Interview Series with Book Reviewers: Jazmen.

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve interviewed a reviewer. April kinda got away from me. However, I haven’t given up on this feature. Reviewers are such an important piece of the publishing puzzle and I think they deserve praise and attention. This week, Jazmen from This Girl Reads A Lot is visiting. Without further ado, here’s Jazmen.

  1.  Please tell us a little about yourself.

My name is Jazmen. I’m just a quiet girl that loves books. (I’m more of an observer than a talker.) I have a bachelor’s degree in journalism and l hope to one day (soon!) have written at least two New York times bestsellers. You have to dream big, right? I love animals both big and small. I love to listen to Vivaldi’s Four Seasons over and over because it puts me in such a good mood, and I love Drama shows, especially Pretty Little Liars and Scandal. 🙂

  1.  When and why did you start a blog about books?

I started blogging last year in the summer some time. I started because I live and breathe books. I’ve always been an avid reader but I got to a point in my life where I needed that literary escape even more than usual. So, I started reading even more. I was reading over 5 books a week, and I thought why haven’t I been blogging? It’s something I’ve always wanted to do so it was all about timing, really.

  1.  Do you prefer receiving review requests via a book tour or from the author/publisher?

Honestly, I rather receive the review requests from the author/publisher. It feels more personal and it makes me feel like the author is saying, “Hey I like your “voice” will you read this book for me?” It makes you feel sort of special. Like you were specifically chosen.

  1.  The title of your blog is: This Girl Reads A Lot. How many books do you read per week?

I can read a book a day, so seven. If I wanted to I could probably shoot for more than one book a day.

  1.  Do you have a favorite genre? A genre you refuse to read?

I love Contemporary novels and memoirs. I am into “real” reads. I love fantasy, and paranormal but there’s just a special place in my heart for the “real” story. I really don’t refuse genres but I typically avoid books about witches.

  1.  What common mistakes do authors/publishers make when requesting reviews?

I think it’s less about the review request and more about the time frame. Some authors think you HAVE to review the book within the week that they give it to you or sooner. SOME send emails that are borderline “bullying.” Bloggers DO NOT get paid and that’s not why we do it BUT some authors act as if they’re paying you. Reading is a process and it takes time. SO authors should not feel the need to rush the reader. I understand some bloggers take longer than others but some authors just need to take it easy.

Now that I think about it some review requests don’t include enough information about the book. I think every review request should include the book blurb and a jpeg of the book cover. The proper information saves time and gets your book read faster.

7.    What advice can you give an author who is seeking reviews?

Know your audience. Read the blog that your requesting a book to be read on. It would make the process so easy, and it will help you find you a blogger that is passionate about your genre and your novel.

  1.  What was the first book you remember reading? The last book you read?

The Berenstein Bears was the very first book I read. My mother knew I was reader even back then. She said I devoured those books. I just finished reading The Secrets of Lily Graves by Sarah Strohmeyer.

  1.  Besides reading, do you have any other hobbies?

Listening to music, and binge watching series I’ve never seen on Netflix. Oh, and shopping. I love to shop.

Where to find Jazmen:

This Girl Reads A lot Twitter
This Girl Reads A lot Goodreads
This Girl Reads A lot Instagram

Thanks Jazmen for popping by for a chat today. And if there are any book reviewers reading this, please let me know if you’d be willing to chat. Have a great weekend!

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Interviews with Reviewers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Interview Series with Book Reviewers: Jazmen.

  1. A book a day?! Wow! I’m lucky if I can finish a book a week…

  2. I read a book a day in high school. I miss those days. I now average 3 a week.

    If I weren’t writing, I’d be book blogging.

  3. Sherri says:

    Great to meet Jazmen and I love her advice here. Wow, she loves to read, that’s for sure! I had to smile at mention of The Berenstein Bears. I used to read those stories to my kids all the time, over and over… haha!! Thanks for this great interview TB, I really enjoyed it. Hope you have a lovely weekend :-0

  4. Great interview! I can totally relate to getting to that point in your life where you require as much literary escape as possible. I don’t know what I would do without books to read :).

  5. Oh my word! A book a day, that’s amazing! I’m curious where she finds the time because I would love to do that. 🙂
    I have no doubt we’ll be seeing her name one day on the New York Times bestsellers list.
    Thanks for introducing us to Jazmen!

  6. The Berenstein bears. Wow. My granddaughters still love those books.
    A book a day? I wish. More like one every three weeks. Sigh.
    Wonderful interview and a providing a wonderful service for writers. ❤

  7. stephie5741 says:

    Netflix appears to be a big hobby for many people these days! I had a hard time finding your blog–I found it through the guest post. I wish Google Plus would list people’s blogs more prominently!

  8. stephie5741 says:

    Of course, I’m one to talk, since my above comment takes you nowhere. Here’s my blog!

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  9. Jo Bryant says:

    a book a day…wow…just wow

  10. cleemckenzie says:

    I’m impressed by the number of books you read! I love to read, but I do not manage a book a day, even under pressure. This was interesting to read. I really was blown away by the “bullying” tactics that some use to get reviews. That would be the last thing I’d think anyone would do. I mean, talk about starting out badly. Thanks for this . Really enjoyed the interview.

    • TBM says:

      I’ve had a couple of authors badger me for reviews. Most are very gracious and patient, but some just don’t understand that bullying isn’t the best method.

  11. I can read a book in a day – depending on the book – if I have the time. That’s the problem with my days now. Little time for reading.

  12. A book a day? Wow. At my best, I’m more of a book a month reader. I too enjoy Netflix streaming with no commercials — but binge-watching has interfered with my binge-writing in the past.

    • TBM says:

      I’m getting so spoiled by recording shows. Now I watch them a day later so I can fast forward through the commercials.

  13. lexacain says:

    What a great idea to interview book bloggers, TBM! I enjoyed reading about Jazmen, and I’m so impressed by how much she reads (and Medeia too)! I could never be a book blogger – I read way too slowly. Have a great week! 🙂

    • TBM says:

      Book bloggers are so important and they deserve recognition. And it’s fun to get to know the people behind the blog. I would love to read a book a day. maybe someday when I retire 🙂

  14. Sherry Ellis says:

    It makes me mad when authors badger me for a review if it’s not up in less than a week – especially when I tell them it’ll be a while since I have other books to review before theirs. I tend to be a little more critical in my reviews for authors who do that.

    • TBM says:

      I’ve had a few authors nag me about reviews and, like you, I told them in the beginning that I’m backed up and it’ll will be a while before I get to it. Nagging me doesn’t make me want to read their book. Not one bit. I just don’t get their logic of badgering reviewers who are taking time out of their busy schedules to review their book.

Leave a Reply

