Review, Guest Post, and Giveaway of Paris, Rue des Martyrs by Adria J Cimino

paris-rue-des-martyrs-banner-final

Today I have another wonderful book to discuss courtesy of France Book Tours. For all the stops, please visit this page. Below I’ll give details of how to enter to win one copy of the ebook (open internationally).

SYNOPSIS

20487301There are encounters that make a difference. The paths of four strangers cross amid the beauty, squalor, animation and desolation found on a Parisian street called the Rue des Martyrs.

Each one faces some sort of struggle:

A young man’s search for his birth mother leads him to love and grim family secrets.

An unsatisfied housewife finds her world turned upside down by the promise of a passionate liaison.

An aging actor, troubled by the arrival of the son he abandoned years ago, must make a choice: either lose him forever or put aside pride and seek redemption.

A young woman, betrayed by her fiancé, travels to Paris to begin a new life and forget about love… at least that is her intention.

Four stories entwine, four quests become one.

***

REVIEW

I’ve always been fascinated by people I pass on the street. Oftentimes I’ll find myself watching people and wondering what their life is like. This novel does just that. Four people who pass each other all the time on the same street and yet they’ll all strangers. It’s so easy for us to get caught up in our own worlds that we forget that we share this planet with others.

Each of the characters is in a crisis. Taken separately, their stories are interesting. However, the author takes it one step further and connects all of the stories on some levels, adding new layers of complexity and enriching the overall tale.

Each character comes alive as the story progresses and part of the reason is that they open their eyes and start to see what’s around them. This makes them more relatable and not cardboard cutouts. A lot of times I give credit to authors for creating “real” people as characters. This novel is unique in that the entwining stories make the characters real. Our lives are enriched by the people we know. This novel shows how true this is.

GUEST POST

My Favorite Daily Life Parisian Things

By Adria J. Cimino

Little-known fact: Parisians are often astonished when I tell them that we Americans (and many others!) dream of visiting their city. That’s because so many Parisians love to travel and dream of visiting our homelands!

As difficult as it is for many Francophiles to believe, Parisians don’t often think of their city as extraordinary. It’s the place they know, and they are looking at the grass that seems much greener elsewhere.

They do have a point. When you settle down to daily life in Paris, it becomes sort of similar to life in any other place. You can really stay within your own neighborhood and not see a tourist or tourist attraction for weeks. And you start complaining about the rainy weather, or the subway that just broke down or the rush-hour crowd that’s smashing you against the subway door…

But right at that point, before thinking one more grumpy thought, it’s time to return to the Paris that seduced you in the first place. That’s what I tell myself every time.

So I start thinking of my favorite things about daily life here (and you can enjoy these things even if you’re here on a visit).

Here’s my list:

My most frequent “takeout” lunch is a baguette sandwich… Ah, that fresh, crunchy bread!

Paris Rue des Martyrs GP1

You can sit at a café for hours with the same cup of tea, and no one would even think of nudging you out the door.

Paris Rue des Martyrs GP2

Books are still a No. 1 form of entertainment! (Just look at most of the people in the subway and you’ll see!)

Buildings don’t block the sky (height is restricted in the center of town)

Within three square blocks just about anywhere in the city, there are cheese shops, bakeries and other little local businesses.

Street food is a crepe with Nutella.

Perfume and scarves are the top two fashion accessories.

Smoking no longer is allowed in restaurants and cafes.

Art is accessible to all (regular free exhibits at the city hall and other locations).

With the Seine and the Canal Saint-Martin, when in Paris, a long stroll along the water is always within reach.

Paris Rue des Martyrs GP3

 

AdriaAdria J. Cimino worked as a journalist for more than a decade at news organizations including the Associated Press and Bloomberg News. Adria, who grew up in the sunshine, holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of South Florida. She now lives in Paris and enjoys sharing her adventures in the city and thoughts about the writing life in her blog “Adria in Paris.” Her first novel, “Paris, Rue des Martyrs,” is set for release on Feb. 10, 2014.

Website / Twitter / Facebook / Blog

GIVEAWAY

To enter the giveaway, please leave me a comment below stating you would like a chance to win a copy and if you would prefer a mobi or epub file. One random winner will be selected on Saturday, March 15.

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Book Tours, Guest Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Review, Guest Post, and Giveaway of Paris, Rue des Martyrs by Adria J Cimino

  1. Thank you for participating in my book tour! I’m so happy that the characters came to life for you and that you enjoyed the entwining stories. It was interesting and fun to write!

  2. So, you’re a people watcher too eh? I have been since I read Harriet the Spy when I was a little kid. I loved how she took a little notebook with her everywhere she went and made observations in it of all the people she saw during a day. People are interesting :). Please enter me for an epub!

  3. This sounds like a fun book. I, too, love imagining the stories of people I pass on the street. Thanks again, TB, for introducing us to another wonderful writer. Happy Wednesday to both of you!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  4. Pingback: France Book Tours stops for March 9-12 | France Book Tours

  5. Pingback: Adria J. Cimino on Tour: Paris, Rue des Martyrs | France Book Tours

  6. girlseule says:

    Paris sounds amazing, I am visiting in July and I can’t wait.

  7. thanks T.B. for your great review. Adria, what a nice refreshing guest-post, wants me to be there right now and to flee this ever falling snow in Chicago [major snowfall last night, everything looks covered with white glue]. glad to see the conversation going to

  8. People watching is a wonderful pastime. When I was about 18, a married lady (23), whose husband was a volunteer policeman or fireman one Saturday night. She invited me to spend the evening with her. She drove to the centre of town, pulled into a parking spot on the street and we watched the people around us. Of course we made up stories but I enjoyed it so much, I asked we do it again when the opportunity presented itself. 🙂
    There. Is that comment enough for a chance at the giveaway? 😉

  9. Vicki Lesage says:

    Great list of the nice things in Paris! The only thing I would add is that wine and cheese are super affordable here. You can get a decent bottle, a wedge of cheese, and a fresh baguette for easily under $10. And spending just a little more you can get some truly amazing stuff. Mmm!

    • You are so right, Vicki! Our friends go crazy over the prices of those sorts of products when they visit. And they make sure to eat a year’s worth of cheese while they are here!

    • TBM says:

      I noticed how inexpensive it was on our first trip. I think I lived off of wonderful bread, cheese, and wine for three days and enjoyed every second.

  10. That’s it. I’m moving to Paris–for the cheese. Cheese shops on every street…does it get better than that? *sigh*

  11. What a great post! It makes me want to go back to Paris! (Not that that takes much 🙂 Also, the book sounds incredibly interesting–I love interconnecting stories!

  12. Sherri says:

    Finally getting over here, phew! What a week of blogging dramas! Loved this post TB and meeting Adria, her book really sounds wonderful with the richness of her characters and their individual stories all playing their part and as you know I love Paris, for all the reasons she states here! Especially being able to sit for hours in a cafe and never having to worry about having to leave. People watching heaven! 😉

  13. People watching and Paris: what could be a better combination? Looking forward to reading Rue des Martyrs and reminiscing about cafe life in Pars!

  14. I love the premise behind this book. I am a HUGE people watcher! I love cheese and bread, I might have to pack up and move to Paris…I’m jealous!

  15. All those outdoor cafes are so inviting to people watch! and all that food mmm…..Please enter me for a mobi copy.

    • TBM says:

      And when you sit at a cafe you aren’t forced out until you are good and ready to leave. I love that. I entered your name. good luck.

    • Indeed! Museums and monuments are wonderful, but any visitor must set aside at least a bit of time for the people watching and food. They make up a true Paris experience!

      • TBM says:

        We try to do that in every city we visit. You learn so much by observing. And adding some drinks and good food enhances the experience.

  16. Of course, I would love to be entered in the giveaway, but if I don’t win I will be straight out to buy myself a copy. It sounds like a wonderful read. I love people watching, especially while sitting outside a café with coffee and cake!

  17. The Guat says:

    Dude I’ll have to admit…this sounds good. I like short stories that intertwine and connect with each other and the fact that you mentioned the characters were “real” that’s something I look for too. And I’m a total people-watcher-wonderer-of-lives.You’ve sparked my interest! Count me in.

  18. I love it when characters intertwine, and I love the Paris setting. I want to go again. I’d love to read a mobi copy.

  19. cleemckenzie says:

    Your cast of characters are intriguing to say the least. And you made me hungry for Paris.

Leave a Reply

