I think my novel Marionette is on sale

Since I published my first book last July I’ve learned many things. Most importantly I’ve learned that I really don’t understand Amazon. This doesn’t mean I don’t like Amazon. I do. I really do. Not only do I purchase books from them (probably more than I should) but they have been wonderful to me as a writer.

mar-kindleHowever sometimes I just don’t get their policies. I scheduled Marionette for a Kindle Countdown deal. For those unfamiliar with the deals, a publisher can list their book for sale for a short time at a discounted price and still receive 70% royalties. That’s a wonderful plus for an Indie writer. In order to earn 70% my book has to be listed between $2.99-$9.99.

During the Kindle Countdown deal, Marionette is on sale for $0.99 and I’m still earning 70%. Granted that’s not much per copy, but still much better than 30%, which is the normal rate for books listed at $0.99.

Here’s the hitch. My sale started yesterday, March 2, 2014. It ends on March 8. When I logged onto Amazon.com (the sale is not occurring in the UK due to another problem) I couldn’t see the sale price. I have some advertisement scheduled for today. When I looked yesterday I panicked. I already paid for the advertisement. And if the sale price isn’t available, the companies will yank my ads and I won’t receive a refund.

I wrote Amazon an email and really didn’t expect to hear back from them until Monday. But they did contact me yesterday and explained that since I live in the UK I can’t see the US Kindle Countdown deals. The kind man did send me a screenshot of the sale to put me at ease.

So I’m announcing right now that Marionette is on sale for $0.99 on Amazon.com—I think. I can see the book on the Kindle Countdown list for the gay and lesbian section; however, I still can’t see the sale price. Right now I have my fingers crossed that everything will work out and that I make a few sales this week.

Indie publishing is like a rollercoaster ride. So many highs and lows and lots of stress. Have a good week everyone! 

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to I think my novel Marionette is on sale

    • TBM says:

      Thanks Bunny! Any luck selling your house yet?

      • We recieved several offers over the weekend now It’s just a case of establishing if any of them actually have any money.

      • TBM says:

        I have my fingers crossed for you. Best of luck and thank goodness for blogging so we can still be best of friends 🙂 Even though I don’t think you’re moving that far away

      • Only about 90 minutes by car, you’ll have to come and stay with Miles

      • TBM says:

        That would be awesome. He loves to travel and I think I can take him on the train. We sold our car in the States, which is a good thing since I’m still not used to driving on the left. I never know what way to look now when I cross the street.

      • It doesn’t take long to get used to but yeah of course you can always bring him on the train.

      • TBM says:

        Well to be honest, I wasn’t the best driver to begin with. It’s just safer for all if I take the train

      • Fair enough, well we’re off to Bristol/Weston-Super-Mare this weekend to see if we can find somewhere to buy, hopefully once that’s done we’ll be somewhat more excited and able to make better plans for the future.

      • TBM says:

        Having the details settled makes it so much easier and then you can start day-dreaming. I knew I was moving to London for months, but it wasn’t until I got my visa approved and had a flat lined up until it started feeling real for me.

        Happy house hunting!

  1. What a nail biter! You must have panicked a bit there! Fingers crossed it all goes smoothly and you’ll sell TONS of copies 🙂

  2. Paulita says:

    Your book is definitely available for 99 cents in the U.S. and I purchased a copy. Hope your sales go big this week.

    • TBM says:

      Thanks so much for not only buying a copy, but for confirming the sale for me. Such a relief! I hope you enjoy Marionette and I loved your novel, I See London I See France.

  3. But aren’t roller coasters a blast? So much for fun than the lame little merry-go-round I’m on :).

  4. hilary says:

    Good luck with the sale!!!

  5. bulldog says:

    Hope your sale works well for you…

  6. Sounds like extra stress, you don’t need. I hope things work out. Thanks for the inside scoop on the book…my Kindle still has room. 🙂

  7. Beth Ann says:

    I will tweet it out!!!! I hope that you sell a bazillion copies!

  8. Lucid Gypsy says:

    It’s £1.53 her and I’ve just bought it. Always intended to but my book pile is so huge I can’t cope!

    • TBM says:

      Ah thanks Gilly! Amazon wouldn’t let me list it here since I had it priced incorrectly and didn’t fix it in time for the promotion. They love their rules.

      I have a habit of buying more books than I read. I need to take a year or two off to catch up. Happy reading!

  9. Sherri says:

    Sounds very stressful but glad that it is getting sorted out.. I really need to get a Kindle. I keep saying that but my birthday isn’t until September…I’m missing out 😦

  10. Hope you have a great week, too, TB, and good luck with the sale!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  11. viveka says:

    Good Luck and Congratulations.

  12. Colline says:

    I am holding thumbs for you TBM

  13. I wish you many sales and reviews. I just got my copy.

  14. Jo Bryant says:

    good luck…goodness it all seems so complicated

    • TBM says:

      I think once I figure out the system it’ll be much easier. That is until they change the system. They like to keep people on their toes

  15. I’ve got a book post coming up soon, so I’ll try and remember to promote your blog and your book along with a few others. If I can tear away from the pesky puppy for long enough, I may even finish the Breaking Dawn review. Although you know what it will say by now 😀

    • TBM says:

      wow! that would be great. Thanks so much! I look forward to your post. My dog has a way of interfering with my productivity as well. I’m a sucker for the sad face.

  16. The sale price showed up for me when I clicked on your link, TB. I hope your sale is a big success!

  17. Pingback: Interview Series with Book Reviewers: Jonel Boyko | Making My Mark

  18. Wow, that’s awesome that Amazon was so responsive. 🙂

  19. Best wishes with the sale! Congrats, TBM.

  20. The Guat says:

    Dude. Usually I hate sales and shopping. It gets so crowded, but this sale seems to rock. But of course I’m late. But like always the technology surpasses my current circumstances. I’m still lame, no Kindle no tablet. Just a laptop. Hope the sale went well.

    • TBM says:

      It did, thanks! You aren’t lame. You’re talking to a historian. There are days I wish I lived without technology. Not having hot water and a toilet would be hard for me though.

  21. Pingback: Some tales about monkeys without tails. And some self-publishing tales without monkeys. | roughseasinthemed

Leave a Reply

