Early Daze by Jennifer Gilby Roberts is available for Free Today!

It’s the weekend! Seriously, I live for the weekends. Today I have fantastic news. Early Daze by Jennifer Gilby Roberts is available for free. Don’t wait too long, since this is the last day (May 31st). I already got my copy. Did you?

Early Daze Blurb

Early-Daze-Cover-to-match-p

Life has always gone smoothly for Jess, but then she got pregnant and it wasn’t just her breakfast that started going down the pan.  And now her baby has “fallen out” before she’s even started ante-natal classes.

Suddenly, she’s sucked into the bubble of the Neonatal Unit, where tensions run high and the real world feels very far away.  She has a new home, new routines, new friends and even a new crush – and sleep deprivation, stress and separation are threatening to tear her neat little world apart.

When it’s time for Jess to leave, what will she be going home to?  And who will she be going home with?

~~~~

Early Daze is an honest but humourous women’s fiction novella/short novel about the ups, downs and roundabouts that come when your baby is born too soon.

10% of the royalties from Early Daze are donated to Bliss, a charity for premature and sick babies.

Find Early Daze on Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk, all other Amazon sites, Barnes & Noble.

Early Daze extract

‘You should try talking to her,’ the nurse says.  ‘She knows your voice from being in the womb.  It’s soothing for her.’

‘Okay,’ I say, but say nothing.  I feel too awkward.  There are people all around.  And what do I say?

‘I’ll just pop out and give you some privacy.’

‘Thanks.’

She leaves, and I stare at Samantha.  Privacy is a relative term.  I’m hardly alone with her.

I’m going to have to say something.

‘So,’ I say, ‘the nurse says you like to hear me talk, so here goes.’

I clear my throat.  ‘This was supposed to be easy, you know.  I thought I’d be cooing away over you.  But we’re not supposed to be able to see each other yet.  Well, you can’t see me now because your eyes are still shut.  It’s probably just as well.  I’m still all bloated, and my skin is terrible.  You’re not looking so good yourself, but that’s not your fault.’

I pause to swallow the lump in my throat.

‘I’m sorry,’ I tell her.  ‘I don’t know why this happened.  I don’t know if this is my fault.  I do know I didn’t do it deliberately.  I know I complained a lot about being pregnant.  I bet you’d be the same if you felt sick and exhausted all day, every day, for six months.  Being pregnant sucks.  But I hope you didn’t think that meant I didn’t want you.  Because I did.  I’ve always wanted you.  It was just that growing you was a whole lot harder than I expected.  When I said I wanted it to be over, I just meant I wanted to sleep through the rest of the pregnancy, or something.  I didn’t want to push you out before you were ready.  This isn’t how I wanted your life to start.’

She’s crying.  So much for being comforted by my voice.  Her little face has gone redder and more screwed up than usual, and she’s flinging out her limbs.  But she can’t make a sound.  Because there’s a tube down her throat.  If you’re not right beside her, you wouldn’t know.  And most of the time, there isn’t anyone.  So she cries alone.

And even if you are there, what can you do?  Her immature skin is too sensitive to handle much contact.  The most I can do is touch her hand or use the containment hold – basically putting my hands round her without quite touching.  It doesn’t feel like much.  It’s probably a blessing that she’s asleep or drugged up most of the time.  But no one who’s less than a week old should be on morphine.

No one’s life should start like this.

‘Bye, baby,’ I choke out and run away from my new reality.

Author Bio

Author Pic

Jennifer Gilby Roberts has a degree in physics and a postgraduate certificate in computing, so a career writing fiction was inevitable really. She was born and grew up in Surrey/Greater London, but now lives in North Yorkshire with her husband, small daughter, two middle-aged cats and a lot of dust bunnies.

Find Jennifer at her blog, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, LibraryThing, Barnes & Noble and Amazon.

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Early Daze by Jennifer Gilby Roberts is available for Free Today!

  1. Thanks for that tip. Dashed over to Amazon and picked it up. I’m not interested in babies but I’m always happy to read something for free. Broadens the mind and all that.

    I only noticed your Confessions book cover yesterday. Have I missed a post about it when I was in hospital?

    • TBM says:

      Glad you got a copy. Free is always good and Jennifer is such a sweet woman and I love helping her promote her books.

      I haven’t made any announcements about Confessions yet. It’s in the final stages of production and I hope to make an announcement later this summer. The technical details always take longer than I want.

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Sounds very moving, I hope it has a happy ending.

  3. Barbara says:

    Thanks for the heads-up on the book, I went over and got it from Amazon, and will start reading it tonight; it looks good! Thank you once again.
    Going over to Jennifer’s blog now.

  4. What a great deal! You can never beat free… 😉

  5. Beth Ann says:

    Getting my copy right now!!!!!!!! Thanks!

  6. Raced over and grabbed a free copy as well. The heck with dust bunnies, keep writing. I’ve enjoyed the excerpt. Pretty heart-wrenching. 🙂

  7. A well-written excerpt and a great cause. My mom was a preemie.

  8. Interesting and emotional premise. I’ll check out the link.

  9. tara tyler says:

    sweet story! and free!
    and i went back and read a couple of your reviews. it’s nice that you enjoy reading debuts & Medeias sounds like a perfect YA!

  10. tara tyler says:

    and when i said sweet story, i meant solid. i havent seen many stories deal with this issue

  11. cleemckenzie says:

    Very tantalizing introduction to this book. What woman wouldn’t be gripped by this character’s situation?

Leave a Reply

