HOW TO GET YOUR NOVEL NOTICED IN HOLLYWOOD

Today I’m happy to host Vanessa Morgan, the author of Drowned SorrowThe Strangers OutsideA Good Man and GPS With Benefits. Each of these stories have been adapted into movies. How did she accomplish this? Well she’s kind enough to share. Please welcome Vanessa Morgan.

I’m getting many questions from authors wanting to know how I managed
to get all my stories adapted into movies. While I never followed a
specific plan to accomplish this, I thought I’d share with you my
story about how I got several filmmakers interested in my books.

Everything started when my first novel of supernatural suspense,
Drowned Sorrow, was released. I was still working as a freelance
journalist at that time and had been invited to the film set of a
local horror movie. At the end of the day, I exchanged business cards
with the producer so we could send each other updates concerning the
article. He visited my blog url and was immediately fascinated with
the concept of Drowned Sorrow which was about a remote town where
water had become a supernatural element that can think, move, and
kill. He bought the book and contacted me a little later to ask if I’d
be willing to sell the movie rights. According to the latest news,
Drew Barrymore is slated to direct Drowned Sorrow.

My second film adaptation happened in a similar way. I’d been invited
to a movie premiere of a French film to write a review. One of the
crew members was looking to make his first short film. He too bought
Drowned Sorrow after visiting my blog. As I had nothing else published
at that time, he asked me if I had written any short stories in the
same vein. A few months earlier, I wrote The Strangers Outside in
which two sisters find themselves surrounded in a holiday cottage by
ominous figures in monk clothes. I’d been asked to contribute The
Strangers Outside for a short story collection, but the collection
never saw the light of day. The Strangers Outside got immediately
accepted to become a short film, which led me to publishing that same
short story on Amazon. Fun fact: my cat, Avalon, played a major part
in the movie adaptation of The Strangers Outside.

One movie opportunity led to the other. On the set of The Strangers
Outside, I met actor/producer Pierre Lekeux. He liked the work I’d
done on The Strangers Outside and asked me if I was interested to
write a French screenplay about vampires. In the weeks that followed,
I thought about how Pierre’s unique personality would mingle with
vampirism: a 54-year-old vampire, suffering from artritis and a
midlife crisis, who seduces lonely women to convince himself he’s
still desirable despite being ugly and old, and then eats them. Three
months later, I had a first draft of a screenplay titled Un homme bien
(translating in English as A Good Man). A Good Man / Un homme bien is
currently touring film festivals around the world.

While A Good Man was in production, I wrote the short film script GPS
With Benefits. I got the idea for GPS when I was in the car with a
friend. He was talking to his GPS device, insulting it, and I wondered
what it would be like if the device would be able to actually talk
back to the driver or even hit him if he wasn’t following the traffic
rules. The result I imagined was extremely visual and cartoonish; the
perfect idea for a short film. When the director of A Good Man heard I
had a new script ready, he asked to read it. GPS With Benefits will be
his next project and is currently in production.

So, that’s my story. As you can see, it doesn’t always take a million
copy bestseller for your novel to become a movie. Good luck with
yours.

Drowned Sorrow, The Strangers Outside, A Good Man and GPS With
Benefits are all available for purchase through the major retailers.
For more information on my books and their movie adaptations, feel
free to visit my blog http://vanessa-morgan.blogspot.com

About the Author:

V Morgan

Vanessa Morgan is known as the ‘female version of Stephen King’. Her screenplay, A GOOD MAN, is in production to become a feature film. She is also the author of DROWNED SORROW and THE STRANGERS OUTSIDE. If she’s not working on her latest supernatural thriller, you can find her reading, watching horror movies, blogging, digging through flea markets or indulging in her unhealthy addiction to her cat. She writes in English, Dutch and French.

92730701360283316082301

6356476

 

 

Purchase links:

Drowned Sorrow  The Strangers Outside  A Good Man  GPS With Benefits


About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Guest Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to HOW TO GET YOUR NOVEL NOTICED IN HOLLYWOOD

  1. Fascinating stuff, MTM! Thanks for the introduction to Vanessa. I’d love to have my mafia memoir made into a movie one of these days. But gotta finish the book first!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  2. Now those are some original concepts for books. And, female version of Stephen King?!? Definitely looking her books up!

  3. Hilary says:

    Wow…I love how everything fell in place.. And I love how Avalon played a part… I had no idea that all Vanessa’s stories were made into movies

  4. Beth Ann says:

    Very interesting!!!! Pretty neat to be able to “see” your words come to life, don’t you think??? Good for Vanessa!!! Thanks for sharing her with us today!

    • TBM says:

      Oh man it would be great to see one of my stories on the big screen. Heck, I wouldn’t mind seeing it on a little screen. It’s always wonderful to see someone chase their dreams and succeed. And how nice of her to stop by and share. Loved your Sadler teapot!

  5. I just finished reading Drowned Sorrow and loved it. So amazing that it will be a movie and Drew Barrymore will be directing, wow!
    This was so interesting to read. Congrats on all your success, Vanessa!

  6. Being known as the female version of Stephen King…very impressive! Thanks for the introduction to Vanessa, she’s accomplished so much at such a young age.

  7. Sherri says:

    What an inspirational and amazing story!

  8. KimberlyAfe says:

    How cool to get all of your novels made into movies! That is just awesome. Really great post, I enjoyed reading how this all came together for Vanessa. 🙂

  9. The Guat says:

    Dude this was a very cool interview/story piece. I always like to hear how people “make it” and that it’s not always the same path. Wish both of us the same luck! 🙂

  10. That is so cool! Congratulations, Vanessa.

  11. That is so awesome. I’m happy for Vanessa’s film success.

  12. rommel says:

    Awesome success stories!!! I like the sound of GPS with Benefits. Though I may not want to buy that. I don’t yell at my GPS, but it might be the first one to get irritated with me as I still cannot have a good sense of direction even with a GPS. Bwahahahaha. A Good Man sounds nice too, especially with the Film Fest inclusions.

    So what this post help you, eh? Are you pursuing to see some Hollywood connection?

    • TBM says:

      I have a horrible sense of direction as well. GPS has probably saved my life at least once, except when it told me to drive the wrong way down a one way street. I guess even my GPS can have a bad day.

      I haven’t pursued Hollywood at all. I asked the author for a guest post and she decided the topic. And I loved what she came up with. It’s always awesome to hear about other’s success. Gives me hope.

      How are things on your end?

  13. Sun says:

    amazing woman, Vanessa and she sounds so down to earth – something unexpected when i think Hollywood…can’t wait to see Drowned Sorrow. great write-up. thanks!

  14. Pat Hatt says:

    Awesome how you got so many made into movies, nice tips too.

  15. Amazing! Helps to know someone, that’s for sure. But the opportunities were there and you walked through the open door. Congratulations!

  16. DEZMOND says:

    Oohh, Drew is to direct Vanessa’s film! So exciting!

  17. Robyn Engel says:

    I didn’t know about any of this regarding Vanessa. Yet she is so humble. That’s what I appreciate most about her. Thanks, Vanessa and TB, for the inspiration.

    xoRobyn

  18. This is so exciting! It’s also very encouraging. There are so many ways to succeed. The opportunities are there. It’s so cool that you turned your books into movies.

  19. Wow. How cool is that! 😀

  20. spunkonastick says:

    The right place at the right time – so often that is the case. Congrats on your success. Our books into movies or TV shows is every author’s dream.

  21. Very cool. So I guess the key is giving and receiving. You have to occupy the same space as these people at some point, eh? That’s why we moved to NYC while working on musical theater. Nothing shouts opportunity like proximity.

  22. What a brilliant chain of events. It proves you should always say yes to opportunities because you never know where they will lead! Congratulations, Vanessa, on all of your achievements 🙂

  23. Stephen Tremp says:

    I’ve never considered aspiring directors and producers looking for a book for their first film. That’s a great idea! Great post and thanks for sharing your story with us! Best wishes to you!

  24. What a wonderful post! It sounds like making connections is the key. Oh- and having great content, of course. Vanessa was prepared with business cards and an online presence and then kept making the connections. So happy for her!

Leave a Reply

