine Rains, takes over. First, today is the last day to download Claudia Must Die for FREE. The sale started on Friday and so far it’s been downloaded over 4,000 times.

Get your copy here: Amazon (US)        Amazon (UK)

Second, A Woman Ignored, the sequel to my first novel, A Woman Lost, was released today. This is my first sequel and so far sales have been good, which is very encouraging.

Check it out here: Amazon (US)  /   Amazon (UK)

And now for my fantastic guest. Christine and I have been blogging buddies for years and I’m a huge fan of her writing. She’s published many novellas, including her 13th Floor collection. She recently published her first story in the Dice and Debauchery trilogy. And here she is to tell us more about her take on Geeky Romance.
GeekDDtourbadge

WRITING GEEKY ROMANCE

By Christine Rains

It’s not often readers see nerdy heroes and heroines in romance stories. They’ll tell you it’s because romance is about fantasy. People want to read about beautiful women and hunky men.

I’d like to believe those people say that because writing geeky romance is more difficult and few are up to the challenge. Nerds have fantasies too. I’ve found erotic fanfiction for Neil deGrasse Tyson! Which I looked up all in the name of research. Yup.

Here are five tips to writing intelligent, fun, and sizzling geeky romance:

1) Follow the standard rules of romance: a sympathetic protagonist, the couple must be together for the majority of the story, strong conflict with a focus on emotions, and a happily ever after.

2) Geeks pay attention to details. Things that some people would gloss over are important to nerds.  Maybe he notices the freckles on her back and traces a constellation in them, or she spots the Elvish writing on the arms of his sexy glasses.

3) It’s not unusual for geeks to be more cautious entering a relationship, but when they fall for someone, their passion burns bright. There will be a lot of head vs. heart conflict.

4) Know what kind of geek you’re writing about. A role-player, a cosplayer, or a video game nerd? People think a lot about their prime interests. A gamer guy might compare real life to a video game and see winning over his love interest as a quest.

5) Geeks are curious and open-minded. They won’t judge people just based on looks, and they’re willing to try new things outside and inside the bedroom!

Who’s the geek of your fantasies?

Synopsis: 

LooseCorset_MSR

Loose Corset Christine Rains

Dice and Debauchery, Book 1

A weekend away at a convention is exactly what overworked student Morgan needs. Dressed as her character from her favorite online game, Morgan is braced—seriously, could her corset be tighter?—to meet the other players. As Lady Gyrfalcon, she’s ready for everything—except her intense attraction to Dean. A clandestine meeting in the hallway of the hotel and Morgan’s corset is looser but now she can’t breathe for entirely different reasons.

Utterly charmed, Morgan decides to roll the dice and indulge in a fantasy-worthy weekend of sexy roleplaying, scorching sex and life-altering orgasms. Still, through it all Morgan is too smart to believe the chemistry constantly stripping her of costumes and control can last more than the length of the convention. But if she wants to keep a relationship so intense she thought it only existed in fiction, she’s going to have to let go of her cool-headed logic and allow herself to fall far and fast for the perfect guy.

A Romantica® contemporary erotic romance from Ellora’s Cave

My Review:

The first word that popped into my head when sitting to review this book was fun. The second was humorous. And of course, sexy. LOOSE CORSET is a wonderful, quick, and quirky read that will have many laughing out loud at all the geeky jokes. The sex scenes are deliciously hot and steamy. And somehow, in such a short amount of time, Rains was able to craft an enjoyable and solid story, with real characters. I’m looking forward to the next in the series.

About the author:

Christine Rains is a writer, blogger, and geek mom. She’s married to her best friend and fellow geek living in south-central Indiana. They have one son who is too smart for his parents’ own good and loves to pretend he’s Batman. Christine has four degrees which help nothing with motherhood, but make her a great Jeopardy player. When she’s not reading or writing, she’s going on adventures with her son or watching cheesy movies on Syfy Channel. She’s a member of Untethered Realms and S.C.I.F.I. (South Central Indiana Fiction Interface). She has several short stories and novellas published. The Dice & Debauchery series is her first contemporary erotic romance.

Please visit her website ( http://christinerains.net ) and blog ( http://christinerains-writer.blogspot.com )

You can also find Christine on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, and Goodreads.

Before you go, don’t forget to click here to enter Christine’s  Rafflecopter giveaway

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Guest Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Writing Geeky Romance by Christine Rains

  1. That’s great news on Claudia. Will that push you significantly up the rankings? And hope A woman goes well too.

    Loose corset does sound fun. I like the cover.

  2. Thanks for the tips on adding the geek element to romance, Christine. I think it makes a romance so much more interesting. Congrats on your book!

  3. Yahooo!!!! Happy Release Day :). Loose Corset sounds fun and hot!

  4. Thanks so much for hosting me today, TB!

  5. Beth Ann says:

    Congrats on the great news! All of it. I am about halfway through A Woman Ignored and apologize that I have not finished it or written a review. Apparently I am a slacker these days. I will finish it hopefully today and write a review. Love it, of course. You are amazing. And how fun to meet Christine! Loose Corset sounds fun! Hopping over to “meet” Christine now! Thanks for sharing.

  6. My wife is the geek of fantasies.
    Geeks are often focused on scoring points as well.

  7. 4,000 times. That’s amazing!!! Congratulations!

    Watch lots of Big Bang Theory! That’ll give a writer an idea for what “geeks” are into. But outside of high school, we’re all geeks about something, right? Geeks just are smart people who are passionate about something.

  8. Shelley Sly says:

    Those are all great points! I especially recommend #4. I’m mostly a video game geek (but also into some sci-fi and I’m a former cosplayer), and people tend to assume I’m into other things like comics or board games when I’m not. Know your geek! 🙂

  9. Lots and lots of success to you all round.
    I don’t read romance but this sounds interesting… o_O

  10. M.J. Fifield says:

    “I’ve found erotic fanfiction for Neil deGrasse Tyson! Which I looked up all in the name of research. Yup.”

    Ah. the things we do for our stories. 🙂

  11. In my current scifi romance, my heroine is a geek and really doesn’t want to fall for the soldier. I love writing geeks.

  12. ~Sia McKye~ says:

    I liked your thoughts, Christine, on a geeks view of love and things they would compare their lover to. Would solidify the character without “telling” the reader all about it.

    I think the first story I ever read about a geek in love, was Trust Me, Jane Ann Krentz. Hero was a geek and very into fractals and fractal art and other computer stuff. It made me laugh but I liked the intensity of his feelings and how he channelled it.
    Wishing you the best on this!

    TB–hope this experiment works out well for you. Like the title. 🙂

    Sia McKye Over Coffee

  13. cleemckenzie says:

    Excellent geek tips. Will keep them in mind. Great news about the downloads. I contributed to the number!

  14. Thank you for offering Claudia Must Die for free. I just picked up a copy. Congrats on your new release! I added it to my wish list. I still need to read the first one.
    Christine has some very good tips and I like the book’s cover. 🙂

  15. Nerds do pay more attention to details. How very clever (and nerdy) of you to notice. I always tell my hubs that nerd girls make the best lovers- because nerd girls will read the manuals.

  16. Southpaw says:

    It’s important to distinguish between geeks and nerds too. They are so similar but they see the world differently, and they interact with it differently as well. I guess this show which side I fall into! LOL

  17. T.F.Walsh says:

    Awesome post… and can’t agree more on writing geeky romance. Loved your review of Loose Corset.

  18. Congrats on all the downloads! And the sales of your sequel. Love your guest author’s cover very intriguing.

  19. Sherry Ellis says:

    That’s an awesome number of downloads! Congratulations! Geeky romance is probably a lot of fun to write.

  20. I got my copy of Claudia! Can’t wait to start it! Awesome news about all the downloads. Best of luck with your latest release too! 🙂

    Writing a geeky romance does sound like it would have some unique challenges. Once Christine mentioned it- I realized I had never read a geeky romance before. Seems unique and interesting! 🙂

  21. Gina says:

    This sounds so interesting! I’ll definitely check it out.

Leave a Reply

