Book Review and Giveaway of To Sleep … Perchance to Die

Today I’m reviewing a medical thriller by Donald R. Grippo for his book tour via iRead Book Tours. See below for the chance to win either an ebook or hard copy.

Inline image 1

 

Book Details:
Book Title: To Sleep…Perchance to Die by Donald R. Grippo
Category: Adult fiction, 232 pages
Genre: medical thriller / murder mystery
Publisher: Turn the Page Publishing
Published: June 2013 Hardcover, June 2014 Softcover
Available in: Print and e-book (mobi for Kindle & ePub)
Content Rating: R* Please scroll below for explanation of our content rating
Book Synopsis:
Eurasian beauty Mai Faca plots to marry Jake Warden, a successful oral surgeon forbidden to her because of family honor. In an unheard-of scheme, fellow oral surgeon, Bret Manley, falls victim to Mai’s seduction as she and Jake play a cruel trick to be together. Jake acts with surgical precision to clear the path to Mai’s happiness, threatening lives including his own. In a wake of turmoil and destruction, Bret’s uncle and well-known criminal attorney, Hubie Santos, attempts to find out if a surgeon would use his knowledge to kill.
My Review:  
Real rating: 3.5
I’m a sucker for murder mysteries so when I had the chance to join this book tour I was super excited. The book off starts off well and hooked me. Jake and Mia are really horrible people. There wasn’t one thing that I liked about them and it’s fun to really hate the villains. I went back and forth with Bret. I did feel sorry for him, yet there were times when I felt like he really just turned a blind eye to major warning signs. This bugged me some. But in the end, he redeemed himself and no person should have to endure what he did. I won’t go into details. In the beginning, I thought the author started off on the right foot. In the middle there were some issues with the flow of the story. Sometimes there is too much detail that really has nothing to do with the plot, such as one of Bret’s employees. He’s only mentioned a couple of times before the employee quits. As far as I could tell, the character didn’t have a role in the murder plot so why was he necessary? Instances like this, tampered down the thrilling part of a thriller. Overall, I enjoyed the story. And it’s the type of story that is terrifying since being falsely accused of a crime could happen in real life. That scares me.
Meet the Author:
Inline image 2
Donald R. Grippo, DDS practiced oral and maxillofacial surgery in northeastern Connecticut for more than thirty years. On a daily basis, he encountered patient’s fear of undergoing oral surgery and associated anesthesia. To help allay such fear he wrote A Guide to the Guy or Gal Who Takes Your Teeth Out, a series of short stories dealing with the treatment of typical oral surgical problems. His resume includes working as a dentist at the Tennessee State Prison outside of Nashville and as a guard at the Hartford State Jail on Syms Street in Hartford.
Twitter: @DonaldGrippo
Giveaway! 
ENTER TO WIN a copy for free! For your chance to win, leave a comment below with your first name and email address and one winner will be chosen at random on June 18. This contest is open internationally and the opportunity to enter will end at 11:59pm EST on June 17. Book available as ebook or hard copy.
About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Book Tours and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Book Review and Giveaway of To Sleep … Perchance to Die

  1. That’s whetted my appetite. After reading the summary I thought the villains were going to be the sad lovers in this romantic tragedy – not baddies!

    Is the giveaway from you or the publisher? If it’s you, you already have my name and email. If it’s the publishers/whatever I’ll pass.

  2. Count me in – I’m always up for a book contest :).

  3. A medical thriller! This grabbed my attention, “…if a surgeon would use his knowledge to kill.”
    http://letscutthecrap.wordpress.com
    Tess

  4. cleemckenzie says:

    You’ve made me shift my attitude about surgeons. I just hope I don’t have to visit one soon.

  5. KimberlyAfe says:

    Holy moly – the idea of being framed or falsely accused of murder is so scary – I’m totally with you on that.

  6. a very scary thought! nice review! love hearing about new books!

  7. Glad you were able to enjoy this, despite some of the issues you had! I agree, being falsely accused of a crime is a scary thought…

  8. Thanks for taking part in this tour TB!

  9. Another great review, TBM. Thanks for sharing another book with us.

    Hope you are doing well. Sorry to have been gone for so long. We were without internet for two weeks and then I traveled to the US for nearly another two. So glad to be home!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  10. bocafrau says:

    I like a good murder mystery and have never read one involving a dentist!!! This sounds pretty interesting. Hope all is well. I’m sorry I’ve been so MIA – it’s simply been so busy but I decided I needed to say Hello and check in!!! Miss you!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

