Author Interview: Joann Lee

 

Today I’m excited to have Joann Lee over for a chat. Earlier this year I read and reviewed her book, Broken Star. Click here for my review. Now book two, Unbreakable, is out and I’m so excited to read this one. Below you will find out how to enter a giveaway to win a book from Joann. Please welcome my guest and friend, Joann Lee.

17253216(2)Your novel is about a lesbian rock star who falls for a cop. What inspired you to write Broken Star?

I’ve always had a fascination for ladies in the police force. Who hasn’t? I wanted the officer, Alexis, to be the one who had a strong head on her shoulder. She’s well aware of the darkness in the world. She’s also a bit jaded. I’ve been a fan of Law and Order: Special Victim’s Unit since it first debuted. I have the upmost respect for anyone who works in sex crimes. Dealing with so much on a day-to-day basis is enough to make anybody snap.

The inspiration for Lynn’s character, looks wise, came from someone I admire very much. I won’t say her name since she’d probably slap me if she knew! I wanted Lynn to be vulnerable and a little reckless. I wanted a character that was on the edge of a complete breakdown and needed someone to pull her back from the darkness.

Music also holds a lot of inspiration for me. While writing Broken Star I was listening to a lot of Evanescence. For me, music is my number one inspiration on most everything I write. I usually always have music playing when I write.

Are you like either one of your characters? Lynn is successful and rich but troubled, and Alexis is a jaded SVU officer and a devoted mother.

I am nothing like either of my characters. I find it hard to write characters with characteristics that mirror my own. I know of several authors who are successfully able to base characters off themselves, but I would never succeed in that. The only characteristic I have that remotely resembles either of these ladies would pertain to Lynn. Like Lynn, I’ve ran away from problems before simply to avoid being hurt.

What authors have influenced you the most?

I know it’s so cliché, but when I was younger, I was obsessed with the Nancy Drew novels. I still own them, actually. When it comes to lesbian fiction, I love Gerri Hill. I have all of her books and I think she’s an incredible writer.

Your next novel, Unbreakable, will be out in November. Can you tell us a little about it?

Unbreakable is the next journey in Lynn and Alexis’s life. At the end of Broken Star, Lynn decided she wanted to have a child. She takes that journey in Unbreakable. The conception doesn’t go as smoothly as she’d hoped it would. Still, Lynn is no quitter. She refuses to give up trying until all of their options are exhausted.

There’s also an unexpected addition to their family.  Katie and Aimee will briefly return. There’s someone from Lynn’s past who will surface. This person deeply hurt Lynn as a teenager. Will she be able to forgive what happened in the past? Maybe. You’ll have to read and find out. 🙂

I’m planning on a third and final novel in Lynn and Alexis’s story. I’m also going to work on a stand-alone connecting book about Katie and Aimee.

What’s your writing process like?

I usually do my first draft and then give it a few weeks before I go back and try to edit. I like to leave it alone for at least two weeks before I go back and start editing. I’m not much of a planner when it comes to writing. I actually hate to do a strict outline and try to follow it. It never works for me.

What do you enjoy most about writing? Is there any aspect that you dislike?

I enjoy the creative process the most in writing. I love being able to create characters from nothing and watch them blossom during the writing process. My characters are like my babies.

I’m not too fond of the editing process, especially after the time limit I had for Unbreakable.

Writing and promoting can be stressful. How do you cope with all the stress?

I think in life almost everything we do can be stressful at one point or the other. I’m not one to run away from stressful situations. I usually face them head on, no matter how difficult they are. I find that listening to music helps. I also take short breaks when I’m writing and do other things in between that I need to do online.

If you could go to any place in the world, where would you go?

I would go back to Las Vegas, Nevada. I went there for the first time over the summer and I loved it! I’ve always loved to be awake at night. Las Vegas is the perfect place for people who prefer night to day. There are so many shops and restaurants open, even late at night. It’s like stepping into another world. Compared to where I live, everyone in Las Vegas was nice too. I can’t wait to go back there again next year!

What hobbies do you enjoy?

I’ve always loved photography. I don’t take near as many photos though as I did when I was younger. I also love collecting anything and everything of Snow White. I love to read, but I haven’t read nearly as much this year as normal. Of course, writing would be my number one favorite hobby!

Thanks so much, Joann, for stopping by. I’m so excited to read the next installment!

About the Author:

Joann Lee grew up in a small southern town; a town where she never felt like she fit in. Needing an escape, she quickly grew to love the written word. As a teenager, she was addicted to Nancy Drew novels. Now that she is much older, she still loves to read; her favorite author is the brilliant Gerri Hill.

Joann’s specialty is lesbian romance. She tends to grow quite attached to her characters and loves to get lost in the realms of fiction. Her first published novel is, Broken Star. Unbreakable, a sequel to Broken Star, is scheduled for release this November.

Her other interests include music, tattoos, travel, photography, concerts, New York City, and reading. Of course, writing is her favorite hobby.

Now for the giveaway. Click here to visit her  website for your chance to win a copy of a book by the author.

How to find Joann Lee:

Amazon page

Twitter

Facebook

You can purchase the book from Amazon.

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Author Interview: Joann Lee

  1. bulldog says:

    I like her… sounds my kind of person… I’m afraid not really my kind of book being a Tony Park, Wilbur Smith type book lover, something I can relate to, but I love her answers and the way she thinks… good luck to her… also like that she does not sit down and do a plan but writes as it flows, just like I do… although with the neck at the moment everything has come to a bit of a stand still…

    • TBM says:

      I’ve really enjoyed getting to know Joann. She’s down to earth, funny, and caring. I also wish her luck and hope all her dreams come true.

      Like both of you, I can’t outline my novels. I’ve tried and then when I try to write I’m frozen in fear. I need to feel free to go where the story wants to go.

      So sorry to hear about your neck. I wish you a speedy recovery!

  2. Great interview! I love reading how writer’s write. I too don’t like following an outline and music is a must. 🙂

    • TBM says:

      Outlines can be restrictive for some and work wonders for others. My characters don’t like to be bossed around and refuse to work with me when I try.

  3. Beth Ann says:

    Great interview!!! I loved reading about the “guts” of her writing process and what she likes and doesn’t like about the whole process. Great job. Your interview definitely opened up another author to me to read!

  4. Thanks for the introduction. Both books sound like ones I’d enjoy. Maybe I have just enough time to finish the first before the second is released. Great interview!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  5. benzeknees says:

    Sounds like a series I would like to read! Thank you for introducing the author!

Leave a Reply

