Interview Series with Book Reviewers: Dianne

Last Friday, we met Jazmen, a book reviewer. Today I’m introducing Diane from Tome Tender. She’s another wonderful reviewer who is active on her blog and on Goodreads. I can’t remember how I discovered her blog, but I’m so glad I did. She always has me laughing when we email each other and she’s such a supportive blogger and friend.

1.       Can you tell us a little about yourself?

I’m a legend in my own mind!  Just ask my husband!  I was one of those nerdy kids who weighed twice as much as everyone else, so books were my great escape.  Today I am the proud parent of three grown kids and eight grandchildren, most of whom are avid readers! Recently we moved from Michigan to Florida, trading snow for sun and a pool!  On the drive down bringing up the tail end of our little convoy (2 trucks, 2 cars because heaven forbid we PAY someone to move my husband’s-OOPS, “our” stuff), I managed to listen to 6 books, so it was a great trip!

 

  1. When and why did you start blogging about books?

I’ve only been blogging for, hmm, I think just under three years and only because Beth (Sailon) asked me if I wanted to do some reviews on Tome Tender, because she over-committed. (Not that that is truly possible) She’s the real brains behind the site with the patience of a saint and I’ve managed to learn just enough to be dangerous when she goes on vacation!  Kind of like leaving a toddler unsupervised!

I found that I loved it and it helps me feed my “non-addiction!” If I’m reading a Middle grade or YA book, I don’t expect it to sound like an adult book.  I just let my inner child run wild! Give me a Zombie Apocalypse book and I go all commando survivalist!

  1. You have reviewed over 1600 books on Goodreads and you joined in 2012. How do you read so many books?

I am always reading or listening to books, I even have a waterproof bag and a speaker for in the shower or pool. I also have a household sound system I can plug into, although there are those “most secret” parts I would prefer others not hear! (Boring truth, I transferred some books from Shelfari, where I have thousand’s more).

  1. On your Goodreads profile you mention that you have 6 kindles. Are all of them full of books?

Geez, are you stalking me???  I guess I need to update my profile!  I now have eight Kindles, seriously! I only use 3, no 5 of them, though.  And, yes, all of them have books on them, but none are full!  I have one each for NetGalley, author reviews, blog tour reviews, MY books, and using the internet! The others are for back up, MORE of my books, and to make my materialistic side happy when I open their special drawer, complete with all of their accessories.  I also have a case that loops through a belt around my waist so I can listen to books while working out or cleaning or shopping or…breathing.  And no, I don’t think I have a problem, I like to think I’m prepared for all contingencies! What if there is a Zombie Apocalypse?

  1. How many review requests do you receive each week?

It varies.  Tome Tender gets at least one or two a day.  I personally get up to 10 a week, mostly from Indie authors I have reviewed for before, although some publishers or publicists send requests, too.  One day I received 15 and didn’t know whether to cry from terror or joy!

  1. What mistakes do authors and publishers make when they submit a request?

I’m not sure I can say anyone makes a mistake!  Tome Tender has a list to get information from the requestor, I suppose some may not be comfortable answering them and others give far too much information, but we rarely turn down a request, if the author is willing to wait a week or two, or three.  I suppose the only “sort of mistake” would be requesting a review with a “must have” deadline of 2 to 4 days. With three of us now on the Tome Tender Team, the wait usually isn’t too bad!  OH!  I thought of another “Not a Mistake!” It’s really courtesy and personalization in an email, but here it is:  Sailon gets all of Tome Tender’s emails, so authors often use her name to address the email, nice touch, but it sometimes causes confusion for us. NOT the author’s fault, but addressing it to “Tome Tender” is fine!  If you are a return author and don’t remember who reviewed your book, reference that book, we’ll find it! If you DO know, by all means, address that person! If your request is general, toss courtesy out the window and get down to promoting that book!  Sailon sends out the “Book Signal” and we all scramble, kind of like ravenous dogs or kids grabbing for that last cookie!

  1. What are you looking for when someone makes a request?

LOL! My next GREAT READ, of course! I personally read any genre, although I do have an affinity for anything Indie!  Just briefly answer each of our questions and be proud of your hard work, it’s a part of you exposed to the world!  Indies and authors in general are my heroes!

  1. I know it’s probably impossible to single out one book as your favorite, but has there been one that changed how read books?

I always go back to an 1895 edition of DAVID COPPERFIELD that I purchased at a church bazaar for .50!  I was 9 at the time and have re-read it many times, although the older I get, the harder it is to read the tiny print through veil thin paper!  It’s just a sentimental thing!

  1. Do you enjoy the interaction with authors? Have you been pestered by an author for a review?

I LOVE getting to know the authors! (Like you!) Reading their emails, when they are just being themselves is like finding a new friend.  I once discussed underwear, yep, underwear with one author!  Not my underwear, but my husband’s and HERS!  I’m not comfortable with sharing the author’s name publicly, but I will trade a book to review for this Top Secret information!

How can an author get their book noticed if they don’t play salesman? I can honestly say, I’ve never been “pestered” by an author that I couldn’t deal with. Sometimes I get a “gentle” reminder that they haven’t seen my review yet, but it keeps me on the straight and narrow, mostly.  I do admit to giving “cuts” to some authors, call me irresponsible, but at least I’m honest and it doesn’t mess with my promised schedules.

Thanks so much for stopping by today, Dianne.

Where you can find Dianne:

Tome Tender Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Interviews with Reviewers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Interview Series with Book Reviewers: Dianne

  1. Over 1600 book reviews?! Whoa! I’m impressed!

  2. So if I let Dianne review my book, she’ll tell me about some guy’s underwear? I’m not sure how this information will come in handy, but I bet blackmail is going to be the end game.

    Yep, free pie for Casey this week. *nods thoughtfully as she devours the last of the cherry cobbler*

    • TBM says:

      I can’t remember the last time I had a cherry cobbler. Haven’t seen any in London and I’m not a cook. Will keep an eye out the next time I’m in the States.

  3. i love that you are a true reader/reviewer and still really get into the books! great interview, ladies!
    happy tuesday!

  4. This interview had me laughing from start to finish. Dianne has such an amazing sense of humour!! I think she might just be a little crazy like you and I TBM, so I like her already :).

  5. Great interview! Dianne sounds hilarious! Over 1600 reviews since 2012…that’s amazing!

  6. nrlymrtl says:

    Now I know of at least 1 person who enjoys books more than me. This makes me feel normal. And I also now see that I need a waterproof bag so I can listen to a book in the shower. 🙂

    • TBM says:

      I thought I loved to read, but she takes it to a whole new level. It’s wonderful. And i wonder if I can get a bag from Amazon.

  7. Great interview! It’s awesome to hear from a book reviewer. 🙂

  8. lexacain says:

    I loved Diane’s interview! She’s so enthusiastic and has an awesome sense of humor. Wishing her many more fun books to read! 🙂

  9. Sherry Ellis says:

    That’s a lot of book reviews!

  10. So many kindles and books read. That deserves respect 🙂

  11. Okay, that’s an insane number of reviews! Jeez, I’m impressed. Plus, you’re right. Dianne is a hoot!!!! Thanks for the intro, TB!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  12. Such a delightful interview. I love meeting people who are passionate about books.

  13. Sherri says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of reading and reviews! Loved this interview, thanks for introducing your wonderful friend Dianne to us TB 🙂

  14. That’s a lot of Kindles. I only have one–although a second one would be nice for when my battery runs down! I probably just need a longer charging cord… I read on my treadmill and the cord won’t reach. We do have 4 laptops between the two of us, but that’s just because we keep the old ones when we get new ones as backup in case of a crash. That has actually come in handy more than a few times–so I assume that’s why someone would have extra Kindles around.

    • TBM says:

      I recently received a second one as a gift and i thought I wouldn’t need it, but it’s nice to have two. One is much lighter and easier to throw in my bag. And now I’m reading on my cell phone as well. It’s amazing how many books I have with me at all times now.

      good for you for reading while on your treadmill. I need to get back onto the exercise bandwagon.

      4 laptops … wow!

  15. Another Floridian! Yay for the land of the sun. *waves from Disney World*

    What a fun interview! I love reading, but I max out at 8 books a month. Then again, if I wasn’t always writing… I wondered if anyone had burned through as many kindles as I have. I’ve killed 2 from overuse, but maybe I just need to have multiple ones for each genre I read, and then none will ever die. 😉

    • TBM says:

      8 books a month is still pretty impressive considering all that you have going on: writing, promoting, and that thing called life. You’ve killed two … Yikes. What do you do to them?

  16. KimberlyAfe says:

    8 KINDLES?? Amazing. I wish I had a clone to just read. One clone to just write, and another to do everything else. 🙂 I think Diane must have a clone to read this many books. hee hee

  17. cleemckenzie says:

    She’s a legend all right, and not just in her own mind. Anyone who can read as she does, has my admiration. Have her send me her husbands address and I’ll tell him.

    Also I’ll be glad to put your book on my blog. That’s what I’m doing this summer, so sign me up!

  18. The Guat says:

    Duuuuuuuuuude. I love this chic and hadn’t heard about her before. I like her personality, definitely comes through in the answers. I like that you provide info for writers looking for reviews and reviewers and how this can be important to a successful book launch. Dude. I’ll be looking to you for some advice when I’m done with my project. Thanks for posting this 🙂

Leave a Reply

