Introducing my Interview Series with Reviewers

So far on my blog I’ve tried to show the ins and outs of publishing including the writing, editing, formatting, and promotion. There’s one aspect I’ve discussed briefly but haven’t really explored yet and that’s reviews. I’ve mentioned how important reviews are, especially for Indie authors. But that’s not the full story. Who writes the reviews? Today I’m trying something new by interviewing a book reviewer. Actually I hope over time to interview many more so if you’re a book reviewer and would like to sit down for a chat, let me know. I’m hoping through this process all of us can learn. Reviews are vital and that means that the people who write them deserve a lot of respect for their dedication to authors. Not only are they giving authors their time, which is valuable, they’re sharing their thoughts and telling us what works and what doesn’t. This is imperative for writers.

Allow me to introduce Regann.

Can you tell us a little about yourself? 

11895508Hello everyone! I’m Regann and I’d like to thank T.B. for having me! When I’m not reading I work in retail and currently am in my last online semester for Business Management.  I plan to continue my education in Business (blah) or in English (dream but not practical).  I am in my mid-twenties and live with my partner in the Midwest.  We currently have two fur babies- a domestic longhair named Ginger and a Persian/Selkirk Rex mix named Blueberry (aka Boobie).  We also have three reptile babies, two bearded dragons and a new leopard gecko that I adopted.  In my free time I enjoy trying new things, going to new places, and trying out a variety of wines.  My favorite is Kendall Jackson Grand Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon (amazing!).

How long have you been a book reviewer? When did you start your blog? 

Well- that is a hard question to answer! In my youth I loved reading and was the only one in my class ecstatic to write book reports.  However, since joining the online book world I’ve been reading and reviewing since late 2012.  I started my blog in August of 2013 and am extremely happy I did.  I wanted a blog that wasn’t the same as all of the others out there and wanted to give a specific field of books a chance to be heard.

You participate in a lot of book tours. Do you ever feel overwhelmed?

Sometimes I do feel overwhelmed- there are so many books I want to read- but of course not enough time!  I decided that I wanted my blog to be mine and review all of the books myself so one person can only read so many so fast! Luckily all of the authors who have generously provided a book for review are very patient and I am grateful.  Although I operate my blog alone I am always willing to host guest posts!

What are looking for when an author asks you to review a book?

When an author asks for a review I first look if the book fits in the spectrum of the books I review.  If yes, I’m generally willing to give it a try!

What mistakes do authors make when requesting a book review? Any pet peeves?

99% of all authors I’ve interacted with have been wonderful and friendly-no complaints!  The only pet peeve I have is I’ve received a few requests for books that were way out of the theme I read and in my opinion it is hard for me to want to read a book if the author didn’t take time to read the tagline on the front page of my blog.

You like to read many different genres. Is there one that you just can’t get into no matter how hard you try?

I tend to read genres in binges- I’ll read one specific genre for a couple of months with a few others in between and then my tastes will change.  One type of book I can’t get enough of is definitely stories with the “bad girl” or destructive women.  I love when authors surprise me with twists and I’ll take an emotional gut punch ending over a happily ever after.

Any advice for authors trying to get reviews?

Hmm… take a chance on new reviewers or new blogs.  Sign up for a blog tour- you never know who will choose to host your book even if 90% of the other books on tour are mainstream.  Use readers who rate everything 5 stars sparingly.  Be patient.  I co-moderate a Goodreads group called F/F Romance and we have an in-house authors list.  We have challenges and group reads of the author’s books and joining in or offering your book for a group read is a great way to get exposure or reviews. That is about all of the advice I have!

Thanks Regann! You can find Regann here:

Blog-> http://www.lipsticklesbianreviews.com/

Facebook-> https://www.facebook.com/LLreviews

Twitter-> https://twitter.com/LLreviews

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Interviews with Reviewers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Introducing my Interview Series with Reviewers

  1. Great interview, TB. Frankly, I was not fully aware of the fact that there were folks who simply did book reviews. I mean, I didn’t know there were folks like Regann, for whom that was their thing.

    Have a great weekend, my friend.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  2. Thanks for the intro! It sounds as though Regann needs to take one of those month long “just read” vacations too!

  3. Great interview! Thanks for posting! I’ve been looking up different review sites over the last few weeks and I always wondered what it was like reading and reviewing all the books. I don’t even have time to read one. 🙂 Nice to meet you Regann!

  4. This was interesting reading about Regann and the blogging and reviewing angle of what she does. Reviewers are a necessary part of a writer’s career. If I weren’t a writer, I’d probably be one myself. I liked writing book reports and enjoy writing reviews today.

  5. Kimberly says:

    Awesome interview – loved learning more about Regann (love her name too!) and will check out her blog.

  6. bulldog says:

    That does sound like hard work to me… but good on Regann… glad someone does it…

    • TBM says:

      It’s a lot of work and I really appreciate reviewers like Regann who take the time to read and review. It’s a wonderful gift for writers.

  7. Great interview! Book bloggers are a really important part of the indie journey. Thanks for sharing some insight. 🙂

  8. Group reads. I’ve never heard of the idea but I LIKE it. 🙂

  9. What a neat idea for an interview series! I used to run a book review blog and can relate a lot to Regann’s answer in the “mistakes authors make” question. I had definitely gotten a few review requests in the past that made me wonder if the writer even glanced at my blog at all!

    • TBM says:

      Oh I’m sure I’ve made some mistakes when asking for reviews. I have to remind myself to slow down and take that extra minute or two to make sure I’m contacting the right person and spelling their name correctly. It’s the little things that can really mess you up and make you look unprofessional.

  10. Neat idea for a series, TB. Regann sounds like an avid reader and a great reviewer.

  11. Pat Hatt says:

    Some great tips and insights

  12. So wonderful to hear from Regann. Her answers were interesting and gave us an insight into a book reviewers thoughts on reviews. I always love to hear what other reviewers have to say and get their take on things. I can relate to feeling like there is never enough time to read all the books we want to read. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    • TBM says:

      I would love to be able to take some time to just read and catch up on my review pile and the books I want to read for pleasure. Someday I might just do that.

  13. Sherri says:

    Wonderful that there are people like Regann who take the time to do all these reviews and thanks for this great interview TB, very helpful and insightful information about this all-important part of the publishing process that perhaps we don’t think about as much as we should.
    Hope you had a good weekend and here’s to a good week ahead 🙂

    • TBM says:

      Before I published my first novel, I didn’t take the time to learn too much about book bloggers. I mean I chatted with many via my 50 year blog, but didn’t think about the reviewing option for my books. I’ve learned so much in a small amount of time. Have a great week!

  14. Regann says:

    I have read through all of the comments and wow *big head* thank you so much for showing interest in my interview and checking out my blog! Also thank you T.B. again for having me!

Leave a Reply

