Review: The Subway Chronicles by Jacquelin Cangro

Today I am reviewing Jacquelin Cangro’s The Subway Chronicles: Scenes from Life in New York. Before I begin, I want to announce that the Kindle version is available for free today, August 3rd, on Amazon. More details below.

Here’s the synopsis on Goodreads:

SubwayJacquelin Cangro is back with more essays from underground New York. In this follow up to The Subway Chronicles: Scenes from Life in New York, all of the tales are her own. From run-ins with subway preachers and the Chinese Curses Lady to Pickles the dachshund to the man whose girlfriend bit his ear off, she documents the hilarious, poignant, and thought-provoking adventure that is the New York City subway. Her original voice chronicles the highs and lows of discovering who you are while living in an indomitable city with a character all its own. Together these essays create a fresh and real portrait of one woman’s attempt to find her own New York.

Ms. Cangro’s book offers glimpses of what it’s like to live in NYC, especially the subway. Fittingly, the chapters are short and focus on certain incidents, people, or memories. For anyone who has relied on public transportation knows that it’s only a part of your day. You ride to work and then back. However, long or short, those experiences stay with you. You see, while on the subway, most riders see and interact with strangers. Over time some of these strangers become a part of your life, but rarely do they progress into more. It’s an odd experience and can be hard to describe. Cangro does an excellent job. And the characters that she meets are well characters. My favorite was the Chinese Curses Lady. I won’t say too much about her, but after reading about her I was laughing out loud.

Cangro’s insights are humorous, touching, and will make you think. And if you’ve never been to NYC, this would be a good introduction to the underground and it may give you life saving tips or at least advice on how to make your trip as enjoyable as possible.

On her blog yesterday she announced that the Kindle version is free on Amazon, today, August 3rd. Grab yourself a copy and meet the Chinese Curses Lady.

Amazon US

Amazon UK 

How to find Jacquelin Cangro:

Blog

Goodreads

 

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Review: The Subway Chronicles by Jacquelin Cangro

  1. T.F.Walsh says:

    This would have been great last time I was in NY:) Wonderful review.

  2. Sunshine says:

    This sounds like an interesting read. thanks.

  3. Beth Ann says:

    Just downloaded it! Thanks! And since “the son” will be living about 2 blocks from the subway I suggested it to him, too. Maybe I will spy some of them on our first trip to visit! Thanks. Hopping over to her blog–she sounds like a fun person!!!

    • TBM says:

      Jackie is a wonderful person and I hope you enjoy the book. Soon maybe you will meet the Chinese Curses Lady. If you do, you have to tell me all about it.

      • Beth Ann says:

        Oh you know I will tell all if I meet her!!! 🙂

      • TBM says:

        I hope you do!

      • Beth Ann says:

        I just finished it—-it is great!!! Lesson learned—avoid eye contact—especially with the Chinese Curses Lady!! Yikes.

      • TBM says:

        The eye contact is a big thing. I learned the hard way in Boston. If you make eye contact and say hi they run screaming since they think you are mad. Or you can pull in another crazy and by the time you end the conversation, half of your day is gone and maybe your purse.

      • Beth Ann says:

        Really? See—I am going to fail on that front I am afraid. Although I suspect the feeling is much the same as when we were on the subway in China—–we REALLY stuck out and did not look at anyone. 🙂

      • TBM says:

        I don’t want you to think that New Yorkers are not nice. I’ve found they are extremely friendly as long as you don’t look them directly in the eye. I can’t wait to travel to China to find out firsthand, but I am loving the image in my head of you on the subway.

      • Beth Ann says:

        Oh it was pretty intimidating. The hubby is a big guy and no one else on the subway was…let’s put it that way. We gave Micah orders last night to get all the transportation figured out for us by the time we go in October to see him. I am confident he will.

      • TBM says:

        I do wish Micah the best of luck. So exciting. I love, love, love NYC

  4. Thank you so much for the lovely review! I’m so glad that you enjoyed the book. It’s a little compendium of the highlights of my daily journey. It’s nice to hear that these stories resonated with you.

    When you commute on the subway, it’s so easy to become desensitized — it’s just the way you get to work. But there is something fascinating about the whole experience. I’ve seen people at their very best and their very worst. If I ever have to commute by car in the future, I think I’ll miss it. For a writer, there’s no better place to get good “material.” 🙂

    • TBM says:

      It does provide great material. And you can incorporate some of these nutters into your fiction. I would love to know more about Chinese Curses Lady–what her life is like. She’s such a wonderful quirky woman.

      I wish you luck with your free run and with your book. Can’t wait to read more stories by you!

  5. thank You ! I just ordered it! you’re a gem!

  6. We are obsessed with New York here at home. We have two large black and white prints of NY city skyline and several interesting picture and history books. We hope to travel one day to the great city with the ‘Subway Chronicle’ in hand. Melbourne to New York. Priceless !

    • TBM says:

      We have a large picture of the NY skyline in our front room. I still remember the first time I went. I really hope you go there. It will blow your mind in a good way–I hope at least.

Leave a Reply

