Turning a Bad Day into a Good Day

Yesterday morning was not the best of mornings. I didn’t sleep well the night before, so when it was time to wake up I decided to shut the alarm off and try to sleep for another hour. Miles, my dog, nine times out of ten is the last one out of bed. However he decided that yesterday was the morning to bounce out of bed at 6:45 a. m. Not only that, he wanted to go for a walk right away. When he’s in that mood there’s no arguing with him.

How can I say no to this face?

How can I say no to this face?

Cursing I got dressed and we headed to the park. The weather took a turn for the worse during the night and I was freezing in just a t-shirt and shorts. But I plodded on. Actually, Miles was pulling me. I’m always amazed by how strong he is given he’s only fifteen pounds.

The crisp air helped ease the tiredness out of my body. Unfortunately, grumpiness started to settle in quickly. Not only was I freezing, but it started to rain. Just great. Again, Miles usually hates the rain and will run home if he feels one drop. Not yesterday. There was no cutting his walk short. Maybe he had a hot date lined up.

An hour later, I was back in my flat making a steaming cup of tea to warm up. It was time to settle in for work. But first, a quick peek at my email. That’s when my day turned around. I spied an email from a woman I didn’t know. In the subject line was: Your Book. I clicked on the email and read:

Your book, “A Woman Lost”, was excellent. I just finished it a moment ago and wanted you to know how much I enjoyed your writing. Your name is going on my favorite authors list and I will recommend your work with pleasure. Thank you so much!

I was stunned! Someone I didn’t know took the time out of her day to write me such a kind email. Well the grumpiness evaporated from my body. I felt elated and extremely grateful. And it reminded me that we can help change someone’s day by just being kind and considerate. Last night when I took Miles for his evening stroll I said, “Good evening!” to all we passed. I received a few smiles in return. It felt good. Yesterday was a good day.

womanlost

Amazon US

Amazon UK

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Turning a Bad Day into a Good Day

  1. I loved this post! It left me with such a happy, positive feeling, and a big smile on my face. It’s so nice when a bad day gets turned around like that :). I’m absolutely sure that was just the first of many such emails you are going to receive because you are an amazing writer!!

    • TBM says:

      Thank you, Cindy. And now that you feel happy, spread the joy. I used to say hello to everyone on the streets. Then I moved to Boston and people don’t do that. Instead they look at you like they are insane. So I got out of the habit. Some Londoners don’t look like they want to say hi so I still haven’t gotten back into the habit. I’m going to change that. Not everyone will appreciate it, but some might get a smile. Little acts of kindness. Have a wonderful day!

      • I’ll never forget when I first moved up to this area from Toronto. I had never lived in a small town before and was used to how everyone in the city walks by each other without any type of acknowledgement at all. So, the first time I walked down the street here and someone smiled at me and said hello, it kind of freaked me out, but now I’m used to it and do the same to others.

        And I’m in a good mood today because I had a great night last night. I cleaned the interior of my car, deadheaded my flowers (which are looking lovely) and watered them, worked on a project I’ve long been putting off, watched one of my favourite shows (Who Do You Think You Are), and read a good book. It was a little bit of everything, and it left me in a great mood. So, it shouldn’t be hard for me to spread the joy today.

      • TBM says:

        Well who doesn’t get cheerful after deadheading flowers 🙂 I need to get back into my small town frame of mind and be nice to people. Maybe I should visit and get some practice with you kind folks.

      • Yes, you should definitely come and visit :). We would even buy you beer and chocolate! By the way, now we are tossing around the first 2 weeks of August in 2014 for our trip. Will you be around then?

      • TBM says:

        Beer! Chocolate! Getting on the plane right now!

        I don’t think we have anything planned for August yet. What happened to June? Not that I’m complaining since I would have been gone then.

      • Well, we realized that Daniel will be graduating from Grade 12, and it will be busy with prom and everything, and in July my niece is getting married. Plus by August things are starting to slow down at Mike’s work, so it’s better for him. I think the big military tattoo is on in Edinburgh then too, so that would be fun, but I guess it will be busy too, so I’d better get planning!!

      • TBM says:

        Sure, blame Daniel. Graduating, huh. That’s awesome. What’s the big military tattoo? Yes, you better get planning. I want dates, places, and beer!

      • TBM says:

        They really go all out for that. I love the sound of bagpipes. Someone in our neighborhood has been practicing lately, but I can’t figure out where the sound is coming from. Thanks for the link!

      • You’re welcome :). Looks fun doesn’t it?

      • TBM says:

        Yep. And I love that you want to go.

      • Hell ya!! And yes, I will look under every kilt that I see LMAO :).

      • TBM says:

        Not sure I want a full report on that.

      • LOL! I think there is a distinct possibility that I could be an embarrassment to my hubby while we are there. What do you think?

      • TBM says:

        You might be on your own if any trouble arises.

      • Nah, I’d probably chicken out before I did anything bad :).

      • TBM says:

        So the truth comes out. By the way, I think that’s wise.

  2. Hilary - Dangled Carat says:

    What a way to turn a day around – wow! Wow! WOW!

    I am beyond happy for you….

    and a little jealous… Miles let you sleep until 6:45 – Lucy the cat was jumping on us this AM at 3:45!

    • TBM says:

      I love the name Lucy. What a great name for a cat. Not sure how happy I would be about the 3:45 wake up pounce though 😉 I’m really excited to read your book! It’s on my list of things to start this weekend! Woohoo!

  3. Beth Ann says:

    What a fabulous post—you know that I love those positive things that come in and this post was just what I needed this morning. I was in a funk yesterday, sent an email to another bloggy friend telling her I was a glum toad and guess what—about 10 minutes after I clicked “send” she called me to cheer me up! Positive encouragement from others makes it all turn around and I am so glad that your day went from grumpy to sunny. You definitely deserve it!!! Thanks for the lift this morning–give Miles a pat for me. And don’t leave out Atticus!

    • TBM says:

      A glum toad. I love that. Not that you were in that mood, but I love that phrase. Can I put that in a book? Little things like a nice comment or a phone call can really turn someone’s day around. Only if most of us remembered that there would be more happy faces in this world. And don’t worry, Atticus demands his fair share of attention from me. If Miles is sitting on my lap too long, Att will give him a nip on the butt to tell him to move over.

  4. Caroline says:

    That’s a truly lovely comment.

  5. Awww… that was so sweet!

    Miles is so cute too.
    Look at his expressive eyes.:)

    • TBM says:

      I love Miles. He’s the cutest. And the woman’s email was so kind and generous. And she may never know how much it meant to me. I responded to the email but not sure I was able to convey how thankful I was.

  6. Colline says:

    What a beautiful compliment – and a wonderful way to continue your day. Maybe Miles knew you had a special email to read 🙂

  7. Lucid Gypsy says:

    So it was worth getting up early !

  8. pattisj says:

    Miles and his hot date, love it! What a blessing to receive that email, glad it turned your day around.

  9. T.F.Walsh says:

    What a perfect surprise to brighten your day… love it:)

Leave a Reply

