Review: The Ghosts of Aquinnah by Julie Flanders and Giveaway

Can you believe it’s 2014? And can you believe that I already have my first review done for the new year? It wasn’t hard finishing this book since I was hooked from the first page. And Julie Flanders has been kind enough to let me give two copies away. More details below.

Before I share my thoughts, here’s the synopsis:

Julie coverA brilliant flash of light transcends through time.

Another freezes a cloaked figure within a frame of salty mist as waves crash against a rocky shore. Her harrowing expression shadows the beacon to a pinprick.

By the next blaze, she is gone. Only the lighthouse remains.

Hannah’s eyes blink in step with each heartbeat. Images of her deceased parents and Martha’s Vineyard explode like firecrackers inside her mind.

She shakes her head.

For weeks this eerie woman dressed in nineteenth century garb has been haunting my webcam, but tonight she stared into my soul.

Why? …

Who is she? …

Casting aside months of research on historic lighthouses, Hannah drives to the coast and boards a ferry.

What is the strange connection she has to this mysterious woman suspended in time?

Hannah finds out.

But, it’s not at all what she expects…

Hannah unravels a century old murder.

My Review:

Hannah is trying to write a book on New England lighthouses. But she has writer’s block. Not only that, her boyfriend is not supportive and to be blunt, he’s an ass. Hannah desperately wants to find a hook to get her creative juices flowing and to give her book the edge it needs.

One night, while watching one of the lighthouses webcams in the comfort of her Boston apartment, Hannah spies a woman dressed in old-fashioned clothes. She’s intrigued. Then on a different occasion the mysterious woman looks directly at the camera. Is she sending Hannah a message? Thus starts Hannah’s quest to find out more about the woman and the past.

The story pulled me in right away. I won’t lie, I stayed up late two nights in a row since I couldn’t put the book down. The author is familiar with the area and her descriptions made me miss New England. The novel jumps back in forth in time, but it’s done so well that the flow of the story never feels disconcerting. Each chapter revealed another layer and as I said the more I learned the harder it was to set it aside. I kept saying, “Just one more chapter and I’ll go to bed.”

All the characters, even the wicked ones, have depth. Even though I really hated one character in particular, I was happy to see that Flanders didn’t make him a cardboard cutout.

This novel has so many components that I love: history, a ghost, a love story, mystery, and character development. Flanders ties them all together seamlessly. This is the first book that I’ve read my Flanders. Now I need to track down a copy of her other novel, Polar Night.

Author Bio:

authorpic

Julie Flanders is a novelist and freelance writer in Cincinnati, Ohio. She has a life-long love affair with the ocean and has spent more summer vacations than she can count on the island of Martha’s Vineyard. When not writing, Julie can be found playing with her pets, reading, cheering on her favorite sports teams, and watching too much television. The Ghosts of Aquinnah is Julie’s second novel. Her debut novel Polar Night was released in February, 2013 by Ink Smith Publishing.

Find Julie at:

Website ~ Blog ~ Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Goodreads

Buy The Ghosts of Aquinnah:  Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Smashwords ~ Ink Smith Store

And now for the Giveaway! 

If you would like to win an ebook copy of The Ghosts of Aquinnah just leave me a comment below letting me know if you would prefer an epub, mobi, or PDF file. The winners will be selected randomly on Monday the 13th. Best of luck!

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Review: The Ghosts of Aquinnah by Julie Flanders and Giveaway

  1. Back and forwards is difficult to achieve successfully. But history, sea, coast etc always make for a good mix. Hmm, not that I can write sensibly right now about books as I did finish BD 😀 But I only stayed up until 1am. Of which more later.

    • Oh, am I eligible for a PDF? I tend to ignore giveaways as they are usually NA based but if I am this sounds good. You have my email.

      • TBM says:

        Yes you are eligible. It’s open internationally. 1am. I really can’t wait to hear your thoughts on BD. I read it many years ago so I’ll try to remember as much as I can.

      • Stop it!! I’ve got it there on the table and you are making me want to read it again to start critiquing it. I had to pick up another book afterwards to get away from it. I would like to read another one in the series though. Easy enough to write, suddenly Bella is discontented. For whatever reason she can’t see her mum, she can’t have any more kids, no Edward Jacob. Nessie is it. Fin. Much as she loves Edward as she does, the old world is receding leaving her with – what? Or something like that. And naughty Nessie is of course part human and taunts her.

      • TBM says:

        I wonder if she would ever return to it. I mean King wrote a sequel to The Shining how many decades later? Two, three?

      • Oh, I didn’t know that. Never read the books, but the film was wicked. I have to say Iove Jack Nicholson, well as did most women, but I mean as an actor. He was so over the top in the film but he was still great. Spooked the life out of me! But yours is a book blog not a film blog so I will stop there. Don’t like King actually.

      • TBM says:

        I’ve only read a few books by King and I started with his On Writing book and I enjoyed that. Then I read ‘Salem’s Lot and The Shining. Now I consider myself a fan. I didn’t think I would be, but I do like him. Now I haven’t read that many by him and it will take me years to catch up.

        I love Jack. He was so creepy in the movie.

  2. Sherri says:

    Love the sound of this book! Happy 2014 TB 🙂

  3. Yes, yes, this sounds like a great book! And a wonderful review! I don’t know what form I would need. Sorry to be so ignorant. I’d like to read on Kindle, whichever version that is.

    Hope you all had a great holiday and were able to keep your electricity on. I heard that it went out for some folks. I’ve been out of the loop and on the road over the holidays–though I think I already mentioned that. Trying to catch up. YIKES!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • TBM says:

      No worries. For Kindles you can read a mobi file or a PDF. I ask for PDFs myself since it can be difficult sometimes to upload a mobi file unless you purchase it directly from Amazon. I can send pdfs via email to my kindle. Have you tried that? If you don’t know your Kindle email address I think you just need to go to your manage your kindle page on Amazon and it will be there.

      We still have electricity, but the weather has been crazy. So much wind and rain. Hope you had a great time with your friends.

      Happy New Year!

  4. Beth Ann says:

    Oh goodness that one sounds great!!! How about an epub if I am a lucky winner? I don’t always like novels that do the jumping back and forth because my feeble mind can’t handle it but it sounds like this author has mastered that technique successfully. Happy New Year! I am impressed you have your first review done already! Good on ya!

    • TBM says:

      It’s really clear when it jumps back and forth. But I know what you mean, sometimes I feel like I have to take notes to keep up. Not with this one!

      Happy New Year!

  5. Happy New Year! Nice way to ring in the year, this book sounds like a winner. I’d love to read it. I have a Kindle, so I’m assuming…PDF? Thanks for the great review and the giveaway! 🙂

  6. This book sounds most intriguing – just the thing to read on a stormy winter night tucked up in bed, with the wind whistling round the windows 🙂
    I’d love to read it – on Kindle. I’ve loaded dozens of books from Gutenberg to my computer and then transferred them to my Kindle. It says “File Type – Kindle content”, but I’m pretty sure they’re MOBI.
    Please put my name in the hat too!

    Happy New Year.

  7. Thanks again for this review and for hosting the giveaway, TB, you’re so awesome! And thanks all for your comments, I’m thrilled you are interested in the book. 🙂

  8. KimberlyAfe says:

    Great review! I’m buying this book soon. I’m compiling a list of books (including Marionette!) to buy with my Amazon gift card – woot! I’m looking forward to reading both! 🙂

    • TBM says:

      You’ll love Julie’s book and thanks so much for buying a copy of Marionette. And that reminds me, I have a gift card to use! BTW, I’m loving your book.

  9. Great review! I’m not surprised you stayed up late reading this book. I stayed up late, too, back when I read Julie’s other book, Polar Night! (I wanted to finish it in one sitting, heh.)

    Also, for the giveaway, I’d say PDF!

  10. Oooh, oooh, oooh, please put my name in the hat for epub. This book sounds awesome! Sorry it took me so long to read your blog today, but we were busy digging out from our latest round with Old Man Winter, and then I spent the afternoon editing all the pictures I took. Now time to snuggle up on the couch under a blanket and read :).

    • TBM says:

      At least you got a snow day, but not sure about the shoveling bit. Of course your name is in the hat! Hope you had a great night reading.

  11. T.F.Walsh says:

    What a great sounding book… been meaning to get my hands on this book too:)

  12. I loved Julie’s first book Polar Night, and I just started reading Ghosts last night. I can’t wait to get into it!

  13. The Guat says:

    Dude. You started off your year right! Dude the book sounds pretty good and if you stayed up two nights in a row … then definitely worth it. I’m gonna have to check it out and see if they have a paperback version … you know me and my old school self 🙂 Hey is your stuff out on paperback yet? You said you’d let me know. Otherwise there’s an app I can get for my computer where I can get some e-books. Let me know. 🙂

    • TBM says:

      I believe Julie’s book is available in paperback. Old school self–I love it.

      And yes, one of my first accomplishments this year was to finally get A Woman Lost out in paperback. It’s available on Amazon. I haven’t made the big announcement yet. I will soon. But it is available now. This year my goal will be to get Marionette in paperback, but after the obstacles I faced getting Lost in paperback I need to take a breather. Seriously, nothing went right with that project. But it’s done and that’s all that matters.

  14. Denna says:

    Your review definitely makes me want to read this book. If I should be lucky enough to be picked, I’d prefer the PDF version.

  15. benzeknees says:

    This definitely sounds like a book I would like to read! Stand by for questions coming soon . . .

  16. jasmine1485 says:

    Happy New Year and thank you for a great giveaway 🙂 I’d love this in a .mobi format if I win (that IS the kindle format, isn’t it?)

Leave a Reply

