Author Interview: Chelsea Bellingeri

About a week ago I received a friend request on Goodreads. When I checked out the person’s profile I saw that the request came from an author. You know I love meeting authors. So I took a chance and emailed her to see if she would be willing to do an interview on my blog. Yep, she said yes. How cool is that? And talk about cool, Chelsea Bellingeri writes about werewolves, witches, and zombies! Let’s get to know her.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00065]

Can you tell us a little about your latest release, Monster Club: Case of the Ivy Hollow Werewolf? 

Yes, Monster Club is my baby.  Out of all of the books that I’ve written, it’s my favorite because it takes me back to childhood.  It’s my first venture into middle grade novels (my other five novels are in the young adult genre).  When people ask me what Monster Club is about, I always describe it as a modern day Scooby-Doo.  The series follows a group of kids who form a club to solve supernatural mysteries. In the first book of the series, Case of the Ivy Hollow Werewolf, a werewolf has been terrorizing the children’s town.  The members of Monster Club have to discover the werewolf’s identity and stop it before the next full moon, which happens to fall on the school’s annual carnival.

NEWC_ebook cover [600px x 900px @ 72dpi]_Final_06.28

Kindle Cover_LAZAYou’ve also written the New England Witch Chronicles. What type of research did you do for this project? What about for the Zombie Apocalypse Trilogy?

I spent a lot of time in the library for the New England Witch Chronicles (“NEWC”) series.  The NEWC series required a ton of research about the events of the Salem Witch Trials and some actual hard-to-believe historical events that took place in Scotland and New Orleans.  I also took a trip to Boston, Salem and Ipswich to get a feel of the area.  I wanted the setting in NEWC to come alive; I wanted the readers to feel the harsh winter and feel the palpable history in the air.  Love & the Zombie Apocalypse didn’t require as much research, but I did take a trip to Flint, Michigan to scout the location.  I visited the local establishments in Flint and took the “escape” route that I had my characters use in the novel.

You’ve written about a werewolf, witches, and zombies. Do you have a favorite? 

Witches, hands down.  They are limitless in what they can do, which makes them absolutely thrilling to write about.

How did you start your writing career?

I’ve been writing since the second grade, but I didn’t start writing professionally until 2008.  I was working as an attorney at a law firm in New York City and I absolutely hated it.  The only bright spot in my day was when I could read on the subway.  I devoured books in the little bit of spare time that I had and, after one particularly terrible day at work, I was on the train home and I said to myself, “I need to be doing what I love – I’m going to write novels.”  I started working on New England Witch Chronicles the next day and I haven’t looked back since.  It’s been one of the best decisions of my life.

What inspires you to write in the paranormal genre?

I read my first Anne Rice novel when I was eight.  It probably wasn’t age appropriate at the time, but I was hooked.  I love every aspect of the paranormal genre – books, TV shows and movies.

Some authors love promoting their books and others hate it. Where do you fall?

I don’t particularly love it and, I’d always prefer to be writing, but promoting is a necessary part of the job.  Promoting is time consuming and, it’s getting a little harder now that I have six novels out, but I try to set aside an hour each day to answer e-mails, work on social media outlets and all of the other aspects of marketing.

What’s the most embarrassing question you’ve been asked in an interview or during a book promotion tour?

Thank goodness I haven’t had any embarrassing questions yet, but I do have a confession – I get embarrassed every time someone asks me to sign a book.  It’s crazy because I’ve been doing it for a few years now and you’d think I’d get use to it, but I get super embarrassed every time.  My brain has a problem understanding why someone would want my autograph.  During my most recent book signing last month, I was a nervous wreck for two whole days of meet and greets.

What question do you wish interviewers would ask, but they never do?

I wished interviewers would ask me more about what consists of my workday.  Whenever people find out that I’m an author, they think that I sit around on the couch all day in my pajamas.  Writing is my full time job.  It’s how I support my family and, on any given day, I’m putting in 8 to 10 hours a day of writing, editing and marketing my books.  My life is absolutely chaotic – sometimes even more chaotic than it was when I was an attorney.  Being an author is a lot of hard work, but absolutely worth every minute.  I love my job!

Author Bio:

profile pic

Chelsea Bellingeri is the author of the best selling young adult series, New England Witch Chronicles. Chelsea received a Juris Doctorate from New York Law School in New York, New York in 2007, and a B.A. in Sociology, with a concentration in Criminal Justice, from the University of Tennessee in 2004. She lives in Tennessee with her husband, Joe, and their son, Jackson.

Follow her on Twitter: @C_Bellingeri

Click here to visit the Chelsea Bellingeri Facebook Author Page.

Click here to visit the New England Witch Chronicles Facebook Page

Click here for her website

Click here for her Amazon page

Click here for her Goodreads page

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Author Interview: Chelsea Bellingeri

  1. ilargia64 says:

    I would love being that brave!!! Thanks for these interviews, TBM!!! Hope your work is progressing well!! 🙂 🙂

    • TBM says:

      It would be hard to quit a successful career and dive head first into writing. I have to hand it to her, she’s made it successful.

      Thanks! It’s going well so far. Hope all is well with you.

  2. bulldog says:

    Sounds a clever woman… highly educated, her books should do well…

  3. Loving these interviews you are doing. Chelsea’s books sound fun! Thanks for the introduction.

    By the way, finished Marionette last night. Will do review in the next couple of days. I LOVED it!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • TBM says:

      I’m getting a kick out doing these interviews. So much fun to chat with so many different authors.

      And thanks! I’m so glad to hear you liked it. I look forward to reading your thoughts on it.

  4. OMG, you have to stop telling me about all these awesome books!! I think books about witches are my favourite too, and I really need to read the New England Witch Chronicles, but after a quick look it doesn’t look like they are in ebook format at all. Did Chelsea say anything about that?

  5. Jill says:

    A modern day Scooby Doo…what could be better than that! I had to laugh when I read she was working as a lawyer and “hated it.” I hear that so often. I love that Chelsea said to herself, that day on the train, that she was going to write novels and she did. What an inspirational interview!

    • TBM says:

      She really is an inspiration and so brave. And it makes me feel better that I didn’t pursue law, which some people (won’t name names) wanted me to.

      And I loved Scooby Doo. When she compared her recent story to that I was hooked.

  6. Ooh, The New England Witch Chronicles sounds right up my alley. So great to meet Chelsea! And I also get embarrassed when someone asks me to sign a book LOL.

    • TBM says:

      I bet you would love the series. I haven’t been asked, but I imagine my face would turn bright red. I hate being the center of attention and never know how to act or what to say. Of course, if we meet, I will ask for you to sign my book. Just a heads up.

  7. benzeknees says:

    I wish there were move authors like this out there when I was a young adult! Great interview!

Leave a Reply

