Review and Giveaway of Wolfsangel by Liza Perrat

Wolfsangel-banner-230x124

Today I’m reviewing Wolfsangel by Liza Perrat. When I was asked to participate with this book tour (click on the link for the schedule) I was ecstatic, since I love historical fiction. My specialty in college was World War II and this novel takes place in France during the war.   Below you will find out how to enter the giveaway. All readers can enter to win one of 2 eBook copies of this title. European residents will have the chance to win a paperback copy.

My review:

Céleste is a young French woman living in a small village in France during World War II. German soldiers are living in the village and most of the French residents are not happy with the occupation.  Céleste’s brother is a member of the French resistance. Céleste wants to join the cause, however, her brother won’t let her in an effort to keep her safe. However, when her brother is arrested, she feels that she has to join the resistance to help him escape.

You would think this is enough stress for one character to endure. You’d be wrong. Not only is  Céleste a member of the resistance, she’s also a young woman in love. With a German officer. Yep, you read that right. While she’s fighting against the Germans, she is also in a secret relationship with one. That’s not all for the twists and turns, but I don’t want to ruin the novel.

I have to admit that I wasn’t too familiar with this part of the war before reading this. I had heard that the German occupation of France was peaceful for the most part. This novel shows how devastating the occupation was to the individuals and families who had to endure it. I found myself cheering on  Céleste and her compatriots.

The plot kept me engaged and I found myself rushing through to the end to find out what would happen. Every time I thought poor  Céleste wouldn’t be able to handle any more, there was yet another hurdle for her to overcome. She didn’t always make the right choice, but she was brave throughout. I admired her determination, overlooked her impetuosity (she’s only 19 at the start of the story), and wanted her to succeed even though the odds were against her. You’ll have to read for yourself to find out if she did. This story shows the true brutality of war, even on the “peaceful” fronts, and it highlights how brave people can be during such a horrific time in history.

Wolfsangel_CoverFinal

Release date: 16th November, 2013.

Page number: approx 390.

Publisher link

ISBN Paperback: 9 782 954 168 128

ISBN E-book: 9 782 954 168 135

Purchase Now: Amazon *  Kobo*  Smashwords
View at: Goodreads 

Synopsis: 

Seven decades after German troops march into her village, Céleste Roussel is still unable to assuage her guilt.

1943. German soldiers occupy provincial Lucie-sur-Vionne, and as the villagers pursue treacherous schemes to deceive and swindle the enemy, Céleste embarks on her own perilous mission as her passion for a Reich officer flourishes.

When her loved ones are deported to concentration camps, Céleste is drawn into the vortex of this monumental conflict, and the adventure and danger of French Resistance collaboration.

As she confronts the harrowing truths of the Second World War’s darkest years, Céleste is forced to choose: pursue her love for the German officer, or answer General de Gaulle’s call to fight for her country.

Her fate suspended on the fraying thread of her will, Celeste gains strength from the angel talisman bequeathed to her through her lineage of healer kinswomen.

The decision she makes will shadow the remainder of her days.

A woman’s unforgettable journey to help liberate Occupied France, Wolfsangel is a stirring portrayal of the courage and resilience of the human mind, body and spirit.

About the Author: 

Liza-Perrat-100x96Liza grew up in Wollongong, Australia, where she worked as a general nurse and midwife for fifteen years.

When she met her French husband on a Bangkok bus, she moved to France, where she has been living with her husband and three children for twenty years. She works part-time as a French-English medical translator.

Since completing a creative writing course twelve years ago, several of her short stories have won awards, notably the Writers Bureau annual competition of 2004 and her stories have been published widely in anthologies and small press magazines. Her articles on French culture and tradition have been published in international magazines such as France Magazine and France Today.

She has completed four novels and one short-story collection, and is represented by Judith Murdoch of the Judith Murdoch Literary Agency. Spirit of Lost Angels is the first in an historical series set against a backdrop of rural France. The second in the series – Wolfsangel – will be published in November, 2013, and Liza is busy working on the third novel in the series: Midwife Héloïse – Blood Rose Angel.

Liza reviews books for the Historical Novel Society and Words with Jam magazine.

Website • Blog • Twitter • Facebook • Goodreads

The giveaway: 

The giveaway is for 3 copies!:
– 2 ebooks, open internationally.
– 1 paperback, for 1 European resident.
Open until Thursday 11/21 midnight US EST.
To qualify for the giveaway, please leave a comment informing me if you are from outside of Europe and are entering the ebook giveaway or if you reside in Europe and are entering the paperback competition. Please leave you email address as well. The winners will be selected at random.

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Book Tours and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Review and Giveaway of Wolfsangel by Liza Perrat

  1. Colline says:

    Certainly sounds like an interesting story.

    • TBM says:

      I really enjoyed it. It was such an interesting time period and I often wonder how I would have responded.

      • Colline says:

        My aunt lived during the German occupation and she told me a few stories. I now wish she had told me more. It was always so interesting to listen to.

      • TBM says:

        Oh I would have loved to listen to her. My grandfathers fought, but neither of them would ever talk about it and I understand. Not sure I would want to talk about it either.

  2. Oooh, this sounds right up my alley, but us poor Canadians can’t get in on the contest :(. Oh well, I will have to add it to my every growing TBR list! Another book that takes place during the German occupation of France is Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay. Have you ever read it? I thought it was fabulous, and it taught me a lot about that time period in France which I had little knowledge of. I think you would enjoy it, although it’s really sad!

  3. Liza Perrat says:

    Thanks for a great review! I’m glad you enjoyed Wolfsangel.

  4. Excellent review! This sounds like a great story. I’m in the U.S. and my email is jaweatherholt@gmail.com.

  5. Pingback: France Book Tours stops for Nov 10-16 | France Book Tours

  6. Pingback: Liza Perrat on Tour: Wolfsangel | France Book Tours

  7. thanks for your awesome review. Emma [FBT]

  8. Gede Prama says:

    Thank you so much articles for sharing

  9. lexacain says:

    I love the idea behind Liza’s book – it’s so hard to write historical, so much research. Your review was excellent, and I’m glad the author scared you with all the hurdles she put her heroine through. That makes a great read! 🙂

  10. benzeknees says:

    Sorry to be a bit of a stickler here, but there are a lot of Canadian bloggers who read too. We get left out of a lot of US only giveaways already.

    • TBM says:

      Actually, the ebook is for everyone around the world. But I know how you feel. I get left out of the US only giveaways as well.

    • Liza Perrat says:

      Thanks for your comment, benzeknees! I’m in France, and miss out on so many giveaways too… I really understand. I’d wanted to make this one an international giveaway, but I messed up the instructions. Sorry about that!

  11. Pingback: Did someone say free books?! | Making My Mark

Leave a Reply

