Review and Giveaway of I See London I See France by Paulita Kincer

I see London cover
I See London I See France
By:  Paulita Kincer
Release date: December 15, 2013 at Lulu.com
Page count: 244
ISBN-13: 978-1304698889
Genre: Women’s Fiction
Tour schedule: Click here
My review:

Caroline is at a crossroads in her life. Her husband, Scott, walked out the door. She’s raising their three children. Caroline realizes that she’s lost her passion for life. It seems that everyone around her has something they are interested in. Something that drives them. Yet when she looks at her life, she’s lost the aspect that makes her an individual, not just a wife and mother.  She loves being a mom and she home-schools her three children. But she wants more.

One thing that she always loved in the past was travel. So Caroline decides to jump in head first. She sells the family minivan and whisks her three kids to Europe. She and the kids go on a quest.

I could relate with Caroline on some aspects. I love to travel. And there are times when everyday life gets to me. Laundry, dishes, cleaning the cat litter box—chores are never ending. When I travel I feel alive, exhilarated, and passionate. However, I’ve never traveled with three kids. I was curious about this part of the story.

Kincer pulled me into the story right from the start. I felt for Caroline. I cheered for her. And at times I wanted to talk some sense into her. And the children are wonderful characters. The youngest, Henry won me over completely. As Caroline traveled through England and then France I felt I was along the trip with them. The descriptions and short history lessons made the story come alive for me.

As the story progressed so did Caroline. She started off beaten and slowly but surely she came into her own. The evolution of Caroline as a woman is fascinating and inspiring. But can she discover what she was looking for? I won’t spoil it for you. But I will say, read the book to find out. Who knows, you may learn something about yourself.

SYNOPSIS

When her husband of a dozen years walks out in a huff, Caroline Sommers walks out too – to Europe, with her kids after impulsively selling her minivan for travel money. Tired of being the perfect wife, she escapes to rediscover herself, and possibly rekindle the unrequited love of a Frenchman from her college days.  While shepherding her kids from London to Scotland then Paris to Provence, she finds herself at a crossroads. Does she choose love, or lust, in the arms of a European man, or should she try again with the father of her children and the man she truly loved, once?
Paulita Kincer
Paulita Kincer is also the author of The Summer of France. She has an M.A. in journalism from American University and has written for The Baltimore Sun, The St. Petersburg Times, The Tampa Tribune, and The Columbus Dispatch, among other newspapers. She has traveled to France 10 times dragging her three children along twice. She currently teaches college English and lives in Columbus, Ohio, with her husband and three children.
Visit her blog at http://www.paulita-ponderings.blogspot.com
or follow her on Twitter @paulitakincer.
Like her Facebook page at Paulita Kincer Writer.
Email paulita@paulitakincer.com
Giveaway!
This competition is open internationally. One lucky reader will win an ebook copy of I See London I See France. All you have to do is leave me a comment below letting me know if you would prefer a mobi or epub file. I’ll select the winner on Wednesday, March 5th.
I See London banner (1)
About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Book Tours and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Review and Giveaway of I See London I See France by Paulita Kincer

  1. This sounds really good and I just love the cover. I used to love to travel but haven’t been able to do it as much in recent years, so virtual traveling through this book sounds like fun. 🙂 Congrats to Paulita – it’s great to meet another Ohioan!

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Yay Ohio! Sounds like an interesting book . You find the neatest people!!! 🙂

  3. Sherri says:

    Love the sound of this book. Hope you are having a good weekend TB 🙂

  4. I like to travel too — but there’s no place like home.

  5. This sounds like a delightful read. Three children in tow? Oh my.
    If I should be so lucky to be chosen, I believe an e-book would work. BTW, what does mobi stand for? 😀

  6. Kimberly says:

    This book sounds great – how brave is someone to sell their belongings and travel! Congrats to Paulita.

  7. Thanks for the introduction. This sounds like a good book, and I so love the cover!

  8. Sounds like another good one – epub please :).

  9. Great description. Thanks for the giveaway. You can put my name in the hat for mobi.

  10. Pingback: France Book Tours stops for March 2-8 | France Book Tours

  11. Pingback: Paulita Kincer on Tour: I See London I See France | France Book Tours

  12. so glad so many readers have already read your wonderful review! Thanks T.B. Emma

    • TBM says:

      it’s great to see such a positive response especially since I really enjoyed the book and I want others to know about it.

  13. Suko says:

    “And there are times when everyday life gets to me. Laundry, dishes, cleaning the cat litter box—chores are never ending.” Yes, unfortunately, and they do take time away from other pursuits, such as writing.

    Terrific review! It sounds as if you enjoyed this book a great deal.

Leave a Reply

