The Year in Review and Medeia Sharif’s Latest Release

I can’t believe 2014 is coming to a close. For me, it was a tumultuous year and I’m not all that sorry to see it go. However, it wasn’t all bad and I’m the type who tries to focus on the positive. Here are some of my successes.

  • I released two books: Confessions From A Coffee Shop and Claudia Must Die.
  • My 99 cent sales were quite successful.
  • Just yesterday, A Woman Lost was listed on Bookbub and as of writing, the novel is number one in the Lesbian Romance genre.
  • Claudia Must Die, released on December 8th, already has ten reviews on Amazon. Thank you to all the reviewers!
  • The sequel to my first novel, A Woman Lost, is with the proofreader and I hope to release it early in 2015.
  • And through all the good and bad, I continued writing.

Many of you know I set a goal of writing 20000 words this month. As of now, I need to hammer out 8500 words to meet the goal. Fingers crossed!

The next couple of weeks I hope to outline my goals for 2015. Usually I don’t share these goals on my blog, but I just might. Ever since I started to announce my word count goals on the blog, I have noticed a stronger commitment to meet them. And it’s fun and encouraging to have cheerleaders on the sidelines. All of you are amazing and so extremely supportive. Thank you!

Before I go, I want to share a new release from the fabulous Medeia Sharif. I already have my copy and can’t wait to read it during my holiday break.
vitaminsanddeath medium

VITAMINS AND DEATH by Medeia Sharif

YA Contemporary, Prizm Books

Release Date December 10, 2014

Synopsis:

Deidra Battle wants nothing more than to be invisible. After her mother, a public school teacher, engages in an embarrassing teacher-student affair at Lincoln High, they relocate to a different neighborhood and school. Being her mother’s briefcase, Deidra joins her mother at her new workplace, Hodge High. Since her mother has reverted to her maiden name and changed her appearance, she thinks no one will figure out they’re the Battles from recent news and that they’re safe. Neither of them is. Hodge brings a fresh set of bullies who discover details about the scandal that changed Deidra’s life. Feeling trapped at home with an emotionally abusive, pill-addicted mother and at school with hostile classmates who attempt to assault and blackmail her, Deidra yearns for freedom, even if she has to act out of character and hurt others in the process. Freedom comes at a price.

Find Medeia, Multi-published YA and MG Author

Blog   |   Instagram   |   Twitter   |   Goodreads 

Before you go!

Don’t forget to visit the Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to The Year in Review and Medeia Sharif’s Latest Release

  1. I think you have had an amazing year my friend, and I can’t wait to read what comes next. Keep writing because you have the gift for sure :).

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Can’t wait for the sequel to A Woman Lost! My goodness you have had a busy year. I can’t believe all that you have done in such a short time. May 2015 be even more successful for you! Merry Christmas!

  3. Colline says:

    You have done really well this year TB. Just to let you know, I posted a review of Claudia on my blog today. I will post it on Amazon this weekend.

  4. Sherri says:

    It’s great to read of your many wonderful accomplishments this year TB, well done! I also want to thank you for all the support you’ve given me, and continue to give me, in my writing. As I said before, I can’t wait to read Claudia. Meanwhile, I wish you a very Happy Christmas and New Year and here’s to keeping on keeping on. Cheers 😀

  5. Congratulations on your book sale this month, the publication of your new one soon and your word count. You’re really cooking you know. Awesome!

  6. Chrys Fey says:

    Congratulations on your reviews!!! And yay for your number one listing for A Woman Lost! Best of luck with the sequel!

  7. You are doing great! Getting those reviews on Amazon are tough.
    You’re over halfway to your goal – you can do it.

  8. cheriereich says:

    I’m not sad to see 2014 leave either, but you did accomplish quite a bit. Good luck with your 2015 goals! And congrats to Medeia! Vitamins and Death is such an emotional read. I finished it yesterday.

  9. Nicola says:

    Fantastic accomplishments, many congratulations. Wishing you continued success throughout the new year. All the best!!

  10. Thank you for sharing V&D. 🙂

    You’ve had a wonderful year. I can’t wait to read the sequel. Your characters are outstanding and seem so real.

  11. You’ve had a great year! Here’s to a fabulous 2015 for all of us. 🙂 I find sharing goals is helpful too. Yay for Medeia!

    • TBM says:

      I’m hoping sharing my goals will make me more accountable. I just need to rein in my desire to list too much. It’s good to aim high, but a reasonable high.

  12. lexacain says:

    You got your book onto BookBub? Holy cow, that’s awesome! That’s the only marketing technique I’ve heard that works, but it’s too expensive for me. (Actually anything’s too expensive since I can’t have PayPal in Egypt…) I’m thrilled that you got in it and that your sale did well. And go you on the great word-count this month. Yay!!

    • TBM says:

      Luckily the LGBT category isn’t as expensive as some on Book Bub and each time I’ve used it, I’ve made the money back and more. That’s a shame about PayPal there. I hadn’t thought some authors would have that obstacle.

  13. Jay says:

    Good for you! Posting goals on the blog is a good way to keep yourself accountable,b ut it sounds like, given all you’ve accomplished, you’re pretty good at motivating yourself already.

    • TBM says:

      Thanks for that Jay. Sometimes I do worry I’m not doing enough, but making this list did help me realize I’m not a slacker. I do think I’ll still post my goals.

  14. Okay, knock it off. You trying to make the rest of us look bad?

    Just kidding, but you really have had a productive year, haven’t you? Good for you. You’re right; it’s hard to believe another year is winding down. Here’s to wishing you all the best in the new one!

  15. Yay on the Bookbub. It’s hard to get in there. Wishing you a successful 2015!

  16. Nick Wilford says:

    You’ve definitely had a productive year. Congrats on all your successes and I’m sure you’ll go from strength to strength in 2015!

  17. stephie5741 says:

    What a great year! I know you’ll have an even more exciting 2015.

  18. Congratulations on making it through another year! The best thing to hear was that despite everything you continued writing. I hope you’ll meet your word deadline and (even if you don’t) I know that next year will be filled with the magic of words for you. 🙂

  19. I can’t believe 2014 is almost gone, either. Congrats on everything you managed to accomplish this past year! I wish I had been that productive, heh. Best of luck churning out the 8500 words you need to meet this month’s writing goal!

  20. You have accomplished so much in 2014. Let’s to hoping 2015 will be just as good.

  21. So well done to you on your writing achievements, TBM. Wishing you a successful year ahead with your new publication. Looking forward to reading the sequel. 🙂 Merry Christmas to you and yours. xx

  22. Sherry Ellis says:

    You’ve had an amazing year! Good luck reaching your goals.

  23. Patsy says:

    Good luck with this month’s goal.

  24. It is always amazing to stop and reflect on the good things that happened to us each year. You had so many positive things happen. How wonderful that your 99 cent sales went so well and that you are getting so many reviews. Wishing you the best of luck in meeting your word count goal this month. I am going to be thinking about my writing goals for 2015 next week. 🙂

    • TBM says:

      Thanks so much. I wasn’t going to make this list, but then I thought what the heck since I realized how much I accomplished. Good luck with your goals list. Can’t wait to read it. Happy holidays!

  25. Grace says:

    You’ve had such a productive year! Congrats! 🙂

Leave a Reply

