Review of Citadel by Kate Mosse

Citadel Banner

Today I’m discussing another book courtesy France Book Tours. For other stops on the tour, please visit this page. I was nervous that I wouldn’t get this one read in time. But once I started it, there was no stopping me. But first, here’s the synopsis.

SYNOPSIS

From the internationally bestselling author of Labyrinth and Sepulchre comes a thrilling novel, set in the South of France during World War II, that interweaves history and legend, love and conflict, passion and adventure, bringing to life brave women of the French Resistance and a secret they must protect from the Nazis. In Carcassonne, a colorful historic village nestled deep in the Pyrenees, a group of courageous and determined operatives are engaged in a lethal battle. Like their ancestors who fought to protect their land from Northern invaders seven hundred years before, these women—codenamed Citadel—fight to liberate their home from the Germans.But smuggling refugees over the mountains into neutral territory and sabotaging their Nazi occupiers is only part of their mission. These members of the resistance must also protect an ancient secret that, if discovered by the enemy, could change the course of history.

A superb blend of rugged action and haunting mystery based on real-life figures, Citadel is a vivid and richly atmospheric story of a group of heroic women who dared the odds to survive.

Citadel

Release date:  March 18, 2014 by William Morrow
680 pages
ISBN-13: 978-0062281258

REVIEW

This is the first book I’ve read by Kate Mosse and I have to say wow. First I should state that this is a mammoth of a book: 680 pages. Luckily I was able to read it on my Kindle since I wouldn’t want to lug this book around. However, considering I was glued to my Kindle for several days in a row, I probably would have carried the book with me. I had a really hard time putting this one down and I blame Mosse for keeping me up past my bedtime several times in one week. I kept saying just a few more pages.

I love historical fiction and my specialty in grad school was World War II. Yet I didn’t study the French Resistance much. Not only did I enjoy learning more about this aspect of WWII, I loved the characters: Sandrine, Raoul, Baillard and many others. Even though this is about the war, the beginning starts off slow. I didn’t mind one bit since I enjoyed getting to know the characters and the setting. Once the action picked up, I found myself reading as fast as possible. Occasionally I had to stop and go back a few paragraphs since my mind couldn’t keep up with my eyes, but it was hard to force myself to slow down.

Citadel made me think, cringe, cry, cheer, and then think some more. The ending tugged on my heartstrings. It’s the type of book that once you finish you have to take a deep breath, sad that it’s over, but glad you read it. Now I need to track down copies of her other novels.

***

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Kate MosseKate Mosse is the multimillion selling author of four works of nonfiction, three plays, one volume of short stories and six novels, including theNew York Times bestselling Labyrinth and Sepulchre.  A popular presenter for BBC television and radio in the UK, she is also cofounder and chair of the prestigious Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction (formerly the Orange Prize) and a member of the board of the National Theatre of Great Britain. In 2013, she was named as one of the Top 100 most influential people in British publishing and also awarded an OBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List for services to literature. She divides her time between England and Carcassonne, France.

Website | Facebook | Twitter @katemosse

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Book Tours and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Review of Citadel by Kate Mosse

  1. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I have a big hardback copy of Labyrinth which I loved but haven’t read any more of her work.

    • TBM says:

      A hardback–bet that’s heavy 🙂 I’ve heard good things about Labyrinth and after reading this one, I’ll keep an eye out in the charity shops. I’m now a fan.

  2. Like I’ve already told you, I have the whole series, but I have only read the first book so far. I loved it!! It’s strange though – you list the release date as March 18, 2014, but I have had Citadel for ages. Hmmm, it must be a different edition than mine. Whatever the case, you’ve now made me want to get back to this series :).

  3. I have both Labyrinth and Sepulchre. I’ve read the latter in paperback. Labyrinth I have in hardcover but it is not heavy because of the quality of the paper and is just under 500 pages.It’s been a while since I read this book but remember how full and rich her characters and story are. Looks like I’ll need to catch up on my reading. 🙂
    Wonderful review. I look forward to reading this one as well. Sigh. I’ve planned to catch up on my reading while in flight soon–if I don’t fall asleep. 😉

  4. Cher Green says:

    I’ve listened to the first two books of this trilogy. They were amazing!

  5. Enjoyed Labyrinth but couldn’t get into Sepulchre. Maybe I shoudl try it again before I tackle Citadel which sounds great!

  6. Goodness, this sounds like my kind of book. I love historical fiction, and I’ve never read anything by Kate Mosse. Thanks for the introduction, TB! Hope you’ve had a lovely weekend.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  7. Pingback: France Book Tours stops for March 23-29 | France Book Tours

  8. Pingback: Kate Mosse on Tour: Citadel | France Book Tours

  9. thanks for conveying so well your enthusiasm, which I share all along. it’s that type of book that keeps you torn by the desire to know what’s going to happen to the characters and the sadness that eventually you will reach the end of the book. the characters will remain with me for a long time for sure. and like you, I will read the first 2 volumes as soon as I can

Leave a Reply

