Guest post and giveaway by Lucinda Sue Crosby, author of Francesca of Lost Nation

Today I’m happy to welcome Lucinda Sue Crosby as my guest. Before I hand over the reins, I want to mention that the author is hosting a giveaway. Here’s the link for the Rafflecopter giveaway. She’s giving away 2 print copies of her book and 5 digital copies, so there will be 7 winners in all! Act fast, the giveaway ends later today. And now here’s my guest.

One question I am often asked by other writers is: what am I trying to achieve in my narrative and with my narrative. I have thought about this often over the years because is a question that resonates in any type of writing and I have made a living out of words for the past 20 or so years at a string of word-centric genres: Nashville songwriting, presentation poetry, journalism, political blogging, magazine writing, environmentalism, public relations, novels, children’s books and books about book marketing …

I obviously adore putting words on the page but what result am I striving for? A couple of years back, a concept gelled that I call my contract with my reader:

I believe that the relationship between a writer and her reader is sacred, intimate, powerful and, if conducted properly, lifelong. That person is giving you their time, money and consciousness. In return, they deserve your best possible effort and the truth as you and your characters know it. They deserve to be engaged on topics that matter on a variety of levels. In my opinion, if you don’t evoke emotion and provoke thought, you’re wasting their time – and yours. If you provide pristine text and attractive, illuminating graphics, you’ll never bounce your dear reader out of the narrative. Since I prefer character driven stories, that’s what I produce. I believe characters, even those who make small appearances, should be memorable and multi-faceted creatures. In my fictions, Main characters inhabit arcs of changing behavior; encounter peril; and face one or more time limitations.  I use action verbs whenever I can and am not afraid to use concepts in description I have never heard before, which is sometimes accomplished by extending a cliché … “a scraping-blue sky” … “salute-the-flag blue” … “on cloud 10.”

Reading text out loud is the best way I know to detect (and hence repair) confusion, unintentionally clunky dialogue and unintentional redundancy.

Francesca.Lost.Nation.Cover.FNL

Francesca of Lost Nation

By Lucinda Sue Crosby

Genre: (an old-fashion) Romantic Suspense

 Kindle

Paperback

Winner of Four Literary Prizes & Author selected as one of “50 Authors You Should be Reading” by The Authors Show online media outlet.

Book Blurb

When a mysterious man named Matthew appears in the small Iowa town of Lost Nation, his sudden arrival raises questions about his past. Quiet with an apparent taste for rum, Matthew makes it clear he doesn’t want to make friends. He isn’t too pleased to be dropped off at Home Farm where the independent and eccentric Francesca doesn’t accept bad manners or booze binges.

Matthew doesn’t want to form personal ties and intends to move on as soon as his damaged leg from a recent plane crash heals. But a series of events draw him into reluctant relationships: One with the feisty Francesca, the second with her 10-year-old granddaughter Sarah.

In spite of her own reservations, Francesca finds herself falling for this brooding pilot but his past looms between the pair and what neither knows is that Sarah, Francesca’s 10-year-old granddaughter, has encountered a stranger of her own … leading to a climatic confrontation that will put her and her grandmother’s life in danger.

Author Info

Magazine photo

Lucinda Sue Crosby is an International Kindle Bestselling author and award-winning journalist and environmentalist as well as a published and recorded Nashville songwriter. She’s also a former film and television actor, professional athlete and sports commentator. Lucinda Sue has always had a love affair with the written word.

 

 

 

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Guest Posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Guest post and giveaway by Lucinda Sue Crosby, author of Francesca of Lost Nation

  1. Hello. Nice to meet you, Lucinda Sue Crosby.You have stirred up my curiosity.

  2. Thanks for hosting a guest post, TB!

  3. I LOVE that statement. Every author needs a statement of what they’re trying to accomplish.

  4. Sherry Ellis says:

    I think it’s nice that this book has a relationship blossoming between older people. Usually those things are saved for the twenty-year-olds. But it can happen to grandmas, too!

  5. Sherri says:

    Great read this, thanks for introducing Lucinda to us TB.

  6. stephie5741 says:

    Congrats to Lucinda on all her success. I agree that we have relationships with our readers in a sense. We put our hearts into our work, so when they connect with it, it means so much!

  7. The Guat says:

    I don’t know what just happened but I was writing a response and all he’ll broke loose… Twilight Zone style. In any case I just praising you on what an awesome post this was and How awesome your answer to that question was…awesomely inspiring. I also loved the fact that your writing past included Nashville songwriter on it. I can’t even tell you! And this book your featuring sounds like it’s gonna grab me from the start … We’ll shake me and then grab me. Thanks so much.

  8. Reading aloud is important. What a great interview.

  9. How wonderful to learn about Lucinda and her book. I don’t recall ever reading an author’s statement to their readers. Awesome! I also love to read my work aloud because it helps me see if something doesn’t flow or doesn’t sound right. Thanks for sharing!

    • TBM says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it. Reading aloud is helpful, but can’t be painful for me at times. And sometimes I get a good laugh since I don’t realize how silly something sounds until I read it out loud.

Leave a Reply

