A Mysterious Package

I love a surprise. So when this box arrived a few days ago, I couldn’t wait to open it.

20131017_195008

But I did. The Better Half was curious and wanted to witness the opening. Oh the things we do for love. So for five long hours I waited. It wasn’t easy. I briefly considered opening it and then repackaging it. However, I’m a horrible liar and I never get away with it.

As soon as TBH walked through the door, I had scissors in hand to open the package. By the way, please excuse the quality of the photos. I was using my cell phone and I was too excited to get the lighting right.

I wish my handwriting was that neat.

20131017_195147

There was a note inside. It reads:

Derek Murphy asked me to send her to you. She’s special, and old, and sometimes we used to think she was real. From Derek, for you, your marionette.

Oh my! The marionette!

20131017_195342

Here she is! The marionette that Derek Murphy used to create the cover for my novel, Marionette.

20131017_195416

Thanks Derek for the gift. I love it and what a wonderful surprise.

In case you missed yesterday’s post, here’s the cover.

mar-small

 

 

About TBM

TB Markinson is an American living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or reading. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Cover Reveal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to A Mysterious Package

  1. Oh wow, what an amazing surprise and what a wonderful keepsake. I’m thinking a special display case is in order for the marionette and your book!!! I just don’t know how you waited all day to open the package. I would have caved for sure :). By the way, the photo of the marionette nestled in the packaging paper is adorable!

  2. Sherri says:

    What a lovely surprise πŸ™‚

  3. What a special memento πŸ™‚
    This story reminded me of my friend, who left his meeting at work to watch me, at home opening my new iMac (on skype), from the meeting room next door.

  4. acuriousgal says:

    That is so special….how wonderful!!

  5. Beth Ann says:

    Oh wow!!! I was trying to imagine what it was and could not have guessed!!! What an amazing gift to go with your latest success story! I agree with photosfromthelooneybin that you need to put it in a special case with a copy of your book or something. What a really cool gift. And it came with history. Just think how many kids were enchanted with her and her “powers”. πŸ™‚

    • TBM says:

      She does look like she has powers–hopefully not evil. But maybe that would make a good story. hmmm … Will mention the case to the better half. You and Cindy have a great idea. We do have a mantel now.

  6. What a wonderful surprise! Not only is Derek a talented artist, but he’s got a kind heart. He’s definitely the kind of person you want in your world. How do you plan to display the marionette?

    • TBM says:

      I think I might listen to Cindy’s and Beth Ann’s advice and put it in a case with a copy of the book, when the book is printed. Derek is a great guy. Not only is he completely professional and talented, he’s also so supportive.

  7. bulldog says:

    How Bloody marvelous is this… I nearly shed a tear… (note I said nearly)

  8. ilargia64 says:

    Ohhh! So nice of him!!!! Incredible!…Congrats!!!

  9. niasunset says:

    What a beautiful surprise, so beautiful dear TBM, you are both beautiful people… Thanks and Love, nia

  10. bocafrau says:

    Oh my. Are you going to be able to sleep now? I’d be afraid to close my eyes at night. πŸ™‚ It was a very sweet thing to do though!

  11. restlessjo says:

    That’s what I call a pal! πŸ™‚
    Thanks for your little thank you message. It seems to’ve gone down very well and I’m pleased for you.

  12. Lucid Gypsy says:

    How wonderful, an absolute treasure!

  13. Dina says:

    WOW – πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ great work! I’m so happy for you!

  14. barb19 says:

    What a wonderful surprise!

  15. pattisj says:

    What a great gift! Good job on waiting so long to open the box!

  16. samokan says:

    “Chuckie” was the first thing I thought when I saw the picture.
    But it’s a really nice of him to send it to you.

  17. Vishy says:

    Wonderful surprise and a wonderful marionette, TBM! Totally love the cover!

  18. Oh, I’m late getting here. Sorry. But, what a wonderful gift! I would have been thrilled to death. Now, what will you do with her? So glad I didn’t miss this news. Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

    Blogging from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • TBM says:

      Thanks Kathy. it was a wonderful surprise. We need to find the perfect spot for her so she can be seen, but not harmed. Our new flat is tiny so some thinking is in order. Hope all is well in Ecuador.

  19. benzeknees says:

    Wow, what a great gift!

  20. That is a treasure. How thoughtful, especially when purchased as a surprise.

  21. The Hook says:

    Cool!
    Good thing TBH knew just why you were greeting her with scissors in your hand. That could have been awkward….

    • TBM says:

      Oh I do love your imagination and sense of humor! TBH is used to my quirkiness and knows I couldn’t hurt a fly. I actually do my best to rescue all flies that are trapped in my house. My parents hated the fact that I kept feeding the mice in our house. And I even capture spiders and let them outside and I’m not a fan of spiders. I used to live in a house that snakes loved to visit. Thank goodness one of my friends was a snake person and I would call her to free them while I stood on my toilet screaming, but quietly sense they can sense vibrations.

Leave a Reply

