Blog Cover Hop

Today I am participating in a Blog Hop hosted by Katie McKnight. Eleven authors are participating and I’m pretty excited to be part of the group. Before I get to my interview, I would like to share the book covers for all the participants. Please click on one of the photos so you can scroll through all of them for a closer look. Below the covers, you will be able to read my interview.

How long did it take you to write your current novel?

It took me way too long to write A Woman Lost. Some authors can get a book out in a year. When I started writing my first novel I had a full-time job and a life. I would write bits and pieces when I could. Then my partner was transferred to London. We used to live in Boston. Suddenly I was unemployed and had a lot of time on my hands. I pulled out the novel and sent it to an editor. It needed work so I fiddled with it quite a bit and sent it back to the editor. Finally it was ready, but I don’t know how long the entire process took since I can’t remember the beginning anymore. More than two years. Probably three.

My second book, Marionette, which will be out in December, took less than a year. It’s amazing how much more I accomplish when I have the time and no excuses like a job.

What else are you working on?

Currently I’m working on one novel and one novella. The novel is a romance set in Boston and I’m having a lot of fun writing it. I’ve been living in London for two years now and I do miss Beantown: the history, the people, the sports, the food, and culture. My main character is a raving Red Sox fan and so I’ve been following the team and thank goodness they are heading to the World Series. It adds to the fun. Go Sox!

My novella also takes place in Boston and it explores how one mistake can alter the lives of all those affected.

Readers love following their favorite authors, which social networking sites can fans find you?

I have two blogs. This one, Making my Mark, explores my journey in the self-publishing world. I also read and write reviews on all different types of books, help authors with cover reveals, host interviews, and guest posts. Whether writers are self-published or not, I want to do my part to help them promote. My other blog, 50 Year Project, chronicles my challenge to visit 192 countries, read 1001 books, and to watch the top 100 AFI movies.

Who reads the drafts of your novels?

My first reader is my partner. After I get input, I send it out to two other readers who I trust will give honest feedback. When I finish the changes I send it to my editor. Before I hit the publish button, I send it out to two or three more readers just to make sure it’s ready. And I read it a lot. At one point, I had the entire first novel memorized and I still found a couple of errors recently. It goes to show that it’s impossible to edit your own work and to achieve perfection.

What is your favorite snack while writing?

Chocolate. I cannot write a book without chocolate. Currently my addiction is dark chocolate rings with colored sparkles on top. And I drink copious amounts of tea. If there’s no tea or chocolate in the house, no writing takes place until I run to the store.

Would you please share an odd behavior you’ve picked up while writing?

I work from home. I’m alone for 10 to 12 hours a day. However, I do have a cat and dog. I’ve started sharing my story ideas with them. The cat doesn’t care at all. He just goes outside with a look of disgust on his face. My dog is more loyal. He tilts his head and listens. When I’m done, he asks for a treat. It works well for both of us.

And now I want to share the links of all the authors who are participating. Please visit them. They are all amazing.

Janine Chalfant   *     Paulette Harper Johnson      *     Hilary Grossman     *

*       Andie Lea       *               Luca Rossi                     *           Terry Cato         *

*      Sara Butka      *              Walt Williams                 *          Nina Mason        *

*                                *             Katie McKnight              *                                      *

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Blog Hop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Blog Cover Hop

  1. bulldog says:

    Love this share… tells me just that little more about you…

  2. ilargia64 says:

    Love it TBM!!!! I love when you say that you can not write without chocolat or tea…:) And I love when you explain you share your things with your cat and dog….I understand you perfectly….Sigh always does the same thing…(Neo does not care, he is more intense and thinks only about his own things! )…

    • TBM says:

      Atticus is like Neo. he wants me to stay quiet and feed him when he’s hungry. That’s the extent of our relationship. Sometimes Att lets me pet him, but it’s all on his terms. Oh Sigh, what a sweetheart.

  3. I can just picture Atticus listening to you….
    Isn’t it amazing how you read your book so many times you can almost memorize it. I read dangled so much I was so sick of it by the time I hit the publish button!

    • TBM says:

      I went through that stage as well. I never wanted to read another page. Then I took some time away from it. I’m proofing the paperback version and it isn’t as painful. Most of the kinks have been worked out by now thankfully.

  4. What a great interview :). I’m still giggling picturing you “reading to the children”. Hey, can you do me a favour? Remind me tomorrow about the cover reveal, so I don’t forget to post it. With this move at work, my brain is kind of dead.

  5. Beth Ann says:

    What a great idea!!! I love this book cover blog cover hop! Wonderful. And if you drink copious amounts of tea I certainly hope the loo is nearby….

    • TBM says:

      It’s less than a thirty second walk now. There are many advantageous about working from home. And I always have access to food. That’s good and bad.

  6. pattisj says:

    What an assortment of genres! I’m still smiling at Hilary’s comment about Atticus listening to you read.

  7. It was great learning more about you! Dogs are definitely much better listeners than cats. At least for a treat! I need chocolate to write too.

  8. Terry411Cato says:

    Great interview TBM! … it’s taken me ALL day to hop through all of the blogs and read the interviews, but I am enjoying it. 🙂

  9. The Guat says:

    Very cool idea. Love it! When mine is up and running maybe we can do another Blog Cover Hop.

Leave a Reply

