Alex’s Underrated Treasures Blogfest

blogbutton2014

Today I’m participating in Alex J. Cavanaugh’s Underrated Treasures Blogfest. This blog hop centers around movies, TV shows, music, or books that bloggers love but others may not know them. My selection is one of my favorite movies, His Girl Friday. Whenever people ask me what’s my favorite movie this is in my top five, but when I mention it, I usually receive a blank stare. I understand the movie is a 1940 American  screwball comedy and not the typical favorite film for someone born in 1974, but hey I grew up watching the classics and trust me, this is a wonderful classic. It stars Cary Grant and Rosalind Russell. Grant’s character is a hard-boiled newspaper editor and Russell plays his ex-wife and the former star reporter who is passing through town to say she’s retiring from the business and she plans to get married again. Grant convinces her to cover one last story: the execution of a murderer. And since it’s a screwball comedy you can probably guess that nothing goes right.

What I love about this film is the dialogue. It’s fast paced, witty, and it’s one of the first films to have characters talking over each other making it more realistic. According to Russell she felt that the script didn’t have enough good lines for her so she hired a writer to spice up her dialogue. It’s hard to know if that’s true, but if it is, thank goodness because the rapid-fire dialogue between her and Grant make this movie.

Here’s a small snippet of the dialogue between Grant (Walter) and Russell (Hildy):

Walter: What’s the use of fighting, Hildy? I’ll tell you what you do. You come back to work on the paper, and if we find we can’t get along in a friendly fashion, we’ll get married again.

Hildy: Oh Walter, you’re wonderful – in a loathsome sort of way. Listen, Walter, you are no longer my husband and no longer my boss. And you’re not going to be my boss.

Walter: All right, take it. Work for somebody else. That’s the gratitude I get.

Hildy: Oh, I wish you’d stop hamming.

Walter: What were you when you came here five years ago? A little college girl from a school of journalism. I took a doll-faced hick.

Hildy: Well, you wouldn’t take me if I hadn’t been doll-faced…

Walter: Listen. I made a great reporter out of you, Hildy. But you won’t be half as good on any other paper and you know it. We’re a team. That’s what we are. You need me and I need you, and the paper needs both of us.

Hildy: Sold American! Listen, Walter, the paper’s gonna have to get along without me. So are you. It just didn’t work out, Walter.

Walter: Well, it would have worked out if you’d been satisfied with just being editor and reporter – but not you! You had to marry me and spoil everything.

Hildy: I wasn’t satisfied? I suppose I proposed to you?

If you haven’t seen this movie you might want to give it a go. And writers should watch it to study the dialogue. Many films during this era have wonderful dialogue and it’s fun to watch it all come together.

confessions (3)

This week is rather quiet in regards to my blog tour for my latest novel Confessions From a Coffee Shop. I would like to thank all the bloggers who have volunteered their blogs and time to help me promote. Here are the bloggers helping this week:

Rough Seas in the Med (Review and don’t miss her how to poach an egg story)

Stephanie Faris (Guest Post)

In case you missed the previous stops and are curious:

It’s Just Life

Meetings With my Muse

C.M. Brown

Medeia Sharif

The Wish Factor

Rough Seas in the Med

Relatively Yours

Christine Rains

Cher Green

Shannon A. Thompson

Colline’s Blog

BocaFrau

Thanks again everyone!

 

 

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Blog Hop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Alex’s Underrated Treasures Blogfest

  1. Thanks for the prompt link. The Grant character sounds sexist, well it was the 40s I suppose… Still I love watching journalism films. They’re never true to life though. Well, not true to most journalists’ lives.

  2. Colline says:

    I am one of those people who have never heard of this movie TB. I do love watching old movies though – the storyline is often better than many of today’s popular films.

  3. Haven’t seen this movie, but it sounds great! Love that bit of dialogue you shared. And LOL, I can relate to having a favorite movie that others give blank stares to. (For example, Pillow Talk is one of my faves, despite the fact that I’m only 25, haha. Gotta love classics!)

  4. stephie5741 says:

    Sounds like an interesting movie. I’ve heard of it, but have never seen it. Hope to send lots of people your way on the blog hop. Good luck!!!

  5. I’ve never seen that one, but I sure like the way she stands up to him :).

  6. I am a Huge fan of Cary Grant, and His Girl Friday is one of my faves. I remember a while back Burt Reynolds, Kathleen Turner & Christopher Reeve made a remake of this called Switching Channels, and even though I loved Christopher Reeve, that movie couldn’t hold a candle to the original. Cary Grant & Rosalind Russell had a dynamic chemistry that definitely came through on screen and the dialogue was unmatchable. Maybe it’s the way Grant delivers his lines, or the way he speaks them in that distinct, sexy dialect of his. Whatever the reason – it’s wonderful.
    Thanks for posting TB. I’m going to search TCM to see when this comes on again. 🙂

    • TBM says:

      I saw the remake before I watched the original and it doesn’t do the original justice. It’s hard to compete with Grant and Russell: two dynamic actors from the golden age of Hollywood.

  7. I love old movies, but I think I missed that one. I’ll have to check it out. 🙂

  8. That movie was on TV just this weekend! I didn’t watch it but have seen it about a million years ago. As I read the dialogue, I hear Cary Grant’s and Rosalind Russell’s voices. Wow. Thanks for the memories. ❤ 😛

  9. dksalerni says:

    Oh, I’ve definitely seen this one a long time ago! I don’t remember much of it, but I do remember the title!

  10. Margo Kelly says:

    I haven’t heard of this movie. Thanks for the recommendation. 🙂

  11. His Girl Friday is one of my FAVORITE movies!! Great choice!

  12. Nick Wilford says:

    Hildy sounds feisty. I’ve heard of that movie but never seen it. Sounds like a good pick!

  13. Sometimes the classics deliver better than current movies.
    Visited Stephanie this morning.
    Thanks for participating in my blogfest!

  14. Chrys Fey says:

    I’ve never seen this movie, but now I want to watch it! Thanks for sharing!!

  15. Sounds like some great dialogue in that movie. Might check it out.

  16. His Girl Friday is a GREAT movie, although I don’t think it’s particularly underrated 😉

  17. Sherry Ellis says:

    I had never heard of this movies. I like the witty banter between the characters!

  18. Loni Townsend says:

    I haven’t heard of it, but it sounds like it’s an oldie and a goodie!

  19. Birgit says:

    This is one of the greats! Howard Hawks was one director who loved overlapping dialogue. I always felt bad for Ralph Bellamy 🙂

  20. I don’t know this movie at all. Now you’ve piqued my interest:)

  21. I love movies from that time. I’ve heard of it, but haven’t watched it yet.

  22. I have never seen this movie- but I do love an old movie and this one sounds excellent. Thanks for sharing- it is on my list. 🙂

  23. Oh, I love this movie too! A few years ago I got on an old movie kick and loved so many with Cary Grant. This was one of the best.

    • TBM says:

      Grant is one of my favorite actors of all time. I keep meaning to watch all of his films. I’ve seen many, but I think I may have missed a few gems.

  24. Well, oddly enough, I streamed Friday on Netflix this past summer. My wife and I were on a kick watching old movies from the ’40s and ’50s. Hiding that guy in the rolltop desk? Too funny.

  25. If truth be told I hadn’t heard about this movie till now. But Cary Grant is one of all times favourites from yesteryears. For me , ‘ North by Northwest’ and ‘To Catch a thief’ are right up there. How would you compare Cary’s performance in ‘His Girl Friday’ to his histrionics in these?

    Shakti

    • TBM says:

      ‘North by Northwest’ is one of my all-time faves, not just favorite Grant flick. And I enjoy ‘To Catch a Thief.’ His antics in this one are more in tune with romantic screwball. He’s still debonair but also very cheeky.

  26. cleemckenzie says:

    I love anything with Cary Grant and Rosalind Russell, and this movie is classic 1940’s!

Leave a Reply

