Author Interview: Jennifer Gilby Roberts

Don’t forget to stop by Milo James Fowler’s blog today to see all the awesome authors who are giving away books!

Today is the last day to enter the giveaway for my book, Marionette. If you’d like to throw your name in the hat, hop over here and leave a comment.

Colline reviewed Marionette on her blog today–thanks Colline for the kind words and it’s a wonderful way to start my weekend.

Whew, now that all the announcements are done, let’s get to the interview. Today, Jennifer Gilby Roberts is visiting. I found her on Goodreads and when I saw she had a book called After Wimbledon, I sent her an email asking if she would be willing to do an interview. Many of you know I’m a huge tennis fan.  It’s my pleasure to introduce Jennifer Gilby Roberts!

Tell us about your background and how you ended up writing.

I wrote plenty of stories as a kid, but – like a lot of writers – I got started for real writing fanfiction.  The first stuff was for a science fiction TV show called Farscape, when I was a member of a forum which included several other writers.  We were all very into one of the supporting characters and wanted there to be more stories about him, so we wrote them!  I’ve also written fanfiction based on Lord of the Rings, The Silmarillion and Torchwood.  Really, I should be writing science fiction as I also have a degree in physics, but my main interest has always been the relationships between the characters.

I’d always meant to write a novel and it was on my gap year that I sat down and wrote The Dr Pepper Prophecies.  I’d just read Sophie Kinsella’s Can You Keep a Secret? and just killed myself laughing over it and I wanted to try and write something that would make people laugh as much.  After Wimbledon, which I wrote several years later, was more about exploring feelings I was going through at the time.  The first draft was rather angsty, but the final version is considerably lighter.

 How would you describe your writing?

It’s probably closest in style to Sophie Kinsella’s.  My books feature dry humour, sweet (occasionally sexy) romance, things going tits up and happy endings.

What’s your book, The Dr Pepper Prophecies, about? How did you come up with the title?

18779835It’s a modern version of Jane Austen’s Emma, although the lead character is closer to Bridget Jones.  Basically, it’s about a young woman who sets out to improve the lives of the people she loves and makes a complete hash of it.

The title is a reference to a series of adverts for the soft drink Dr Pepper (I found out later that they were only shown in the UK) that had the tag line ‘What’s the worst that could happen?’ and featured worst case endings to various scenarios.  They were very popular when I wrote it and can still be viewed on YouTube.

Why did you decide to self-publish?

Over the years I’d thought of trying to get an agent and then a publisher for The Dr Pepper Prophecies and had even drafted query letters, but I’d never actually sent them out.  My husband bought me a Kindle – after much resistance on my part, I have to admit – and shortly afterwards I discovered that anyone could publish Kindle books on Amazon.  I just sort of did it, with very little thought or knowledge.  I should probably have learned more about the process first, but then I might have chickened out again!

18809382I read that you wrote After Wimbledon after being in Melbourne for the Australian Open. Are you a tennis fan? Who is your favorite player?

I do enjoy tennis.  I went through a phase when I was very into it and that’s when I wrote After Wimbledon.  I don’t follow it as much now, but I still watch Wimbledon.  My favourite player is Roger Federer.  I was lucky enough to see him play in Melbourne in the Rod Laver Arena (the equivalent of Centre Court at Wimbledon) and that was brilliant.  Though sadly it was just about the time he contracted mono, which ended his total dominance in the game.

Do you plot out your novels from the start or do you let the story develop along the way?

The Dr Pepper Prophecies had quite a detailed plan and character sketches before I started out, which is probably why the final version is so close to the first draft.  When I wrote After Wimbledon I had a basic plan of major events – especially who was playing what when, as it’s based around the Wimbledon Championships – but a lot of the plot developed along the way.  With my third novel, I’m trying something different.  I have no written plan and I’m not even writing it in order, just adding scenes as they come into my head.  At some point I’ll have to pull it all together and fill in the gaps, but so far it’s working pretty well.

It doesn’t really matter which approach you use.  The very structured approach is good for avoiding writer’s block, because you always know what needs to be written next.  Giving yourself more freedom can result in some really good ideas that you might not otherwise have thought of, but you’re also likely to cut out a lot when you start editing.

 Who are your favorite writers?

I think the best writer I have come across is Erich Segal.  He is best known for Love Story, but I prefer Doctors, Acts of Faith and The Class.  They are full of amazing characters and incredible detail and just bring different worlds to life.  I’ve read each of them many times and they lose nothing from familiarity.

Which book do you wish you had written?

I can’t deny that, from a financial point of view, it would be nice to have written something wildly popular like Harry Potter or Twilight.  But then I would end up famous and I don’t actually want that.  When I walk down the street half-asleep with something sticky down my front (I have a toddler), I do not want people asking for my autograph.  I never know what to say when someone says they’ve read my book, even when they’re people I know.

What advice would you give to authors?

  1. Don’t start editing until you’ve completed the first draft, otherwise you’ll never finish it.
  2. Always proofread on paper and get someone else to look at it as well.
  3. At least in the beginning, write what you want to write and don’t think about what will sell.  There’s an audience out there for everything.

Author Bio

Author Pic

Jennifer Gilby Roberts has a degree in physics and a postgraduate certificate in computing, so a career writing fiction was inevitable really. She was born and grew up in Surrey/Greater London, but now lives in Richmond, North Yorkshire with her husband, small daughter, two middle-aged cats and a lot of dust bunnies.

Taking care of her daughter is now her main job, but previously she worked many thrilling jobs in administration.  In these she learned the real truth of business: that every successful executive would be lost without their PA.

She can also be found getting red-faced at zumba class, reading historical porn (as her husband calls it – Regency romance to the rest of us) and humming nursery rhymes while going round Tesco.  Her current obsessions include toffee crisp bars, Costa fruit coolers and the TV show Torchwood.

JGR writes chick lit novels and short stories featuring sweet (occasionally sexy) romance, dry humour and things going tits-up.  They will especially appeal to fans of Sophie Kinsella, Marian Keyes and Jane Costello.

Her first novel The Dr Pepper Prophecies is a laugh out loud romantic comedy, best described as Jane Austen’s Emma with Bridget Jones in the lead.

After Wimbledon, her second novel – about making big changes, falling in love and tennis – is due out late 2013.

She would like to thank everyone who’s reviewed her work.

Blog:
http://jennifergilbyroberts.wordpress.com/

Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/JenniferGilbyRoberts

Twitter:
https://twitter.com/GilbyRoberts

Goodreads:
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7091029.Jennifer_Gilby_Roberts

Library Thing:
http://www.librarything.com/author/robertsjennifergilby

Shelfari:
http://www.shelfari.com/authors/a1002711830/Jennifer-Gilby-Roberts/

Amazon:
http://author.to/JGR

Smashwords:
https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/jennifergilbyroberts

 

Advertisements

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Author Interview: Jennifer Gilby Roberts

  1. Colline says:

    I enjoyed reading you book T.B. It is a wonderful thing to see a fellow blogger realize her dream 🙂

    • TBM says:

      Thanks Colline! I couldn’t have reached this dream without all of my supporters, including all of you wonderful blogging buddies. Everyone was so supportive and that means a lot. Have a wonderful holiday.

  2. Thank you very much for inviting me.

  3. Pingback: New Author Interview | Jennifer Gilby Roberts

  4. What a great interview. I also never know what to say when someone says they’ve read my book, I immediately get uncomfortable even though it’s a thrill for someone to have read it. Very good point about the famous authors.
    Nice to meet you, Jennifer and thanks for sharing, TB!

    • TBM says:

      I handle the “I’ve read your book” comment a little better online since I have time to craft a response, but it’s still awkward. In person I just stand there looking stupid. I’m really good at that look. My pleasure introducing you two 🙂

  5. Great interview! Doctors is one of my all time favorite books. Thanks for the great advice, Jennifer.

  6. cleemckenzie says:

    Thanks for introducing these books and the author to us, TBM. Have a great holiday.

  7. jakesprinter says:

    Wonderful post my friend very inspiring 🙂

  8. Very cute-er-uh-I mean cool covers!

  9. Her books sound amazing. Thanks for introducing me to Jennifer.

  10. rommel says:

    Love her advices. If I am to write something, it will be mystery. I just don’t have the brain to think it and the eloquence do it.

  11. Pingback: [Guest Post] A Woman Lost by T B Markinson | Jennifer Gilby Roberts

  12. Pingback: [Guest Post] A Woman Lost by T B Markinson - Jennifer Gilby Roberts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s