Writing Process Blog Hop

I’ve been tagged!  Tagged, that is, to participate in a blog hop for writers. Thanks to A J Waines author of The Evil Beneath and Girl on a Train for inviting me to play along!

Every Monday authors blog about their own writing process, using a standard format and answering the same questions.  This is definitely a multi-genre hop; there’s been mystery, paranormal, young adult, and romance. Follow the links to “meet” more writers.

What am I working on?

I’m working on my third novel and I’m in the editing stage. To be blunt, I’m going nuts. Some people love to edit. I’m not one. However, I do love working with my editor. She is patient, insightful, and a gem to work with. Recently I told her that I’ve learned more from her than I did in school. If you want to learn how to write, find a wonderful editor to work with.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

This is an interesting question for me since when I write, I don’t sit down and think of the genre. For me, especially with the first draft, I try to block out all expectations. My goal is to get the story on the page and not think too much about things. Thinking can kill a good story. The first draft is more for me. Then I start fine-tuning it and this is when the genre bit comes in. I wouldn’t necessarily say my work is all that different from others, but I hope I put my own spin on my stories and that they come from the heart. I think most of us try to accomplish that. It’s up to the readers to decide if we’ve been successful.

Why do I write what I do?

I like to tell stories. I know that sounds overly simplistic, but that is why I write. Stories with believable characters. That’s my goal each and every time.

How does my writing process work?

I recently made a change to my writing process and I’m still in the testing stage to see if it works for me. I’m not a plotter at all. I have a general idea in my head of the start and the finish. So far the ending has changed each time. Lately I’ve been getting my writing done first thing in the day. Before I would answer emails and such. Now I get right to business and try to hammer out over 2000 words. It seems to be working since I’m writing before I’m completely awake. I don’t over-think things too much.

Keep on Hopping!

I would like to thank A. J. Waines for tagging me. Here’s her post in case you missed it. And on March 31t, check out Hilary Grossman’s and Medeia Sharif’s blogs.

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Blog Hop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Writing Process Blog Hop

  1. viveka says:

    Good luck to you!!!!! I wish I had writing talents like you have.

  2. hilary says:

    You are good, writing first before tackling anything else..I need to take lessons from you! Thanks for taging me!

  3. Beth Ann says:

    Well I believe that you have the believable character part of your writing nailed. That was one thing that I loved about both of your books so far—the characters were so well developed and believable. Great job!

    • TBM says:

      Thanks Beth Ann. That’s very nice to hear, especially as I’m preparing number 3 to go out the door. My emotions are up and down at the moment and it’s good to hear that my process is working.

  4. I LOVE to read about other writers’ processes. I always write best in the morning—the earlier the better. But then, I do everything best in the morning. Once it gets to be 4 in the afternoon, I’m hopeless.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • TBM says:

      When late afternoon arrives all I want to do is read, not write. I need to get my writing in earlier so I can read more. I keep hoping this temptation will help me focus more. Hope all is well on your end.

  5. Thank you for sharing your process. I’m always interested in how others face the day. When I come back from my vacation I plan to write for me before I check emails or blogging. I’ve been meaning to for months but this time I must put my foot down and pay attention. I’ve attempted this a couple of times, but have managed to get bogged down with time wasters. 🙂

  6. cleemckenzie says:

    I think writing because you like to tell stories is exactly right. And you get to tell them your way. A perfect reason for doing something that drives you nuts. 🙂

  7. Sherri says:

    I’m glad you’ve found a formula that works TB. Despite me saying I was going to do this, write first thing before getting distracted by other things, I’m still really struggling to do it and I’ve been plagued by self-doubt about my book again. Reading this has given me yet another prod and it has come at just the right time. Congratulations on the Writing Process Blog-Hop 🙂

    • TBM says:

      Self-doubt is so hard to avoid. Some days I think I’ve done well. others I cringe. My best advice is to keep plugging away. get your first draft done–it comes together after you work with your beta readers and editor.

      best of luck!

      • Sherri says:

        That’s it – you’re right. I’m over-thinking things to the point that it’s paralysing me. I was very encouraged to read that you don’t do plotting and you just bash out your first draft without even knowing how it will all turn out. I thought I was on a hiding to nothing but I see now that this is the way it works for some writers and that actually, there are no rules. It’s just what works for you! So once again, thank so much TB for helping me. And don’t forget to keep up those reminders… 😉 I’m going to bash out another chapter now thanks to you…

  8. I need to do that early morning writing more often. I skip some mornings.

    Editing is the toughest phase for me.

    Thanks for tagging me. I’ll be ready with my post Monday.

    • TBM says:

      Editing is tough, but you can’t skip it. the hard part is not losing focus and of course not being the only one to edit it.

      My pleasure and I’m looking forward to your answers.

  9. Good luck with all the editing you’re doing! I admire the fact that you’re now writing at the start of the day. I’d probably get a lot more accomplished if I didn’t let the internet sucker me in so soon after waking up, haha. Hope this process continues to work for you!

    • TBM says:

      It’ll be interesting to see if I can keep it up and how much it will (hopefully) help. Yes the internet is wonderful and dangerous.

  10. Your third novel! Yippee!! You’ve turned into a writing machine. Isn’t it wonderful to be doing something you love?

    • TBM says:

      It does help immensely. I always liked my other jobs, but didn’t love them. I would go in, get my work done, and then dash out the door as soon as it was quitting time. Don’t feel that way anymore. I care about it.

  11. Pingback: A Little This…. A Little That….

Leave a Reply

