Review and Excerpt of Seconds Before Sunrise by Shannon A Thompson

onceup8275Today I’m posting my first review for Once Upon a Time VIII, a reading challenge hosted by Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings that focuses on fantasy, folklore, fairy tales, mythology, or any of the sub genres. This challenge isn’t really a challenge but an opportunity to read books and to meet new blogging friends. Stop by his site for more details and here’s the link for the reviews.

For my first contribution, I’m reviewing the second book in the  Timely Death Trilogy by Shannon A Thompson. The first book, Minutes before Sunset was a great hook to the series and I couldn’t wait for the second book to be released. Shannon was kind enough to supply an advance copy of the sequel and oh boy it didn’t disappoint. But first, here are some details for those not familiar with the Shannon or the series. After my review, Shannon has been kind enough to allow me to post a short excerpt of Seconds Before Sunrise.

Seconds Before Sunrise

Author: Shannon A. Thompson

Title: Seconds Before Sunrise

Goodreads Link

Author’s Blog: ShannonAThompson.com

Synopsis:
Two nightmares. One memory.
“Chaos within destiny. It was the definition of our love.”
Eric has weeks before his final battle when he’s in an accident. Forced to face his human side, he knows he can’t survive if he fights alone. But he doesn’t want to surrender, even if he becomes the sacrifice for war.
Jessica’s memory isn’t the only thing she’s lost. Her desire to find her parents is gone and so is her confidence. But when fate leaves nightmares behind, she decides to find the boy she sees in them, even if it risks her sanity.
 My Review: 
When I finished Minutes Before Sunset, I couldn’t wait for the sequel. Recently I received an ARC of Seconds Before Sunrise and I dug into it right away. It had only been a few months since I read Minutes Before Sunset, however I managed to forget some things. So when the sequel picked up right where first left off I wasn’t prepared. I would recommend skimming through the first book or reading them back to back. For those looking for a standalone, this isn’t your book. 

All of the aspects that I enjoyed about the first book in the series were present in the second: the teenage angst, romance, and lots of emotional turmoil. And I don’t want to forget the paranormal aspects and action scenes. 

Once I settled back into the story, the rhythm worked well. Thompson developed the characters more and fleshed out the story. And there was one big twist at that end that I wasn’t expecting at all. The writing is solid. I would like it if Thompson described the world a bit more. Less telling and more showing. That could be the greedy reader coming out. Overall, I enjoyed it. Now I need book 3. 

Excerpt:  

“Jess?” Robb spoke up, and I drank again. I didn’t know what he would say to me after the night before. “Why did you follow me outside?”

“I need to ask you something.” The confession slipped out effortlessly, and my sips turned into a heated flush across my body.

He raised his brow. “Why didn’t you?”

I gestured to Crystal. “I wanted to ask you alone.”

He placed his empty glass on the table. I hadn’t even noticed he finished it. “You can ask me now.”

I bit my lip. It felt strange to talk so loudly about private matters, but I knew he wouldn’t hear me if I didn’t. “Why did Zac have your car the other day?”

Robb’s calm expression faltered. “What are you talking about?”

He had to have known. “I was jogging, and Zac drove by in your car,” I explained. I didn’t want to tell him what his friend had said to me.

“You jog?” Robb asked.

“Why does everyone seem to have a problem with that?” I whined.

He chuckled. “You’re a little too fragile to be running around by yourself.”

My muscles in my arm tightened. “How’d you know I was by myself?” I asked, too focused to be irritated by his fragile comment. He knew about Zac’s run-in with me. “Robb—”

“I needed new brakes, and I was too busy studying to take it in myself,” he said. “That’s it.”

I didn’t have a reason to distrust him, but it didn’t seem like enough. “What classes were you studying for?”

He rubbed the back of his neck, glancing over his shoulder to survey Crystal. She was coming toward us. “What’s with the interrogation, Jess?” He leaned across the table. “Just tell me what’s bothering you.”

About the author:

Headshot

At sixteen, Shannon A Thompson became the young-adult author of “November Snow.” Since then, Shannon has had poetry, a short story, and more novels published. Her latest trilogy released by AEC Stellar Publishing, and the first novel in this young-adult, paranormal romance was awarded Goodreads Book of the Month in July, 2013. The second book, Seconds Before Sunrise, released on March 27, 2014.

She recently graduated from the University of Kansas with a bachelor’s degree in English with an emphasis on creative writing. After working as an author and then a Social Media Marketer, Thompson became the C.O.O. of AEC Stellar Publishing, Inc.

Shannon spends her free time writing, but she loves spending time with her father and brother. She also has one black cat named after her favorite actor, Humphrey Bogart.

Isn't he adorable!

Isn’t he adorable!

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Excerpt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Review and Excerpt of Seconds Before Sunrise by Shannon A Thompson

  1. I absolutely love this series, and I can’t wait for book 3!! Great review :).

  2. Awesome. I need to go check out that group you’re talking about. Great character angst in this excerpt, and you know, I’m the type of reader who doesn’t forget the details, even if it’s been years, so I’d probably get right along with book 2. After reading book 1. Hm. Maybe I should. =)

  3. restlessjo says:

    Not really my kind of subject and I struggle with time to read so only pick up things I know I really want to read. Probably my loss as she has plenty of accolades for one so young. I’ll keep an open mind. 🙂

  4. cheriereich says:

    Ooo, sounds like a good book. Thanks for the review! And I love that picture of the kitty. What a great name for a cat! 🙂

  5. cleemckenzie says:

    I liked your suggestion about skimming back through the first book. It’s easy to forget things if there’s a space between books.

  6. Sherri says:

    Interesting book…very talented young lady that’s for sure…love the cat photo too 🙂

  7. Jo Bryant says:

    Oh boy…this sounds like a read for me. What a fun challenge to take part in.

  8. Great review! I still can’t believe she’s only 16 and so accomplished. She’s a terrific role model to young writers and to old ones like me! 🙂

    • TBM says:

      I think she was 16 when she first published. She just graduated from college so she’s still extremely young. I wasn’t that focused at that age.

    • I am 22 now, but it has a been a lovely adventure. 😀 Thank you for your kind words. I hope to inspire many writers to follow their dreams, and I am here to help any writers looking for another writer to befriend.
      ~SAT

  9. Fantastic review. I love it when sequels live up to a great first book. 🙂

  10. Thank you for reading and reviewing Seconds Before Sunrise! I am sharing this soon, and it will be on my blog during tomorrow’s post. (April 25.) So glad you enjoyed the sequel!
    ~SAT

  11. This sounds like a strong series. I love it when the second book is just as awesome.

  12. lynnsbooks says:

    What a great review – I’ve seen a few reviews for this and it does look good.
    Thanks
    Lynn 😀

  13. Pingback: Why Writers Should Watch “Authors Anonymous” | Shannon A Thompson

  14. Pingback: April Ketchup | Shannon A Thompson

Leave a Reply

