Book Review: Snip, Snip Revenge by Medeia Sharif

Recently I spotlighted Medeia Sharif’s new release Snip, Snip Revenge. Today I’m reviewing the book. Medeia was kind enough to give me an advance review copy and I have to say folks, I really enjoyed this novel and highly recommend it for those who love contemporary young adult novels. In case you don’t remember the premise, here’s the info.

SNIP, SNIP REVENGE by Medeia Sharif

snipsniprevengesmallYA Contemporary, Evernight Teen

Release Date April 25, 2014

Beautiful, confident Tabby Karim has plans for the winter: nab a role in her school’s dramatic production, make the new boy Michael hers, and keep bigoted Heather—with her relentless Ay-rab comments—at bay. When a teacher’s lie and her father’s hastiness rob her of her beautiful hair, her dreams are dashed. The fastest barber in Miami Beach has made her look practically bald.

With all her pretty hair gone, Tabby doesn’t believe she fits the feminine role she’s auditioning for. Michael is still interested in her, but he’s playing it cool. Heather has taken to bullying her online, which is easier to do with Tabby’s ugly haircut. Tabby spearheads Operation Revenge, which proves satisfying until all of her problems deepen. After messing up, she sets to make things right.

My Review:

Tabby is the type of character that makes me simultaneously cringe and cheer for. She’s self-absorbed and can be vengeful. And she also has a great sense of humor, is insecure and can by loving. To be blunt, she’s a typical teenager. 

Sharif does a wonderful job capturing the young adult voice in this novel. The plot is fun and fast-paced. Even though some of her characters have faults, I couldn’t help liking them, except for Heather and I don’t think we are meant to like her. The teacher Mrs. Fuller reminded me of some of the nasty teachers I had to survive back in the day. Now that I’m an adult she didn’t scare me (maybe a little) as much and I found her antics pathetic and kinda funny.

This is a wonderful novel about teens, young love, and personal growth. I enjoyed every second and can’t wait to read more by this author. 

Author Bio

author pic 2014I’m a Kurdish-American author who was born in New York City, and I presently call Miami my home. I received my master’s degree in psychology from Florida Atlantic University. After becoming a voracious reader in high school and a relentless writer dabbling in many genres in college, I found my niche writing for young people. Today I’m a MG and YA writer published through various presses. In addition to being a writer, I’m a middle school English teacher. My memberships include Mensa, ALAN, and SCBWI.

Find Medeia

Blog   |   Twitter   |   Goodreads   |   Instagram   |   Amazon

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Book Review: Snip, Snip Revenge by Medeia Sharif

  1. I remember you writing about this recently and thought it sounded an interesting read. Don’t know about a typical teenager, your description fits a lot of adults too. Good to hear you enjoyed it.

  2. Thank you for featuring my book.I’m glad you liked the characters. They were fun to write.

  3. Beverly says:

    Very nice review. Medeia’s book sounds like a great story. I hope to read it when I catch up on the huge mountain of books in my closet. Congratulations, Medeia.

  4. Outstanding review as always. Revenge. I hope it’s sweet.

  5. Terrific review! Brava for Medeia! Sounds like she’s captured the YA feelings of competitive–and vengeful–teens!

    • TBM says:

      I would never want to relive my teen years, that’s for sure. It’s fun to read about though and think back, “was I really like that?”

  6. lexacain says:

    I had a teacher who freaked me out in HS, too. She reminded me of the Wicked Witch of the West. Eek! Great review on Medeia’s book – I wish her loads of success! 🙂

Leave a Reply

