Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson, Readalong Week Two

537a7-wordsofradgroupread250I’m late again with my posting and it’s only week two of a ten week readalong of Brandon Sanderson’s Words of Radiance hosted by Dab of Darkness and Stainless Steel Droppings.  The reading schedule is here if you would like to join.  This week’s questions have come to us from Lisa at Over The Effing Rainbow .

Before you read anymore, I should tell you, there will be major spoilers. Please, if you haven’t read this book, do not continue. I love having you visit, but this is a great series. I don’t want to spoil it for you and more than likely, my answers won’t make sense to you since you haven’t read the books.

Here we go:

1. We learn a little more about Syl and her connection to Kaladin. There are more spren out there, ‘trying…to reclaim what was lost”.  Yet Syl was forbidden to come and chose to do it anyway.  What do you make of this new information?

I have to admit, I was somewhat befuddled by this. I found it interesting and I want to know more, but I’m hesitant that Sanderson is setting us up for a big twist about the spren. I really like Syl. I don’t want to find out (okay I do, but it will be torture) that she isn’t all that we have been led to believe. However, knowing Sanderson, there will be one twist after another and maybe in the end it’ll be good. Maybe …

2. Chapter 10 is brief, yet intriguing – and kind of creepy!  It looks like Shallan was responsible for her mother’s death, among others, when she was young.  What are your thoughts on this scene?

Shallan is one of those characters that I feel like I know from the first book and yet I don’t really know her, if that makes sense. There’s so much about her past that hasn’t been revealed except for little snippets like this. Albeit, this revelation wasn’t so little. I’m intrigued about where the author is going with this. We already know that Shallan is capable of deception and stealing. What else is she hiding and what else can she do? I’m kinda on the fence about this one. Part of me likes Shallan and part of me doesn’t trust her.

3. Highlord Amaram is back, and still has Kaladin’s Shardblade.  He also seems to be close friends with Dalinar.  Do you think Kaladin will tell Dalinar what happened between them?  If so, what do you think might happen?

Absolutely not. Kaladin isn’t the type to reveal information about his past to those he doesn’t trust. Like I said last week, he has major trust issues. However, staying out of Amaram’s way might prove tricky for Kaladin. I’m not sure what might happen, but I have a feeling it’ll be entertaining and cringe-worthy.

4. We get an Interlude with one of the Parshendi – the Shardbearer who fought Dalinar, a woman called Eshonai.  We finally get a real look at the Parshendi and learn more about what they’re doing on the Shattered Plains.  What are your thoughts on this?  

I really enjoyed this section. The older I get the more I want to know all sides of story. The Parshendi remind me of Native Americans. They are being decimated and subjugated and are considered evil. War is never a pretty thing and “othering” is dangerous. This section shows that the whole truth isn’t known and that maybe the Parshendi aren’t the evil people as previously thought. I have to admit, I’m always a sucker for the underdog and Sanderson is playing with my emotions on this one. I love that about his books. I never really know who or what to believe. I do know that I’ll enjoy the ride to finding out the truth.

5. Adolin’s first duel doesn’t exactly go as anyone expected… What did you make of how it was won?  Do you think it will force people to take Adolin, and by extension Dalinar, more seriously?

That’s a tough question since I don’t think Adolin really knows what came over him. It might force some to take a closer look at Adolin and Dalinar’s tactics, but so far,  the highprinces act like spoiled children so I’m not sure one dual will change many minds. I’m curious to see how the dueling progresses from here. And will Dalinar approve of Adolin’s decision? He values honor, but he’s also getting desperate. Desperate times call for desperate measures. It’ll be interesting to watch.

Whew, I’m glad I finally answered the questions. Now I can start reading again! Have a marvelous weekend!

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Book Discussions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson, Readalong Week Two

  1. Barbara says:

    I haven’t read it but I want to. It is hard keeping up with posting, sometimes I wonder why we do it.

  2. My eyes are covered, my eyes are covered. I cannot read the spoilers LOL!

  3. I didn’t read the rest of the post as I haven’t read this book yet, but the readalong sounds like such fun. What a great idea! Good luck with the rest of it.

  4. nrlymrtl says:

    I understand your point about Shallan. On the surface, the person she is now (the artist, the scientist, the researcher) – I really like all these parts of her. But then we also know that she has some dark secrets (some of which she seems to be blacking from herself). Yet she feels remorse over those dark deeds. So, again I like her. Still, it is good to know that when pushed, she can do serious deeds. And i think Tvlak got a glimpse of that when Shallan confronted him over the camp fire.

    Perhaps Kaladin will simply get Amaram alone in some dark corridor and give him a serious message. Then Amaram will need to find his own Protection Squad. 🙂

    The Parshendi are a delicious, tension-filled mystery, aren’t they? I am hoping that Shallan will be able to study them and that will help unravel some of these mysteries.

    • TBM says:

      I’m loving getting to know the Parshendi more. There’s so much to know and to discover. Of course we’re only on the 2nd book so who knows how much will find out this time around. But each morsel is fun.

      It’s interesting, watching Shallan become stronger or is she rediscovering a strength she suppressed along with her memories?

  5. cleemckenzie says:

    Haven’t read this one, so skimmed your post. It’s great that you hosted this author’s book. Now I know about it.

  6. Thanks for the introduction! I too, skipped the spoilers. Happy Weekend!

  7. lynnsbooks says:

    I must admit that I still don’t totally, absolutely, trust Shallan. I like her character a little bit more now but there’s something about her that prevents me just completely liking her. I need to get over it I suppose!
    I also loved the interlude with the Parshendi. It totally made me stop and see things from a different perspective. Okay, I can’t say I know absolutely what’s going on with them but clearly they don’t seem the out and out baddies here! Like really they should all be fighting together against the common enemy perhaps?
    Lynn 😀

    • TBM says:

      Do you think we’ll ever really know what’s going on completely with either side? I think Sanderson loves to mess with us and that’s okay, since I keep signing up to read his books. But there are times when I want to know the full truth.

      Something’s off about Shallan–I can’t put my finger on it.

Leave a Reply

