IWSG News and Releasing a New Book is Never Easy

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

I can’t believe it’s December already and the last first Wednesday of the year. The Insecure Writer’s Support Group (IWSG) is the brilliant idea of Alex J. Cavanaugh. The purpose of the group is to share doubts and insecurities and to encourage one another. Please visit the other participants and share your support. This month’s  co-hosts are Heather Gardner, T. Drecker from Kidbits, Eva E. Solar at Lilicasplace, and Patsy Collins. Remember, sometimes all it takes is one kind word to boost someone’s confidence.

Before I get to my thoughts this week I want to share the fantastic IWSG news. The Insecure Writer’s Support Group Guide to Publishing and Beyond is now available! Woot!

Insecure_Cover
Tapping into the expertise of over a hundred talented authors from around the globe, The IWSG Guide to Publishing and Beyond contains something for every writer. Whether you are starting out and need tips on the craft of writing, looking for encouragement as an already established author, taking the plunge into self-publishing, or seeking innovative ways to market and promote your work, this guide is a useful tool. Compiled into three key areas of writing, publishing, and marketing, this valuable resource offers inspirational articles, helpful anecdotes, and excellent advice on dos and don’ts that we all wish we knew when we first started out on this writing journey.

ISBN 9781939844088
235 pages, FREE
IWSG sites – website, Facebook, and Facebook Critique Circle
Find the book at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Kobo, Smashwords,Goodreads.

Congrats to all who contributed to the book.

I want to thank all of you who cheered me on last month. I set a goal of writing 25,000 words. It looked like I was going to fall short, but with all of your help, I was able to push through during the final week. I completed 20,652 for a novel I’m working on and an additional 4,500 words on another project. My goal this month is 20,000 words. This might be difficult considering how busy this month will be with the holidays, but hey, I might as well try. So far I’ve written over 3,000 words.

claudia_kindleThis is an exciting month for me. On December 8th I’m releasing my fourth book, Claudia Must Die. The e-book is available now for pre-order on Amazon for the sale price of $0.99. You can add it to your Goodreads to read shelf here.

The week before I launch a book is always an emotional rollercoaster. I’m excited, nervous, scared, happy, tentative, relieved, and sometimes I feel like puking. I can run through all of these emotions within a few seconds.

I used to think with time releasing a book would get easier, but it really doesn’t. Each book launch is emotionally draining. Yet I wouldn’t have it any other way. It’s all part of the experience and if I didn’t feel anything I would be worried about my dedication to writing and publishing.

Next week I plan to share some of the ideas that spurred me to write Claudia Must Die. Have a wonderful week everyone!

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in IWSG and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to IWSG News and Releasing a New Book is Never Easy

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Can’t wait to share on my blog!!! I need to get this scheduled today—will let you know when I get it in place. I loved it and it was so different from your other books!!! You are so talented and each book is such a well written and entertaining read. Love, love. love that I get to be on this ride with you.

  2. Colline says:

    I am loving your latest book TB! I would be interested in knowing what caused you to write it.

  3. Glynis Jolly says:

    Even the title, Claudia Must Die, is enticing. You sound so upbeat. That’s wonderful. Keep on truckin’.

  4. Claudia Must Die is awesome!!! The fact that you get nervous about each launch is the sign of a great author in my opinion :).

  5. Megan Morgan says:

    Congratulations all around!

  6. Sherry Ellis says:

    That’s great the IWSG book is available! But it said it was 99 cents on Amazon.

  7. I have Claudia on order. 🙂

  8. Congrats on all fronts! What a great way to head into the end of a year.

  9. Congratulations on your upcoming release! It sounds like a page turner…just pre-ordered! Well, you might feel nervous, but you handle your releases like a pro…kudos to you!

  10. Very awesome! I’ll be sure to promote it for you next Monday.

  11. lexacain says:

    Congrats on reaching 25k!! I’ve put your book on my GR want-to-read list. It sounds very exciting! 🙂

  12. Kimberly says:

    I love the premise of your newest book! The title and cover are awesome! Congrats on your latest release.

  13. emaginette says:

    I hope your book release goes well. 🙂

    Anna from Shout with Emaginette

  14. It is never easy. I wish you great sales and many reviews. It’s a wonderful read.

  15. Congrats on your new book and for completing you nano goals. Well done!
    Nice of you to stop by!

  16. The IWSG book looks chock full of info. Like Sherry Ellis sad, it was priced on Amazon (77p in UK) but free on all the others that you gave links for.

    Best of luck with Claudia. It’s a cracking read and well worth you straying out of your comfort zone. Looking forward to you tackling not just more of this type of novel, but also other genres. Maybe even that historical one … ?

    • TBM says:

      I had the same issue with the IWSG book. I’m not sure what the issue is, but I’m sure Alex is looking into it.

      Historical fiction … that might be doable 🙂

  17. Sherri says:

    You’re doing great TB, have Claudia on pre-order and thanks for the heads up about the IWSG book. Keep going 🙂

    • TBM says:

      Thanks Sherri! I would love to hear your thoughts. I hope all is well and my thoughts are with you.

      • Sherri says:

        Thanks so much TB, so kind of you…things are going pretty well, dare I say…and yes, I will definitely let you know but I’m sure your book is a fab read, can’t wait to get to it. Have a great weekend 🙂

  18. Cynthia says:

    Congratulations for meeting your goal of words written!

  19. Julie K Pick says:

    Congrats on your new book, and for reaching your NaNo goals! You have much to celebrate this year!

  20. Make a deal with you, TB. I need to have the rough draft done by Christmas Eve, so another three chapters plus some fine tuning. That’s around 20k words.

    You don’t give up, I won’t give up. The winners (or “us”) will have to eat a pie in honor of our struggles.

  21. You’ll make it through the week, for sure! It is a stressful time. My book release is the week after New Year’s Eve, so at least I’ll be distracted with other things!

  22. I have heard great things about Claudia Must Die! I can’t wait to read it. 🙂 I can totally understand how each book release doesn’t get easier. When we release our book we are putting ourselves out there and that is always a little scary. Wishing you the best of luck and awesome job with NaNo!

    • TBM says:

      I try to explain how vulnerable I feel when I release a book, but it’s hard to put in words. I usually say it’s like exposing yourself completely to the public, like walking out the front door completely naked.

  23. Congratulations on the upcoming release. That’s so exciting.

  24. I pre-ordered your book, and am anxiously waiting its arrival. Woo-HOO! I gave it a little pre-release publicity in my blog post yesterday, too. I wish you much success with it. Take a deep breath and relax. It’s gonna be great.

    Happy weekend!

  25. Cannot wait to see what new books come out of you in 2015 TB! I am in awe of your energy and determination!

Leave a Reply

