Help! I don’t have internet access!

Hello everyone. I wanted to pop in briefly and let all of you know what’s going on. My internet provider is having issues, hence I don’t have internet at home. Once it is up and running, I’ll respond to your comments and will visit your blogs. I have no idea when it will be fixed. Apparently it’s an issue that is affecting thousands of people in London and they are working on it, but it has been out for over a day and it’s not looking good. I’m trying to stay positive.

The timing is horrible, but isn’t it always. Yesterday I guest posted on Sherri Matthews blog and I feel horrible that I haven’t been able to pop in and chat with her readers. I will as soon as I can. If you would like to know more about my very first impression about London when I moved here, hop on over and check it out.

Today I guest posted on Renee Johnson’s blog. I shared with her why it took me so long to take writing seriously since I’ve wanted to be a published author since I was a child. Here’s the link.

My apologies for everyone for not staying in better contact. On a positive note, I’ve been very productive on the writing front and just edited the first draft of my next novel. Usually I drag that process out, but I had nothing else to do at home. Not having the internet is a pain but does help people like me—the ones who love to procrastinate.

I’ll be back soon … hopefully.

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Help! I don’t have internet access!

  1. Don’t ya just hate those glitches? Thanks for the heads-up about your service. It happens and we all understand. At least it should be good quiet time for writing and I know you’ve got another project simmering away. Good luck!

    • TBM says:

      It was wonderful to get through my first draft and make some edits. It’s not my favorite part of writing and now it’s done. Now time to fiddle with the second draft and have others read it.

  2. Stuck at someone else’s mercy (internet provider) isn’t my cut of tea but what can one do?
    Sorry to hear of your inconvenience. 😛

  3. Yes. No internet does have its advantages 😀 I enjoyed your post on Sherri’s, will be looking over at Renee’s later. Hope you get a speedy reconnection – after you have done some work of course!

  4. Beth Ann says:

    Poor TBM! No internet would be horrible!!!! We will all be right here when you come back. Patiently waiting. And yay for being productive!!!!

  5. rommel says:

    Just use your work’s computer. 😀 if you’re self-employed, use the school of your kids. 😀 If you don’t have any kids, then geez move to another country. 😆

    • TBM says:

      I do work from home and we don’t have kids. So I did option three: went to a pub. Not ready to move to a new country yet. Still recovering from the last international move 🙂

  6. Ah, there you are! Have those fancy fibres gone into a tangle again…? Sounds like they need a good ol’ squirt of conditioner. Why is this taking so long?!

  7. Don’t stress…we’re a patient group. 🙂 Internet issues are so frustrating, but take advantage of no distractions and write!

  8. Novroz says:

    I hope you’ll get it fixed soon 🙂
    We’ll be waiting.

  9. Even though my Internet access is fine, I’m light years behind on my blog reading and commenting. I will make an effort to eventually check your guest posts. Should we assume that you wrote this post at a pub? Glad to know that the upside to this outage has been rampant literary productivity. Jonathan Franzen completely unplugs when he writes allowing for complete and total focus.

    • TBM says:

      I did write this post at the pub. And I was one of many people with laptops trying to get caught up with work. One dude was on a business conference call and I felt bad for him since he was trying to act like he was at home. The meeting sounded oh so boring. Lots of statistics and such.

  10. Oh no, what a mess. I hope they are able to resolve the issues soon. Keeping my fingers crossed for you!
    On the bright side, I’m glad you’ve been able to focus on your writing! Maybe it would help me to be without internet, I am also a terrible procrastinator. 😀

  11. Anna says:

    Hopefully you will get the internet up and working soon again! It just shows how much we use/need it to keep up with everything! Even the smallest problems with internet connection drive me up the wall… 😀

  12. Oh, no, I hate it when that happens! Like Beth Ann said, we’ll be here when it comes back on. And it ‘s awesome that you’re getting work done–especially editing your next novel. Yippee!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • TBM says:

      Thanks Kathy! How’s your internet connection there? I had to laugh when I was in Honduras. We had a terrible time getting reception on our phones when we needed to call home to check on the boys and then when I was hiking with a guide in a rain forest I was so surprised when our guide made a phone call on his cell.

  13. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Oh no, I’m having problems too but with my PC and a million updates and back up messes so that I’ve spent five hours trying to sort it instead of having fun and I’m going to have to leave it running and go to bed! hope yours is sorted quickly!

    • TBM says:

      I hate that my PC needs updates all the time. Each time I complete one, it seems another one pops up. I hope yours is all set now. Happy Friday!

  14. Oooh, can’t wait for your next book :).

  15. KimberlyAfe says:

    It’s terrible when that happens! I hope it gets fixed for your soon!

  16. nrlymrtl says:

    I live in the sticks of northern New Mexico, so I totally understand limited or non-existent internet. On the other hand, since you can’t be blogging around all day, you have more time for your writing, right? 🙂

  17. bocafrau says:

    Oh, that’s really annoying. Drives me crazy when the internet is down… Hope you’ll be up and running soon.

  18. So sorry about your internet connection! I’ve had things like that happen to me, too. (Once it went on for so long that I had no choice but to switch providers.) Hope your connection returns soon, and that until it does, you manage to be even more productive than you’ve already been!

  19. cupitonians says:

    I hope they fix it soon but just after you finish your novel because, well, I’m allowed to be a selfish fan girl type reader, right? Take care!

    • TBM says:

      It seems to be working part of the time now, so I’ll still be able to work on my novel quite a bit. And of course you can be a selfish fan girl. I love it!

  20. pattisj says:

    Anyone who writes knows you have a lot going on. Just got our internet back–took two days to find out we have a little power box we can reset–aside from the modem and cable box. Now I have a backlog of emails and blogs to read, too.

Leave a Reply

