Review of Chase and Sneak Peek of Jill Knapp’s Next Book

Today, I’m pleased to have Jill Knapp as a guest. I met Jill via one of Hilary Grossman’s giveaways. I liked the sound of her novel, Chase, and Jill was kind enough to give me a review copy. Here’s the blurb:

The question that 23-year old Amalia Hastings wants the answer to is: What happens to men when they move to Manhattan?
Life in the big city gives Amalia a ride she is not expecting. As she tries to find her way on the little island that never sleeps, she discovers she has a harder time navigating through life then she does the streets of Greenwich Village and finds herself truly lost in the complex world of men, graduate school, money, family, and friendship.

She thought she had everything she wanted – a new apartment in Manhattan, a first-rate education at NYU, a group of trusted friends and Nicholas, a boyfriend who she once believed was her soul-mate. But somehow, it isn’t enough.

Stumbling through her relationships, Amalia encounters Michael. An attractive classmate who quickly moves from being one of her close friends, to an inconsistent friend-with-benefits. After all, the only thing consistent about New York is its beauty.

After getting terribly lost searching for love in all the wrong places, Amalia finds herself torn between the possibility of a relationship, and an adventure she’s been planning all along.

She eventually realizes that solely chasing love closes her off to all of the other good things life has to offer. Now she must decide – what is worth the chase?

jill-book2

Before I tell you my thoughts I want to let all of you in on a secret. Today Jill is giving us a sneak peek of the sequel! I’m honored and doing my happy dance. Okay, I don’t want to get ahead of myself. Here are my thoughts:

CHASE is a coming of age story. Amalia is a graduate student in New York City, which by the way is one of my favorite cities. New Adult novels can be tricky to write. The author needs to stay clear of cardboard characters and just rehashing the same plot lines from previous novels. This doesn’t mean that a writer has to reinvent the wheel. What it means is creating believable characters. Many of us go through familiar growing pains. There’s no need to come up with some bizarre story to make it fresh. Characters matter. If you have strong characters, including minor characters, the story will pop off the page instead of fade into the background. That is what Jill Knapp has accomplished. I felt invested in Amalia’s story, hence I wanted to know what happened. Readers wonder how authors come up with stories. The real question, in my mind, is how they create characters that are people. People that we might know in real life or want to know. That’s the key to good storytelling.

And now for the exciting bit about this post. The SNEAK PEEK!

Journal of Olivia Davis

September 1st.

Alex and I got into a huge fight yesterday and he stormed out of my apartment. It all started when he came over to tell me that his father was in town, a father who he rarely speaks to. I told him to steer clear of him, that seeing him could only throw him off his game and make his life more difficult. Alex didn’t take it well. Before I knew it we were arguing, and I ended up asking him to leave. I immediately regretted it, but it was too late the damage is done.

I haven’t been able to get in touch with him, and I’m a little nervous. Okay, I’m incredibly nervous. He didn’t show up to class and neither Michael nor Amalia have heard from him. I had to watch the two of them awkwardly interact in Dr. Greenfield’s class again today. Anyone within a ten mile radius can tell there’s still a lot of tension between the two of them. Amalia pretends to keep her eyes focused straight ahead, but I can tell she feels Michael looking at her because the moment he does, her face turns red and she starts nervously twirling her hair. All the while she keeps getting texts from Hayden and even got drinks with him last night. I think she has a lot to figure out. Personally, I’m rooting for Hayden. I’m also rooting for her to find her own apartment so she can stop sleeping on my couch!

Amalia told me yesterday that she finally got a text from Cassandra asking her to come to some magazine party in SoHo this weekend. Unfortunately, she invited me too. I told Amalia I would go, but I would honestly rather be doing anything else.

I am going to stop by Alex’s apartment on Roosevelt Island later today and see if he’s there. If Mohammad won’t come to the mountain…

IMG_0907 (1)

Biography

Jill Knapp, a native New Yorker, is a former adjunct professor of Psychology at her Alma Mater Kean University. A regular contributor to the Huffington Post, Knapp writes about  entertainment, dating and relationships and the differences between city and suburban lifestyles. She received a Masters in Psychology from the New School For Social Research in Manhattan, and taught professional figure skating for over a decade.
Personal– JillKnappZitron.com
Twitter– @JL_Knapp
About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Excerpt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Review of Chase and Sneak Peek of Jill Knapp’s Next Book

  1. hilary says:

    YEAH! I am so glad you guys got to meet as a result of the giveaway! You are both so great!!! Chase sounds amazing and I can’t wait to read it. The journal sounds awesome too… I can’t wait for summer so I can finally catch up on my reading!

    • TBM says:

      I’ve met many wonderful authors through you. I know the giveaways are a lot of work for you–more than I can possibly imagine, but they are wonderful. Yes, I can picture you on the beach with a stack of books. Save me a spot on the beach.

  2. Isn’t blogging wonderful? All the amazing people we meet and the wonderful books we hear about!

  3. elisa ruland says:

    Nice review, I’d like to add this one to the pile! Great that you were able to meet the author.

    • TBM says:

      We’ve only met in the blogging world, but you never know. this is a small world. Occasionally I bump into people who I haven’t seen in years in random places.

  4. O-o. Sound g.o.o.d. Adding to my long list to must reads. Great review.

  5. “Characters matter.” Thank you for the reminder about the most important part of EVERY good story! I really enjoyed your review of this book, as it was a little lesson in story writing as well.

    • TBM says:

      I’m sure there are many who disagree with me, but for me, characters make the story. Rarely that doesn’t happen. I’m trying to think of an example, but I’m failing.

  6. Love the voice of this narrator. Thanks for the sneak peek, TB! Hope your week is going well!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • TBM says:

      This narrator reminds me of being young again. Not that I want to relive my 20s, I’m quite happy. But it’s still nice to visit and say hello.

  7. Excellent review! I’ll definitely be adding this one to my list. Not only does it sound like a great read, but us Jill’s, we have to stick together. 🙂

  8. CHASE sounds like a great book! I also can’t help but love that cover for it. Such a neat and eye-catching art style!

  9. Sherri says:

    Great review of a very good story, and yes, I agree with Heather, great cover 🙂

  10. Melissa says:

    Sounds like an interesting book, adding it to the list!

  11. Nice review and another book to add to the pile. Thanks for sharing the sneak peek of the sequel. It looks as though I will be adding two books to that pile!

  12. I love the sound of this. i adore NYC-related movies and books. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

