Why I Write Books By: Sandra Lee Dennis

LMB banner

Today I’m happy to hand over the reins to Sandra Lee Dennis to answer a question that most authors are asked: Why do you write?

I have written two psychological/ spiritual books now, one published by a traditional publisher and one self-published with a small local press. When I began writing, I did not expect either of these writing projects to turn into books.  Rather, in both cases, writing came as an inner imperative, a need to put into words experiences that were bubbling up from my depths.

It was as if someone inside me wanted my attention and was, at first, gently knocking, gradually getting louder and louder, and finally pounding on the door of my awareness to be let out into the world.  The result is that I was compelled to sit down and write. This prompting feels like an instinctual force, much like eating or visiting the bathroom when nature calls.

I have been most moved to write in this way when I have been most distressed. The act of translating the disturbance or pain into words is simply something I must do. I almost said writing was a way to heal, but it was more like bringing to birth. There comes such a sense of discomfort and pregnant fullness—as in the ninth month when the growing weight and pressure of the child makes you desperate to deliver!  “At term”, you have no choice, you must sit down and birth the images, conversations, feelings, ideas onto the page.

Unfortunately for me, the writing does not flow out in complete organized sentences or paragraphs.  The material often comes as a raw and chaotic bundle of phrases or images—little deformed, curious creatures, often with characteristics of beauty and depth (a line here, a paragraph there), but needing a lot of help before they are presentable to anyone else.

I have never considered myself to be a writer, rather I have always had an avid interest in inner realities.  I have more been a teacher, a researcher and explorer of the stuff of inner life— a “phenomenologist,” some people would say.

After my first book was published, I swore I would never write another.  The process of putting a nonfiction book together that arises from your depths is an arduous labor.  But as time went on I had the idea that maybe I “should” write another book.  I was in a relatively calm and happy period, and decided I would write about “happiness” since that was what I was experiencing at the time.

I did a lot of reading and research while I was practicing “happiness” each day. In the spirit of The Law of Attraction, I focusing on the positive, visualized love and joy, repeated affirmations, expressed gratitude, almost like a religion.  I kept this up for more than three years.  I organized myself to write each day, and amassed fifty pages or so, but I just could not get into it.

At the apex of all this happiness, my long-time partner abruptly left me a few weeks before a big wedding we had planned.  The shock/trauma took me down into the worst suffering of my life.

The more the pain intensified (and it got worse not better as time went on) I felt compelled to write.  Sitting at my desk, the voice of a wise, warrior woman translated the disbelief, outrage, hurt and grief into words and soothed, comforted and guided me.  Within a few months I had poured out 200 pages.  After some time, it occurred to me that I had a responsibility to share what I had learned with others. But I immediately thought, oh, no, that means another book.

Six revisions and four years later I ended up with “Love and the Mystery of Betrayal”. In the process it ballooned to 600 pages, but I finally winnowed it down to 275.  The book went from nearly all dialogue and imaginable journeying to a lot of narrative and analysis. While, the final product looks almost nothing like the original manuscript, I believe I still have captured some of the energy and insight that compelled me to write.

The book sheds light on the terrible results of deception and betrayal: the existential shock and spiritual crisis it sets in motion. The exercise of trying to make this descent into the madness and mystery of a heart and soul broken by abandonment and betrayal accessible to others was a labor of love. I was partly motivated to persevere in the writing because I found so little to validate what I was going through when I most needed it.

As Emily Dickinson said, “If I can save one heart from breaking…If I can ease one life the aching/ or cool one pain… I shall not live in vain.”  I wish for this book to find its way into the hands of those who are trying to come to terms with the shocking reality of cruelty and evil in their world.  I do not know why I write, but I have learned by writing from my heart that when we brave our way into the muck of utter darkness, we are led, as if by miracle, to discover the pearl of living love.

LMB_Cover

Love and the Mystery of Betrayal

By Sandra Lee Dennis

Genre: Nonfiction, Psycho/spiritual; relationship

Published by: West County Press

 

Synopsis:

What is it like to recover from betrayal of trust today in a culture that is blind to the trauma and impatient with grief? When her long-time partner suddenly left her shortly before their wedding, the author found nothing had prepared her for the depth and duration of the pain. Despite having lived through her husband’s death years earlier, she was stunned by the intensity of the suffering and could not understand why this shock hit so hard. Her loss of faith in this one person precipitated an existential and spiritual crisis that called her very understanding of human nature into question and she wanted to know why.

As she wrested with what turned out to be a massive trauma, she began to keep careful notes of her inner life–she wanted to capture the paradoxes of love, grief and longing mixed with bewilderment and post-traumatic stress. With bracing frankness and fearlessness, she succeeds. Love and the Mystery of Betrayal seamlessly blends research and reflection, love and heartbreak, rage and transformation, and the personal with the collective. The deep, engaging writing provides the type of solace only a kindred spirit who has been there can. This achingly moving chronicle and meditation on the mysteries of love and betrayal shows how faith and love can triumph even after the most life-shattering revelations and loss.

 

About the Author

SandraSANDRA LEE DENNIS, PhD. obtained her M.A. in Psychology from the University of Michigan and her doctorate in Integral Studies (Psychology and Religion) from the California Institute of Integral Studies. She is an author, teacher and explorer of the interplay of depth psychology and spiritual experience. Sandra was a teacher in the Gurdjieff tradition for many years, a long-time student of Diamond Heart work, and an Ananda yoga instructor. She has been on the faculty at Portland State University, the University of Hawaii, CIIS, and the Jung Institute of San Francisco. The most compelling credential that informs her work, however, is her dedication to and passion for inner life. She spends her time writing, reading, gardening and luxuriating in the beauty of the Bay Area.

Visit Sandra’s website at: www.sandraleedennis.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/SandraLeeDennisAuthor

Twitter: www.twitter.com/Sandraleedennis

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1BzAGmq

 

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Guest Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Why I Write Books By: Sandra Lee Dennis

  1. This looks like an intense non-fiction read.

    I also feel an intense compulsion to write.

    • TBM says:

      Yes it does sound intense but also eye-opening.

      • I hope the book will be just that for some people. Someone wrote me and said, “Although our stories are quite different, you pulled me into an incredibly compelling journey that struck my heart and soul like an uncomfortable, yet terribly important, knife.”

  2. How wonderfully selfless to pour out one’s pain to the world in order to help others.

  3. Fantastic post. Writing has helped me through many dark times too. Good luck, Sandra!

  4. Thank you TBM amd Medeia for your interest in “Love and the Mystery of Betrayal”, and Photosfrom…for your kind words about the writing process. I don’t know if it was selfless, it just felt like something I had to do!

  5. Once the characters start running around in my head, there’s no way to prevent them from spilling out onto paper. I wrote for decades, slipped the finished manuscripts into drawers and cupboards, before attempting to publish. It is a compulsion.

  6. Sherri says:

    What a wonderful post this is TB, thank you for introducing Sandra to us.

    Sandra – I feel just the same way about the compulsion to write as I do with with my memoir (still in first draft form as I press on), like giving birth as you say. Getting closer to the end, those labour pangs do indeed intensify and the sense of urgency to expel the ‘baby’ is rising each day. I also find writing when things are dark and painful to be those times of greatest creativity. I wish you every success with your book which I’m sure many will give many great encouragement.

  7. Great post! I think we all have our own methods but in the end, it’s all about making a connection with readers, no matter what we write.

    • Yes, I got such an affirming THANK YOU review a few days ago after which I felt something like “mission accomplished”! It is okay if no one else reads this book; it got into the hands of at least one person that I know it has significantly helped. I recognized when I was writing, I was writing for someone just like this person.

  8. Wow, this book sounds so gripping and honest. I really admire people who can pour out their souls on paper like this!

  9. We write because it’s one of the few socially acceptable ways to let the crazy out.

  10. Interesting. I also started by writing about disturbances in my life, but now I feel compelled to put all the good things on paper.

    • That is great that you moved to write from the good times. When the shock of abandonment/betrayal hit me I was working on a writing project on “happiness” (I thought I had never been happier in my life)! Needless to say, I gave it up pretty quickly. I was not compelled in the same way I was when I was suffering. It was more like a task or job, at least for me. So, that is exciting to hear the creative juices are flowing through openness, pleasure, love, whatever it is that is working well for you. Love hearing that.

  11. From reading this post it is clear that Sandra has been through a lot. I am glad that writing has helped her get her feelings out and hopefully it worked out some of the pain. It sounds like a book that will pull us in and tug at our hearts.

    For many years I wrote in a journal each night and it did help me to work out the things that were causing me pain. Over time I stopped writing in it, but I think it was a healthy way to deal with emotional things that were happening to me or that I was dealing with. I keep saying I am going to start again because it helped me to clear my head. Thanks for the reminder to put a journal next to my bed asap. 🙂

    Best of luck to Sandra!

    • TBM says:

      I always mean to keep a journal and for a while I was successful, but it’s so easy to overlook. I should remedy that. Best of luck to you!

    • Jess, it is true it helped me ‘process’ and work out my experience to write it out. I kept journals all during this time also. I found there was a difference in journal writing, just pouring myself out on the page, and writing/rewriting in a manner that would be accessible/comprehensible to other people. Also writing with others in mind, as a form of communicating or connecting somehow pulls in the power of an invisible community, rooting for us to give expression to what so many are feeling. At least that is how it seemed to me. But the journals do seem essential for getting everything moving through into words/making the heart/body/mind connection. Best to you, too!

  12. “An avid interest in inner realities” — I like the way you put that.

  13. cleemckenzie says:

    Writing to lend help to others in spite of the pain and the drudgery is a tribute to you and your work. Good luck with your book. I know it will be a welcomed book in the world.

    • Thank you, Clee, for your good wishes. As you well know, if you are a writer, feedback and reviews offer a kind of lifeblood and encouragement after all the time spent alone writing. One review recently said, “I bought several extra copies to give to family and friends to help them understand what I am going through…for anyone who has been through betrayal, this would be the first book I recommend they read.” What a heart warmer that was!

Leave a Reply

