Review of The Headhunters Race and a Giveaway!

One of the best aspects about this blog is finding so many new wonderful authors. Kimberly Afe was a fantastic find. I signed up to help with her cover reveal last year. When I saw it I knew I had to read it.

The Headhunters Race Cover

But first, here’s the synopsis from Goodreads:

Sixteen-year-old Avene was sentenced to prison at thirteen for a crime she didn’t commit. Now she has a chance to win her freedom back – if she enters the Headhunters Race. Second prize isn’t so bad either, an upgrade to the Leisure Prison if you make it to the finish line. To win either prize, Avene and the other prisoners must navigate one hundred and fifty miles of dense forest, desert, and worst of all, cannibal territory.

With a mechanical collar timed to strangle the prisoners if they’re not back in nine days, Avene allies herself with seventeen-year-old McCoy, another prisoner that insists on helping her at every turn and a boy she’s trying hard not to fall for. Together they battle nature, other prisoners, and the timed death collars to win the coveted prize. But when Avene is tested with one deadly conflict after another, she realizes there is more at stake than winning her freedom – first she has to survive.

Like I said, when I saw the cover, I knew I had to read the book. The cover is intriguing and pulled me in. And I’m so happy to report that the book didn’t disappoint. Right from the start I was hooked. Avene is one of those characters who I cheered for, but I also wanted to lecture her. She has some serious trust issues. I understood why, but I still wanted to shout, “Knock it off and learn to trust!”

There are so many twists and turns in this book that I bet I couldn’t name them all right now if put on the spot. I devoured the book in less than two days. I’ll admit, I stayed up late two nights in a row since I could not put this book down. I hope Afe does not make us wait too long for her next book. I want more right now. 

About the Author:

Author Photo KimberlyAfe

Kimberly is the mother of two awesome kids, wife of the nicest man in the world, and her dog’s best friend. She works for a software company by day and writes middle grade and young adult science fiction and fantasy novels in her spare time. She lives with her family in the beautiful Sonoran Desert.

Social Sites

Website     Goodreads     Twitter     Facebook     Blog

Giveaway!

Kimberly has been so kind to let me offer one ebook copy of her book. If you would like to enter the contest, please leave a comment below and let me know if you would like an epub, mobi, or PDF file. One random winner will be selected next Tuesday, January 21st.

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Review of The Headhunters Race and a Giveaway!

  1. Ooh, ooh, ooh, please enter me in the contest for an epub copy please. I would love to read this one :).

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Epub for me, too! Looks fabulous, simply fabulous. I love a good book with twists and turns and this one sounds like it would fit the bill!

  3. I’d love to read the book, but probably don’t have time right now, so let’s give more chances to other readers and leave me out of the contest. I will put this one on my list, however. Sounds excellent.

    Hope you are doing well, my friend. I have been so busy and not able to keep up with blogging. I do have a new post scheduled for tomorrow, but SO little time to read blogs. I’m sorry to have been absent this week. I tried something new in the creation of this piece, and it ate up way too much time–time as in days. Why do I do this to myself? LOL

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • TBM says:

      Oh I totally understand. It’s hard to keep up. No worries, Kathy. I hope your project is coming along and I’m curious about it 🙂

  4. Sigh. I read about this book recently but cannot recall where. Another title to add to my Must Read List. 😀

  5. viveka says:

    Great giveaway …. good luck everyone.

  6. simplyilka says:

    It’s a fantastic thing to promote a friend’s book. You are a real treasure. Be blessed 🙂

    • TBM says:

      Ah, thank you. It’s a pleasure helping another author and I’m finding everyone is so nice and giving. Such a great support network.

  7. tamalyn1 says:

    sounds really good, i am loving all the sci-fi, Dystopian type books that are comping out right now, i loved the recent partials series and lots more. i would definately give it a read x

  8. I read about this book somewhere also. I remember being impressed that Kimberly works full-time during the day and writes in her spare time…very impressive!

  9. T.F.Walsh says:

    Very cool sounding book and really like the cover.

  10. benzeknees says:

    This sounds like just the kind of book I love to read! I hope I win a copy so I get to read it!

  11. FreakChiq says:

    Sounds awesome! I’d love to win a copy (mobi, please).
    Thanks so much for the chance!

    sabina(dot)dezman(at)gmail(dot)com

  12. Talha says:

    Is the contest still on? I’m DYING for an epub.

Leave a Reply

