Review and Giveaway: Tighter, Tighter by Lynn Kear

Today I’m pleased to review Tighter, Tighter by Lynn Kear. This is the second novel I’ve read by the author and I have to say I’m quickly becoming a devoted fan. Before I say more, here’s the review from Goodreads:

Eighteen-year-old Kath Branch disappeared from St. James, Illinois in 1975. That same night, local sandwich shop owner Billy Carlson was gunned down and dumped in the St. James River.

This cold case is personal for prosecutor Meredith Carlson. Billy was her husband’s father.

Convinced she’s solved the case, Meredith lures the now legendary rock star back to her hometown for the first time since she left thirty-five years ago.

Meredith has no idea she’s about to unearth shocking secrets about herself, her husband, and her family.

A few months ago, I read and reviewed Black-Hearted Bitch and really enjoyed it. I mentioned in that review that Kear hooked me right away. The same can be said for this novel, Tighter, Tighter. From the very beginning I wanted to know more. I won’t try to explain too much since I don’t want to accidentally include any spoilers, which is why I copied the synopsis for this review. I hate finding out too much before I read a book.

The story has a lot going on and there are a few twists and turns. Yet, Kear’s writing simplifies the plot. She has a unique way of throwing a lot of curve balls at the reader without confusing the reader. Sometimes authors are too busy keeping their readers off-balance that they forget that the plot has to make sense. This isn’t the case with this book. Even though Kear kept me on my toes, I never thought I was lost at sea. Each chapter added to the suspense.

The characters are all pretty selfish and I didn’t relate to them personally, but I found myself liking many of them on some level. It’s difficult to create flawed characters and yet still make them somewhat likeable and I have to give kudos to Kear for accomplishing that.

I didn’t intend on reading it in two days, but I did. Simply could not put this book down. I look forward to reading more by Kear.

Giveaway!

One lucky reader will receive an ebook copy of Tighter, Tighter. All you have to do is leave a comment below letting me know if you would prefer a Kindle copy or the PDF. I’ll select the winner randomly on Monday, February 3rd. Good luck!

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Review and Giveaway: Tighter, Tighter by Lynn Kear

  1. bulldog says:

    Kindle thank you… sounds really good…

  2. No epub? That’s ok – if you would please put my name in the hat too, I will take a Kindle copy please if I am the lucky winner :).

  3. Love a story with twists and turns…sounds good. Thanks for the giveaway…Kindle gal. 🙂

  4. moonsong9 says:

    I would like a kindle version please.

  5. If I’m lucky, I’d like a Kindle. Another intriguing story.

  6. Colline says:

    Sounds like a well-written book TBM.
    (And if I am lucky enough to win I would like the Kindle version 🙂 )

  7. I’d love a Kindle copy! Thanks for the opportunity to win. You write such great reviews, I seem to always be adding more books to my TBR list whenever I come here. 🙂

  8. Nick says:

    Nice review. Please put me in the draw! 🙂 I’ve read a couple of Kear’s non fiction books and loved them (one on reincarnation and the other an Evelyn Brent biography). I’d absolutely love to read some of her fiction. Thanks! I’d like the pdf (if I’m lucky) please.

    • TBM says:

      I haven’t read her nonfiction yet, but I hope to. I love the time period she writes about. Thanks Nick and I have you down for a PDF if you win. Good luck!

  9. cleemckenzie says:

    I love stories with twists and turns as well as discovering old secrets! I’m in cleemckenzie@gmail.com I’ll take a Mobi!

  10. T.F.Walsh says:

    What a cool sounding book:) Nice review too. Kindle please.

  11. Two days? That’s when you know it’s a good book. I read THE ROAD in a couple days; couldn’t put it down. Have a great week, TB.

  12. You read it in two days? Wow! Definitely must be a good book, then, to be read that quickly!

  13. benzeknees says:

    You’re the Queen of give-aways this week! Epub for me please!

Leave a Reply

