IWSG and the Fabulous Perrin Pring

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

It’s the first Wednesday of the month and that means it’s time for another installment of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group (IWSG) started by Alex J. Cavanaugh. For those who don’t remember, the purpose of this group is for members to share their fears and to offer encouragement to those who are struggling. It’s a wonderful group of people who understand what it’s like to be an author. Click here to join.

I know many of you are participating in NaNoWriMo and I wish all of you the best. It always seems I’m embroiled in too many projects this time of year to participate. However, I hate being left out. So I’m joining in somewhat. I have started a new project this month and my goal is to write 25,000-30,000 words. I’ve been struggling a bit with my word count lately and I’m hoping my semi-participation in NaNo will help ease me out of my slump and get me back to where I want to be. I work best with deadlines and so I’ve set a firm deadline with my editor. Fear is a great motivator, for me at least.

And now I would like to welcome my guest today. This is Perrin’s second time visiting and it’s always a pleasure to host this wonderful author. Just in case you missed the first guest post you can check it out here. Below there is a link to enter her giveaway.

Hi, I’m Perrin Pring, author of the Ryo Myths. T.B. was nice enough to let me visit her blog to talk about my newly released book, Tomorrow is Too Late, book II of the Ryo Myths. I thought I’d start by giving a little background to the Ryo Myths.

final cover front

The Ryo Myths is a science fiction/fantasy trilogy centered around one character, Ryo, who supposedly has the right stuff to save her universe. Ryo has all of the powers of the gods who created her, but such power comes at a price. She has no guidance on how to use that power and is going crazy because of it.

While insanity due to godly powers would be difficult enough to deal with on its own, Ryo’s problems are compounded by a ticking clock. She’s only got so much time to figure herself out before an evil sect of gods enslave the entire universe.

Ryo is not alone in her fight though. Thanks to divine intervention, Filion, a Dream Searcher teams up with Captain Eri, the pilot of a somewhat legal smuggling ship, and together they will do anything they can to keep Ryo alive until she can save them.

Tomorrow is Too Late picks up where the first book of the Ryo Myths, Appointment at the Edge of Forever, left off. Captain Eri and her crew face new challenges, Ryo is forced to battle her inner demons, and the gods enslaving the universe are mobilizing for the ultimate end game.

Check both Appointment at the Edge of Forever and Tomorrow is Too Late on Amazon.com or Barnesandnoble.com

Before I go, I’d like to say, that while the Ryo Myths fall into the realm of science fiction and fantasy, one of the most frequent comments I get about my books is that people who didn’t think they liked science fiction liked my books. For this reason, I’ve started classifying the Ryo Myths as adventure as well. One of my big inspirations for the books was the idea of taking a very diverse group of people and putting them into an environment where they couldn’t escape from each other, i.e. taking conflicting personalities and dropping them on a spaceship in space. While yes, there are spaceships and alien races in the Ryo Myths, I’m don’t go into the nitty gritty theoretical physics of why the spaceships can travel at hyperspeed or just how a planet was made hospitable for human life. What I’m interested in are the character’s relationships with each other. These characters just happen to be of a wide variety of races in the far flung corners of space.

I’d also like to share that these books are written for anyone who can read them. The swearing in the books is mild, i.e. bloody, hell, or my favorite, grawlix. (A grawlix is the chain of characters you see in a comic strip when someone is cursing, “What the #*$@!”). Some of the characters do fall in love, but there is no sex. I’ve had grandparents buy the books for their tweenagers, and recently a precocious fourth grader bought one from me. That’s not to say the themes of the Ryo Myths are childish though. I’d say that if you like Star Wars or Star Trek or Firefly, you’d probably be interested in the Ryo Myths.

I appreciate you hosting me, T.B! I hope all of you reading this will check out my books.

Perrin Pring

Perrin Pring

Visit me at:

www.perrinpring.com, Facebook, G+, Goodreads, Twitter, and Instagram.

Buy my books at:

Amazon.com or Barnesandnoble.com

Thanks so much Perrin! Click here to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway
.

 

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Guest Posts, IWSG and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to IWSG and the Fabulous Perrin Pring

  1. These sound really interesting! I will have to check them out.

  2. Love Perrin’s Cover!!! Good luck with NaNo, I could never write fast enough.

  3. I met the NaNo challenge twice in years past…that was enough for me. Thanks for introducing us to Perrin! That must make her feel good to hear people say they usually didn’t think they liked science fiction but they liked her books.

  4. cheriereich says:

    Congrats to Perrin!

    Good luck with your semi-NaNo, TB! I participated in NaNo for five years, but I’m having to pass on it this year. I miss it.

  5. stephie5741 says:

    Congratulations, Perrin! I haven’t participated in NaNoWriMo for several years, but it was very motivating when I did it!

  6. I did the Nano thing a few years ago. I know someone else looking at a partial Nano and I think that is a neat way of using the challenge to meet your own needs, instead of writing fifty thou words of what could be sheer drivel. For Namo, 1666 words a day ain’t that difficult so if you are looking at 800–1000 it should be doable,

    • TBM says:

      And not aiming for 50000 gives me more wiggle room to enjoy life. My partner works long hours and so on the weekends, I don’t like to work so we can spend time together.

  7. Good luck with your sorta-NaNo. I have total respect for anyone who participates in any way, shape or form. Happy writing!

  8. Congrats to Perrin Pring on her book release! Sounds like a great read. Best of luck with your NaNo goals!

  9. I need deadlines as well! Hope that word count goal motivates you.
    Perrin, people who don’t like science fiction have liked my books as well. The ‘adventure’ category helps.

  10. T.F.Walsh says:

    What a cool sounding book… congrats Perrin…:) Wishing you lots of sales.

  11. I considered using this month’s Nano mania as an incentive to spur myself to up my word count, too, but so far, I’ve been ignoring myself. Maybe I’ll start … tomorrow…?

    Perrin’s books sound super. I especially like sci-fi books that are heavy on characterizations, adventures, and relationships. They appeal to a much wider audience.

    • TBM says:

      Go for it. My thinking is at least I’m getting some words on the page even if I miss the actual goal. Progress. I like making progress, no matter the speed. I wish you the best of luck.

      Yes, I like stories that have many layers and Perrin does a great job.

  12. dolorah says:

    I hope you succeed on your mini NaNo TB. I’m not participating, but I’m hoping to do a lot of writing this month.

    Congrats on story release Perrin.

  13. Good luck with mini-NaNo, TB — that’s what many of my students are doing. Somebody gives them too much homework to participate at the 50K level. I’ll have to check out Pring’s work.

  14. Congrats to Perrin! Your book sounds like a great speculative fiction tale. And good luck this month, TB! I need to get into the writing groove before the American Thanksgiving hits. 🙂

  15. I’m pleased to meet Perrin. Congrats to her.

    I had two goals this month and I’m getting sidetracked because of a book’s release. I do hope to be writing some more later this month.

    Good luck on your goal.

  16. My schedule is never right for NaNo either. I am drafting a novel this month but not 50k. 🙂

Leave a Reply

