Book Tour: Unfaithfully Yours: Confessions of a Cheating Bitch by Chrystal Rose

I love signing up for book tours since usually I’m introduced to books I wouldn’t normally read. That’s the case with today’s book. This tour is hosted by Indie Chick Lit.

Unfaithfully Yours: Confessions of a Cheating Bitch

By Chrystal Rose

Chrystal Rose, Xtalrose.com, Indiechicklit, indiechicklit.comSynopsis:

My name is Chrystal Rose and I’m a cheating bitch. I’m not the first woman to cheat and I won’t be the last. I’m just one of the few who’ll admit to it. Forget what you think you know about cheaters. You think once we are, we always are. You think it’s all about sex. You think we’re whores. Maybe we are.

Maybe we’re just looking for the right one, the right one to keep us faithful. Maybe that’s you. Or maybe it’s no one. 

Either way, I spent 6 years with a man I wasn’t in love with, but promised to marry. And I cheated on him, mercilessly. This is my story.

Chrystal Rose is a reformed cheater, but that doesn’t stop her from spilling her past, her secrets and her best advice. Written like a Chelsea Handler/Tucker Max hybrid, this memoir is sure to have you both laughing and cringing while you read.

My Review:

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started reading this memoir. I hoped it would be funny. And I hoped it would be honest. Right from the start, I knew it would fulfill both.

Chrystal is not shy about exposing her own behavior, including lying and sexual exploits. Her writing is honest, raw, and she’s not afraid to drop an F bomb whenever she feels like it. For me, I enjoyed her style and found it engaging. While I didn’t approve of her cheating, I admired her ability to share about it. I didn’t feel like she was bragging or trying to make excuses. It comes across as she’s realizing what she’s done, why it was bad, how she hurt others and herself, and coming to terms with her past.

Now for the tricky part of this review: would I recommend it to others. In my opinion, if a reader doesn’t mind crude language and explicit sex scenes then I say read it. Because it isn’t just about sex and f bombs. She offers a lot of insight into her life and into relationships in general. Obviously, the subject matter might be difficult for some to read about and I understand that completely, which is why I don’t think this book is for everyone. But if you can handle the subject matter you may find yourself giggling quite a bit. I found her wit refreshing.

Unfaithfully Yours: Confessions of a Cheating Bitch

Published by Xtal Rose on February 13th 2012
Genres: Memoir, Non Fiction
Pages: 248
Format: eBook

About Chrystal Rose

Chrystal Rose (1)

Chrystal Rose is the owner of Dollhouse Marketing, and President and COO of The Indie Chicks. She’s an entrepreneur and published author of the humorous memoir, Unfaithfully Yours: Confessions of a Cheating Bitch.

 

 

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Book Tours and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Book Tour: Unfaithfully Yours: Confessions of a Cheating Bitch by Chrystal Rose

  1. Hmm, a title like that would so not draw me in. So I would be unlikely to pick it off a shelf through choice. Crude language and explicit sex scenes are fine. I just don’t know if I would give it priority over other reads.

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Crude language and sex scenes? Sign me up! 🙂 Seriously—-I love it when people give honest reviews that tip the reader off if there is something that might offend. So thank you—-it does sound like an intriguing book and I am sure there are cheaters out there that might be able to understand her behavior and maybe learn from it at the same time. 🙂

    • TBM says:

      I wasn’t sure how I would handle the cheating aspect, but she’s so straightforward about it, I had to admire it. It can’t be easy to admit that to the world.

  3. I’m with Beth Ann :). Crude language and sex scenes – sign me up LOL!!!

  4. Good, honest review. Crude and sex scenes I can handle but with so many books to read, I will pass on this one until I’ve read all the rest waiting for my attention. 😮

  5. Obviously we all appreciate your honest review! Thanks, TBM! Enjoy your weekend. 🙂

  6. Thank you SO much for the review and as the author I wholeheartedly appreciate your honestly and taking a chance on something you might not otherwise read. I definitely think it’s a book that surprises people…and there are way more f-bombs than sex scenes 😉

    • TBM says:

      Thanks so much for the opportunity to read it. I really admire your honesty in this book and I think you’re right, many people will be surprised by how engaging it is.

  7. Sherry Ellis says:

    Not sure if this book is up my ally, but it would probably be an interesting read.

  8. cleemckenzie says:

    So I guess this is not a coffee table book. Like others I appreciate honesty, honestly. I just don’t read this kind of stuff.

  9. The title certainly gets your attention, doesn’t it? For some reason people who do stuff like that fascinate me. I can’t figure out why. What is it they’re seeking? What is it in their past that makes them continue to try to fill a void with affairs? Are they addicted to that “new love” feeling? Are they so afraid to let someone get close to them that they deliberately sabotage their relationships?

    • TBM says:

      Yes there is always at least one story behind the story and more often than not, it’s several stories. I like it when writers can peel back the layers and show the process of how and why.

  10. Good review, TB — and I see you have a new cover for MARIONETTE. Very nice indeed.

  11. I would read this. I love the title and I enjoy a good, honest memoir.

  12. Dilip says:

    Nice review. I’d love to read this book perhaps while traveling 🙂

  13. T.F.Walsh says:

    What a cool sounding book and great review:)

  14. Great review. I think it’s key to note things that might be big turn offs or turn ons to readers–explicit sex scenes and bad language. 😉

Leave a Reply

