Exciting News About My Next Novel

In today’s publishing world things change quickly. Some of the changes are good. Some worry me. And some of it is super exciting. The ability to pre-order books on Amazon used to be reserved for traditionally published books. That’s no longer the case. Amazon is now allowing self-published authors to list their books on the site for pre-orders. Woooohoooo!

Why is this so exciting? It helps increase exposure before a book’s release date. An author can now promote the book much earlier including on Goodreads. Another wonderful aspect is that pre-orders contribute toward sales rank before the actual release date. This helps a book’s visibility.  In order for readers to buy a book they have to know about it first.

There are some rules. You can create a pre-order page up to 90 days in advance of the book’s release. When you create the page, you have to upload an e-book file. This doesn’t need to be the final version of the e-book and customers won’t be able to preview the book before the release date. However, if you fail to upload the finished product ten days before the release date Amazon will ban you from the pre-order option for a year. It sounds harsh, but I also understand why they have to do this.

When I heard about this option I just released my novel Confessions From A Coffee Shop and I was bummed I missed out on this opportunity. But the news did light a fire under me and I worked overtime to get my next book ready to list it as a pre-order.

A couple of days ago, Claudia Must Die, went live on Amazon and it can now be pre-ordered. Also, I was able to list it on Goodreads, where people can add it to their TBR and can leave advance reviews. This is very exciting for me and I really hope other self-published authors take advantage of the pre-order option on Amazon.

To celebrate the good news I’ve listed Claudia Must Die for $0.99. After it’s released on December 8th the price will go up to $2.99.

claudia_kindle

Here’s the blurb:

Claudia doesn’t feel like herself anymore—she feels like prey. Her husband’s hired goons have stalked her all the way to Boston and will only stop their pursuit once she is dead.

Divorce is not an option. Instead, she has stolen a bunch of her man’s money to disappear into another life.

In order for Claudia to live, someone else must die. A lookalike college student becomes the target capable of freeing her from an awful marriage.

The plan goes horribly awry. Instead of murdering Claudia’s double, the assassins shoot the woman’s lover who is the cousin of a powerful Irish mobster. Claudia becomes hunted by all involved. Can she survive? Should she?

Pre-order you copy today:

Amazon (US)   /   Amazon (UK)

I’ll do my best to keep all of you updated on how this works out. One thing I’ve learned over the past few years is that it’s best to try new things and to take advantage of opportunities.

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Exciting News About My Next Novel

  1. Sherri says:

    Done, pre-ordered 🙂 Oh I love my new Kindle, now I get to pre-order and read your wonderful books. Woo Hoo! Can’t wait and thanks for this heads-up. I’m soaking it all up for when I get there 😉

    • TBM says:

      Thanks so much Sherri! And I want to do a better job on this blog to make announcements like this to help other authors. There’s so much to learn and I want to do my part to help others. And I can’t wait to pre-order your book!

  2. I’m so excited for you and the next novel. Wow. You are really productive! Soon we’ll be saying, we knew you when!!

  3. Holy cow, I’d better get moving and write my review. I loved Claudia, so hopefully my review will help with sales too :).

  4. Beth Ann says:

    Woo hoo!! I hope to get to this task this weekend—a most enjoyable one at that. I have a few things to settle down before I can devote the block of time I want to devote to it so until then……Can.Not.Wait. You are such a great writer and I am thrilled to be a baby part of your journey!!! Write on, TBM!!!!!!!

    • TBM says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I hope you enjoy it and I hope you get everything done. I know how busy you have been so it means so much that you take the time out of your schedule to read and review.

  5. I sneaked a peak at Claudia, but I daren’t start reading it yet 😦 I’ll do my best though to get you a timely review.

    Informative posts are good. There’s so much to learn about self-publishing and it’s great to have people who are willing to share their expertise, experience and knowledge.

    And very best wishes for Claudia 🙂

    • TBM says:

      I find so many blogs very helpful and if I can help spread some knowledge it’s my way of paying it forward. I’ve found that bloggers and authors are so incredibly helpful and it’s an honor to be among such a great group of people.

  6. Woohoooooooooooo.. What a fantastic idea. DONE and done! 😎

  7. cheriereich says:

    I do love the pre-order function. I like the added time of exposure, but most of all, I like having purchase links before the book officially releases. It also makes release time a bit more relaxing because you know the book is already up there. It’s a planner’s dream. 🙂

    Your upcoming release sounds fantastic! Congrats!

    • TBM says:

      It is a relief to know the date and to know it’s all set. And having the purchase links is incredibly helpful. I’m pretty excited to read your book, Reborn! Looks exciting!

  8. Thanks for the heads up, TBM! I’m pre-ordering my copy. I didn’t realize Amazon did this on self-published books…good for them. Congratulations! It’s such an exciting time for you!

  9. Vishy says:

    This is so wonderful, TBM! Congratulations on your new book! It is so wonderful that it is available on pre-order in Amazon. I love the theme of your new book. It is so wonderful that you are experimenting with every book you write – each of them belongs to a different genre and covers very different themes. And you are a novel writing machine! So prolific! I am so proud of you and admire you so much!

    • TBM says:

      I always love your enthusiasm, Vishy. Every time I read one of your comments I always have a smile on my face. Thanks so much for your kind words and encouragement.

  10. That’s cool pre-orders will add to the book’s total the day it’s released! That will get you a lot more visibility.

  11. Awesome! Pre-orders worked very well for the UR anthology I have a story in. Hopefully I can take advantage of the pre-order next year.

  12. Congratulations. How do you manage to write so much?

    • TBM says:

      Maybe I should write a blog post on this topic. The short answer is when my partner’s company moved us to London in 2011, we decided I would write full time while we lived here. And I had some drafts of stories that I was able to turn into novels.

  13. This sounds wonderful and I look forward to reading it.

    Pre-ordering is a wonderful feature. I’ve been able to pre-order more small-pub and self-pubbed books lately.

    • TBM says:

      I’m loving the feature as a reader. I always hear about upcoming releases, but on occasion I would forget about them since I read so many blogs a day. Now I can pre-order them and they magically appear on my Kindle. In my opinion it’s a win for authors and readers.

  14. Great idea!!! I think that will encourage lots of pre-orders. I’m so glad Amazon decided to do that. I often buy books before they come out, while I’m thinking about it, and they just magically appear on my Kindle when they come out. That way I don’t forget about them!

  15. You are a writing machine! Congratulations on your new book! And thanks for the Amazon tip.

    • TBM says:

      Are you working on a new project? I hope so. I really enjoyed your book and I love visiting your blog.

      • Aw, thank you so much TB! I am indeed working on a new book project. 🙂 It is turning into something of an unwieldy toddler, but I slog away. Thanks so much for reviewing my previous book. Looking forward to reading yours soon!

  16. Yay! I’ve added this to my Goodreads shelf and can’t wait to read it. Sounds like such an excellent read. I hope the pre-order helps you get tons more sales. 🙂

    • TBM says:

      Thanks so much for the support! I’m pretty excited that I was able to get a copy of your latest release. It sounds scary! Perfect for this weekend.

  17. Cher Green says:

    Exciting news. Congrats.

  18. CONGRATULATIONS, TBM!!! Much success!! HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!

  19. I look forward to reading it, TB!

  20. The Guat says:

    Duuuuuuuuuuude that sounds awesome! I’m so proud of you and glad that Amazon is making things easier in order for you to be more successful. 🙂 Can’t wait to pick it up and be a stop on your book blogging tour 🙂 Let me know if you’re gonna be doing one, happy to help you out any way I can.

  21. pattisj says:

    Sounds like a great plot. Congrats on your new book!

  22. Pingback: M PAX STOPPED BY TO DISCUSS HOW SHE COMES UP WITH HER STORIES | Making My Mark

Leave a Reply

